Wiscasset Raceway took the action under the lights Saturday night and while the thermometer was dropping, the early season action was heating up. All six weekly divisions were on the schedule along with the NELCAR Legends and the Teen Divisions taking center stage with a 25 lap main event. Intermittent light rain forced the postponement of the Teen feature, but all other features were run as scheduled. Nick Reno took control of the Late Model 30 lap feature and eventually the Late Model point lead with a dominating wire to wire win.

For the 3rd generation racer from West Bath, it was his first career LMS win at Maine’s fastest track. To join in the celebration, Nick’s father Steve Reno raced his way through the pack from 13th to join his son in victory lane. It was the elder Reno’s second straight runner-up finish. Boothbay’s Steve Reny returned to his home track and quietly picked his way up from 16th to finish 3rd in a tune-up run for the upcoming Coastal 200. Other winners on Saturday night’s program included Bernie Dinsmore of Hope in the Super Streets; Ed Peirpont of Jefferson in the Strictly Streets; Shawn Kimball of Pittston in the Stock Mini’s; Kristy Millay of Palermo in the Ladies Division; and Chris Seavey of Windham in the NELCAR Legends. Wiscasset Raceway returns Saturday May 12th at 6:00pm with all six weekly divisions in regular racing action. The show will also include the makeup 25 lap Teen Feature, NELCAR Legends, Quirk Super Mini Cup Series, and a 50 Lap Big Enduro. For more information, call the Wiscasset Raceway office at (207) 589-4780 or check the track website at www.wiscassetraceway.us.

Over the past two seasons Nick Reno had turned in some impressive runs at Wiscasset Raceway, picking up five 2nd place trophies in seven appearances, but the first career Late Model win proved to be just out of his reach. He was not to be denied Saturday night as he looked to have the car to beat. Patience was once again in short supply in Wiscasset’s top division, as a handful of cautions scattered throughout the race would thin the field. The major twist in the race came on lap 14 as Duane Love lost control in turn two and collected previous week’s winner Jason Oakes. As the field slowed for the caution flag, Dan Trask and point leader Chris Thorne who were racing for 3rd position tangled in turn three, taking them both out of contention. Puncin St Clair spent much of the race trying to keep up with the front running Reno, but his car would fade back late. Steve Reno stayed out of trouble and his car came to life in the final 10 laps. On the final restart of the race on lap 21 St Clair slipped, opening up the bottom lane for Reno to move into 2nd. Reny made his appearance in the lead pack with 5 laps to go, driving around St Clair to secure the 3rd place trophy. The three drivers battled hard for position, but neither of them had anything for Nick who had a comfortable half straightaway lead. With the victory and Thorne coming home in 10th, Reno would leave the track with the Late Model point lead.

Bernie Dinsmore and R.J. Austin renewed their great opening day rivalry in the 25 Lap Super Street feature. The two moved up from the back of the pack and raced door to door for the final ten laps to the checkers. Dinsmore took the lead from polesitter Will Collins by the midpoint of the race looked well on his way to his 2nd win. Austin had cut a left rear tire to bring out the first caution on lap five, but recovered nicely and moved up the outside lane to shoot for his first Wiscasset win. With the white flag in the air Austin got caught behind the lapped car of Paul Hopkins and was forced to abandon his outside pass on the leader. Dinsmore took the win in his #3 Waterfront Market sponsored Chevy Camaro with Austin in his tire tracks at the line. Austin has been the runner-up in all three Super Street races so far this season. Collins settled for 3rd. Jefferson’s Ed Peirpont was a wire-to-wire winner in the 20 lap Strictly Street feature. There were plenty of positions changing behind him, especially in the closing laps as the motor on point leader Maurice Young’s car went sour. Bath’s Ian Bresnahan ran his strongest race and drove to a personal best 2nd place finish. Zac Creamer of Bath, the 2006 Rookie of the Year, also picked up his first trophy, racing up from 8th to 3rd. Defending Stock Mini champ Shawn Kimball was the class of the field Saturday night, taking the lead from Brent Roy and then holding off Dan Somes to take the win. Kimball was also the opening day winner. Somes, the week two winner, made an impressive run from 21st starting position to challenge for the checkers. Kevin Douglas was also strong with a run through traffic from 19th to finish 3rd. Just two early cautions for minor spins slowed the action in Wiscasset’s most action packed division. Kristy Millay of Palermo was the opening day winner in the Ladies Class. She started 6th and took the lead from defending champ Marje Albert on the way to her 2nd win. Albert settled for 2nd and Liberty’s Cassandra St Clair finished 3rd. Chris Seavey of Windham scored the hat trick in the NELCAR Legends with his 3rd straight win. He took the lead from Bob Weymouth and Jacob Dore just past the midpoint of the race and nailed down the win. Dore would spin out late and settle for 6th. The late night rain shower forced the lesser experienced Teen drivers to postpone their 25 lap special feature until the start of the May 12th program.



1. Nick Reno – West Bath; 2. Steve Reno – West Bath; 3. Steve Reny – Boothbay; 4. Puncin St Clair – Liberty; 5. James Osmond – Wiscasset; 6. Randy Turner – Freedom; 7. Josh St Clair – Liberty; 8. Erik Nash – Richmond; 9. Kevin Sherman – Wiscasset; 10. Chris Thorne – Sidney; 11. Dan Trask – Chelsea; 12. Duane Love – West Gardiner; 13. Jason Oakes – Boothbay; 14. Seth Raven – Waldo; 15. Mike Orr – Wiscasset; (DNS) Bill Pinkham (DNS). Bryan Robbins


1. Bernie Dinsmore – Hope; 2. R.J. Austin – Smithfield; 3. Will Collins – Appleton; 4. Jeremy Glasier – Appleton; 5. Josh Bailey – Wiscasset; 6. Donnie Stuart – Pittston; 7. Paul Hopkins – Camden


1. Ed Pierpont – Jefferson; 2. Ian Bresnahan – Bath; 3. Zac Creamer – Bath; 4. Mike Moody – Bath; 5. Maurice Young – Chelsea; 6. Steve Peirpont – Cushing; 7. Bobby Mesimer – Woolwich; 8. Dave Brannon – Lisbon; 9. Rob Greenleaf – West Bath; 10. Mike St Germain – Auburn; 11. Kelly Rogers – Augusta; 12. Ethan Dinsmore – Hope


1. Shawn Kimball – Pittston; 2. Dan Somes – Sidney; 3. Kevin Douglas – Sidney; 4. Dylan Lancaster – Skowhegan; 5. Rob Greenleaf – West Bath; 6. Bryan Lancaster – Skowhegan; 7. Gary Blackman – Boothbay; 8. Frank Brown – Pittston; 9. Mike Wilson – Chelsea; 10. Brent Roy – Vassalboro; 11. Pete McCollat – Readfield; 12. Mike Dulaney – Richmond; 13. Jeff Minchin – Pittston; 14. Scott Grant – West Gardiner; 15. James Henderson – Chelsea; 16. Jeremy Douglas – Waterville; 17. Tom Minchin – Pittston; 18. Tim Dumas – Chelsea; 19. Byron Patterson – Chelsea; 20. Roy Glidden – n/a; 21. Ken Edgecomb – Readfield; 22. Shawn Dinsmore – Newcastle; 23. Mike Wallace – Alna


1. Kristy Millay – Palermo; 2. Marje Albert – Chelsea; 3. Cassandra St Clair – Liberty; 4. Elaine Alexander – Augusta; 5. Molly Feeney – Knox; 6. Carol Wilson – Chelsea; 7. Kayla Albert – Chelsea; 8. Deb Brown – Pittston; 9. Mika Wilson – Chelsea; 10. Chelsea Young – Winterport


1. Chris Seavey – Windham; 2. Bob Weymouth – Topsham; 3. Dustin Reynolds – Westbrook; 4. Josh Leach – Islesboro; 5. Ed Getty – Gray; 6. Jacob Dore – Sanford; 7. Terry Kirk – Durham; 8. Mike Fuchswanz – Vassalboro; 9. Aaron Lewis – Scarborough; 10. Charlie Buxton – Windham; 11. Patrick Stewart – Beverly, MA; 12. Marc Fuchswanz – Vassalboro


Postponed until 5/12/07