Sample Image (Hermon, Me) The 2007 racing season finally kicked off at Speedway 95 on Sunday, May 6th at Maine’s family fun track, Speedway 95, with the first appearance of the season by the PRO-ALL STAR SERIES, for 150 laps.

Cassius Clark was on a roll for the PASS race, lapping most of the field by the time the final caution flag flew, at lap 149. The race was supposed to end “Green-White-Checkered,” but Mike Rowe spun out in turn four on the final lap, causing a checkered caution finish. Johnny Clark took second, with Ben Rowe in third, Travis Benjamin fourth, and Richie Dearborn in fifth.

The first race of the season for Limited Sportsman went caution free, as Dave St. Clair of Liberty earned the win. Last year’s championship runner up, Rowland Robinson Sr., of Steuben put on a good show trying to catch St. Clair, but when the laps ran out, Robinson crossed the line second. Deane Smart of Bradley took third, with Fred Brown of Winterport fourth, and Jason Morse of Ellsworth fifth.

In the Super Streets, the caution flag came out at the green flag, when Joe Legere of Milford spun out in turn four, and got clocked by Dwayne Jenkins of Orrington. In the chaos, Kris Watson of Hermon got tapped as well, however, he managed to pit under caution, and get back out to rejoin the field. Steve Moulton of Glenburn took the win from the pole, with last years champion John Kalel, II of Orrington second, and Kris Watson recovered to take third.

The Strictly Streets stayed caution free, with Jim Carr, Jr. of Clifton earning the win. Rowland “JR Rockin’” Robinson of Steuben finished second, and Shawn Sperrey of Hermon in third. Pole sitter Brad Norris of Ellsworth took fourth and Sam Whitmore of Corinna crossed the line for fifth.

For the Sport-Four division, there were five cautions, but for much of the race, Dixmont’s Lewis Batchelder led the way, Justin Trombley of Winter Harbor gambled on lapped traffic, and passed Batchelder in three-wide traffic to earn the win. In the post race inspection, Trombley’s car was disqualified, and the win went to Batchelder. David Shorey of Old Town moved up to second, and Steve Heath of Brownville inherited third.

Unofficial Results:


Finish Car # Name Town

1. 8 Cassius Clark

2. 54 Johnny Clark

3. 4 Ben Rowe

4. 17 Travis Benjamin

5. 33 Richie Dearborn

Limited Sportsman

Finish Car # Name Town

1. 14 Dave St. Clair Liberty

2. 28 Rowland Robinson, Sr. Steuben

3. 24 Deane Smart Bradley

4. 48 Fred Brown Winterport

5. 37 Jason Morse Ellsworth

Super Street

Finish Car # Name Town

1. 80 Steven Moulton Glenburn

2. 5 John Kalel, II Orrington

3. 35 Kris Watson Hermon

4. 2 Keith Pierce Hudson

5. 3 Mike Overlock Franklin

Strictly Street

Finish Car # Name Town

1. 9 Jim Carr, Jr. Clifton

2. 28 Rowland Robinson, Jr. Steuben

3. 82 Shawn Sperrey Hermon

4. 8 Brad Norris Ellsworth

5. 40 Sam Whitmore Corinna


Finish Car # Name Town

1. 23 Lewis Batchelder Dixmont

2. 46 David Shorey Old Town

3. 0 Steve Heath Brownville

4. 7 Adam Russell Medford

5. 1 Dan Quilla, Sr. Winterport