Saturday night was a good night for the underdogs at Wiscasset Raceway. In a busy program that included eleven features, it was a handful of first time winners and a veteran racer returning to victory lane for the first time in nearly eight years that stole the show. Boothbay’s Steve Reny continued his strong early season in the Late Model Sportsman division with a win in the 30 lap feature. It was Reny’s first win at his home track since the 2000 season when he picked up 4 wins and finished as runner-up in the Prostock division. Reny started 11th and took advantage of two late race cautions to get to the front. From there he outraced Sidney’s Chris Thorne on a lap 27 restart, passing him on the outside and onto the win. Thorne, who started from the pole position retook the point lead in the division with a heat win and second place finish in the feature. Rookie Kevin Sherman of Wiscasset turned in another impressive top five finish, taking home the third place trophy.

Two top contenders in the LMS class were involved in a violent wreck earlier in the evening in the division’s second heat race. Point leader Nick Reno and defending champ Puncin St Clair were racing side by side for position when the two made contact coming out of turn two, sending them hard into the back stretch wall. Reno’s car flipped violently onto its roof and was wedged against the wall by St Clair’s. Fortunately both drivers walked away unhurt. While St Clair did not race the feature, Reno borrowed a car from James Osmond and picked up a respectable 6th place finish.

Jeremy Douglas of Waterville notched his first career win in the 20 lap Stock Mini feature, holding off his brother Kevin Douglas and former champ Brent Roy to the checkers. 14-year-old Kayla Albert of Chelsea outraced the top two drivers in the Ladies Division for her first career win. Her mother Marje Albert and Kristy Millay of Palermo joined her in victory lane after the 10 lap Ladies feature. 13-year-old Natasha Dyer of Arrowsic was a wire-to-wire winner in the 10-lap Teen division feature giving her a career first win. She was joined in victory lane by point leader Tyler Tibbetts of Montville and Thomas True of Wiscasset. Will Collins of Appleton took the lead early in the 25 lap Super Street feature and held off point leader R.J. Austin to the checkers. For Collins, the 2005 Wiscasset Raceway driver of the Year, it was his first win since April 29th 2006. For Austin it was his 4th runner-up finish in 4 races this season. He is still trying for his first career Wiscasset win. Defending Super Street champ Adam Chadbourne of Woolwich overcame some early damage to race his way to the 3rd place finish. Maurice Young of Chelsea proved to be the strongest in the Strictly Street class, starting the 20 lap feature 6th and quickly getting to the front. From there he drove to his class high 3rd win of the season. Previous week’s winner Ed Peirpont moved up from 10th to finish 2nd. Pole sitter Mike Stewart of Durham held on for 3rd. The Teen Division started the show with a 25-lap make-up feature. Tyler Tibbetts was a wire-to-wire winner, taking the feature by a full straightaway over Cody Sleeper and Ed Sleeper. To go along with all of the regular race action, there were also three touring series in attendance as well. Jacob Dore of Sanford took the win in the 25 lap NELCAR Legend feature. Topsham’s Bob Weymouth and Windham’s Chris Seavey joined him in victory lane. The Quirk Super Mini Cup Series made their first appearance of the season with Rich Hall of Mechanic Falls picking his way through traffic to take the win. Fred Ireland of Howland took 2nd followed by Francis Bernard Jr of Howland. John Rice of Bristol was an easy winner in the 15 lap feature for the Wicked Good Vintage Racing Association.

Wiscasset Raceway returns to action Saturday May 19th at 6:00pm with action in all six weekly divisions plus NELCAR Legends. The program will also be the second double points night of the season and the 30 lap Bruce Kane Memorial for the Late Model Sportsman division will be the evening’s main event. For more information, call the Wiscasset Raceway office at (207) 589-4780 or check the track’s website at



1. Steve Reny – Boothbay; 2. Chris Thorne – Sidney; 3. Kevin Sherman – Wiscasset; 4. Randy Turner – Freedom; 5. Dan Trask – Chelsea; 6. Nick Reno – West Bath; 7. Erik Nash – Richmond; 8. Duane Love – West Gardiner; 9. Seth Raven – Waldo; 10. Steve Reno – West Bath; 11. Bill Pinkham – Wiscasset; 12. Jeff Burgess – Oakland; DNS. James Osmond – Wiscasset; DNS. Puncin St Clair – Liberty


1. Will Collins – Appleton; 2. R.J. Austin – Smithfield; 3. Adam Chadbourne – Woolwich; 4. Donnie Stuart – Pittston; 5. John Kalel Jr – Orrington; 6. Leon Burgess – Jefferson; 7. Mickey Landry Jr – n/a; 8. Josh Bailey – Wiscasset; 9. Jeremy Glasier – Appleton; 10. Bernie Dinsmore – Hope; 11. Paul Hopkins – Camden


1. Maurice Young – Chelsea; 2. Ed Peirpont – Jefferson; 3. Mike Stewart – Durham; 4. Steve Peirpont – Cushing; 5. Bobby Mesimer – Woolwich; 6. Dan Trask – Chelsea; 7. Mike Moody – Bath; 8. Ian Bresnahan – Bath; 9. Adam Pratt – Dresden; 10. Mike St Germain – Auburn; 11. Zac Creamer – Bath (DQ)


1. Jermey Douglas – Waterville; 2. Kevin Douglas – Sidney; 3. Brent Roy – Vassalboro; 4. Bryan Lancaster – Skowhegan; 5. Dan Somes – Sidney; 6. Shawn Kimball – Pittston; 7. Mike Wilson – Chelsea; 8. Frank Brown – Pittston; 9. Byron Patterson – Chelsea; 10. Pete McCollat – Readfield; 11. Rob Greenleaf – West Bath; 12. Dylan Lancaster – Skowhegan; 13. Mike Dulaney – Richmond; 14. Gary Blackman – Boothbay; 15. Jeff Minchin – Pittston; 16. James Henderson – Chelsea; 17. Shane Smith – Sidney; 18. Tom Minchin – Pittston


1. Kayla Albert – Chelsea; 2. Marje Albert – Chelsea; 3. Kristy Millay – Palermo; 4. Chelsea Young – Winterport; 5. Carol Wilson – Chelsea; 6. Elaine Alexander – Reafield; 7. Molly Feeney – Knox; 8. Mika Wilson – Chelsea


1. Natasha Dyer – Arrowsic; 2. Tyler Tibbetts – Monville; 3. Thomas True – Wiscasset; 4. Ryan Hayes – Jefferson; 5. Jordan Hawes – Skowhegan; 6. Kayla Albert – Chelsea; 7. Cody Sleeper – Chelsea; 8. Ed Sleeper – Vassalboro


1. Tyler Tibbetts – Montville; 2. Cody Sleepr – Chelsea; 3. Ed Sleeper – Vassalboro; 4. Kayla Albert – Chelsea; 5. Thomas True- Wiscasset; 6. Ryan Hayes – Jefferson; 7. Grace Pinkham – Wiscasset; 8. Matt Stuart – Pittston; 9. Jordan Hawes – Skowhegan; 10. Natasha Dyer – Arrowsic; 11. n/a


1. Jacob Dore – Sanford; 2. Bob Weymouth – Topsham; 3. Chris Seavey – Windham; 4. Terry Kirk – Durham; 5. Mike Fuchswanz – Vassalboro; 6. Steve Fox – Falmouth; 7. Josh Leach – Islesboro; 8. Ed Getty – Gray; 9. Nick Brown – Topsham; 10. Marc Fuchswanz – Vassalboro; 11. Charlie Buxton – Windham


1. Rich Hall – Mechanic Falls; 2. Fred Ireland – Howland; 3. Francis Bernard – Howland; 4. Jeff Littlefield – Winslow; 5. R.J. Pinkham – Augusta; 6. Wes Perry – E.Millinocket; 7. Garrett Haymen – Milford; 8. Ed Trask – Augusta; 9. Josh Ireland – Howland