Hebert, Stanley steam to Rebel wins
before thunder rolls on Sun Journal Night

OXFORD, Maine – Oxford Plains Speedway race fans were treated to a fireworks display for the second straight Saturday night. This one wasn't the kind of entertainment any short track enthusiast wanted, however.

Severe thunderstorms ripped through Maine shortly before sunset, wiping out all three Oxford Championship Series features after a full round of qualifying on Sun Journal Night.
The Macdonald Motors Runnin' Rebels of the Acceleration Series did manage to beat the elements and complete their twin 20-lap features as part of the Agren Appliance Grand Slam.
Jeff Hebert ran away from Scott Farrington and Cole Flagg to capture the first feature. Race two produced a thrilling finish between five of the division's hungry young lions, with Nic Stanley scoring his second victory of the season in front of a four-wide scramble for second. Tyson Jordan won the sprint to the stripe for the runner-up trophy, followed by Josh Childs, Kyle Hewins and Mark Childs Jr.
OPS owner Bill Ryan announced that the Allen's Coffee Flavored Brandy Strictly Stock division will run double features next Saturday, June 9, in support of the L/A Harley-Davidson Late Model Challenge 100.
The Oxford Networks Late Model will wage two 40-lap features on Saturday, June 16, and the Sun Journal 100 will be made up in addition to the regularly scheduled Allen's Mini Stock 30-lap race on Saturday, June 23.
at winners were Bob Guptill and Rich Sirois in Mini, Mark Bowie and Scott Belskis in Strictly and rookies Travis Stearns and Tommy Ricker in Late Model.
OPS isn't done for the weekend. Enduro Twin 100s are scheduled as the highlight of Motor Mayhem, along with Spectator Drags and the Smoky Donut Show. It all gets underway Sunday at 1 p.m.

1. Jeff Hebert, Auburn; 2. Scott Farrington, Oxford; 3. Cole Flagg, Livermore; 4. Kevin Noyes, Raymond; 5. Brady Romano, Livermore Falls; 6. David Childs, Oxford; 7. Jerry Goss, Mechanic Falls; 8. Todd Foss, Windham; 9. Jason Whitney, Wilton; 10. George Tripp, Oxford; 11. Josh Palmer, Gorham; 12. Ryan Varney, Oxford; 13. Nathan Guptill, North Turner; 14. Patrick Elsman, Hebron; 15. Monica Martin, South Paris; 16. Don White, Leeds; 17. Gene White, Lisbon.

MACDONALD MOTORS RUNNIN' REBEL #2 (20 laps): 1. Nic Stanley, Buckfield; 2. Tyson Jordan, Poland; 3. Josh Childs, Oxford; 4. Kyle Hewins, Leeds; 5. Mark Childs Jr., Mechanic Falls; 6. Derek Cook, Livermore Falls; 7. Matt Dufault, Turner; 8. David Cook, Lewiston; 9. Craig Pyy, Gorham; 10. Doug Degroat, Oxford; 11. Justin Hynes, Windham; 12. James Wood, New Gloucester; 13. Gregg Norton, Lewiston; 14. Jason Cummings, Waterford; 15. Troy Jordan, Turner; 16. Jeff Beaule, Lewiston.