Saturday night at Wiscasset Raceway had all the look and feel of show you might get on a hot full moon night in mid August. There was plenty of action on the track; a few tempers on the rise and the busiest members of the track staff may have been the emergency crew. On the positive side of things Jeff Burgess of Oakland raced his way to the 30 lap Late Model feature win, making him the 8th different winner in nine races in Wiscasset’s top division. Other winners on the night included Jeremy Glasier of Appleton in the Super Streets; Steve Peirpont of Cushing in the Strictly Streets; Mike Wilson of Chelsea in the Stock Mini’s; Marje Albert of Chelsea in the Ladies Division; Nick Hinckley of Wiscasset in the Teen Division; and Francis Bernard Jr of Howland in the Quirk Super Mini Cup Series. Four of the weekly division winners picked up their first win of the year in the show sponsored by Norm’s Used Cars of Wiscasset.

Wiscasset Raceway returns to action Saturday June 30th at 5:30 pm with the annual Family Fun Night. Following the completion of driver practice there will be a pre-race driver autograph session followed by kids’ bike races in two age groups. After the heat race portion of the show there will be the popular smokeshow / burnout contest. Then, to top off the program there will be a giant fireworks display shortly after sunset to celebrate the Independence holiday week. The Teen Division will have the feature event of the race program with a 25 lap main event. For more information, call the raceway office at (207) 589-4780 or check the website at

The red flag made an appearance on four separate occasions on the evening with two female drivers being transported to area hospitals. Elaine Alexander of Augusta was involved in a heat race incident in the Ladies Division when her car slammed sideways into a dirt pile that protects a light pole at the entrance to turn three. The race was red flagged for an hour as emergency crews extracted her from the car and subsequently transported her by helicopter to CMMC in Lewiston. By the end of the program it was reported by the medical staff that Elaine had undergone several tests, was treated and expected to be released later Saturday night or Sunday morning. In a separate incident, in the 10-lap Teen Division feature, Natasha Dyer lost control of her car while trying to avoid a spinning car in turn four. She would hit the car nearly head on and the race would be red flagged for a half hour as she too would need to be cut from her car. Dyer would be transported by ambulance to Midcoast Hospital in Brunswick and, according to family, was treated and released later Saturday night. Two additional red flag incidents had drivers treated and cleared at the track after hitting the back stretch wall.

In the 30 lap Late Model Sportsman feature Oakland’s Jeff Burgess looked unbeatable out of the gate as he established a comfortable half straightaway lead over defending champ Puncin St Clair. Through the midpoint of the race Josh St Clair moved up from his 9th starting spot to challenge his dad for the position. Peter Oakes of Boothbay also found his stride by the middle of the race, moving up from 10th to the top three. Oakes managed to get by both St Clair’s and whittled away Burgess’ lead to four car lengths, but was not able get any closer. Burgess, a multi-time Prostock winner at Wiscasset, picked up his first Late Model win of the year. Oakes settled for second and Josh St Clair took home the 3rd place trophy. In the 25 Lap Super Street feature Jeremy Glasier of Appleton picked up his 3rd career win and first of the 2007 campaign, He would outrun the division’s top two driver to the checkers. RJ Austin continued his strong season with his 6th runner-up finish of the year to go with his two wins. Point leader Bernie Dinsmore followed in 3rd. Steve Peirpont of Cushing started the 20 lap Strictly Street feature in the 4th position and wasted little time in taking the lead from Ian Bresnahan on lap one. Peipront cruised to an easy feature win, his second of the season. Point leader Maurice young of Chelsea raced up from 7th to finish 2nd and Ed Pierpont, Steve’s brother started 6th and finished 3rd. Chelsea’s Mike Wilson was a wire to wire winner in the 20 lap Stock Mini division feature. It was his first win in four years at Wiscasset Raceway. Kevin Douglas of Sidney and Brent Roy of Vassalboro joined him in victory lane. The Teen Division feature was called official with 9 laps complete following the accident involving Natasha Dyer. Nick Hinckley, son of 6-time championship car owner Harold Hinckley, picked up his first career win, holding off the division’s top two drivers. Cody Sleeper of Chelsea backed up his first win the week before with a strong 2nd place run. Point leader Tyler Tibbetts of Montville raced his way from the back of the pack and held off Ed Sleeper to claim the 3rd place trophy. Ladies Division point leader and defending champ Marje Albert took and early lead and stayed out of trouble to capture her second feature win of the season. Cassandra St Clair of Liberty moved within two car lengths of the leader with a lap to go, but got caught up with the spinning car of Mika Wilson. Kayla Albert who was running a half track behind her mother Marje would sneak by St Clair and race to the 2nd place finish, while St Clair recovered to finish 3rd.



1. Jeff Burgess – Oakland; 2. Peter Oakes – Boothbay; 3. Josh St Clair – Liberty; 4. Puncin St Clair – Liberty; 5. Chris Thorne – Sidney; 6. Kevin Sherman – Wiscasset; 7. James Osmond – Gardiner; 8. Scott Pooler – Fort Kent; 9. Seth Raven – Waldo; 10. Erik Nash – Richmond; 11. Bill Pinkham – Wiscasset


1. Jeremy Glasier – Appleton; 2. R.J. Austin – Smithfield; 3. Bernie Dinsmore – Hope; 4. Mac Hannan Jr – Union; 5. Brian Fortin – China; 6. Ajay Picard – Palmyra; 7. Donnie Stuart – Pittston; 8. Ryan Robertson – n/a; 9. Donnie York – n/a; 10. Will Collins – Appleton (dq); 11. Josh Bailey – Wiscasset (dq)


1. Steve Peirpont – Cushing; 2. Maurice Young – Chelsea; 3. Ed Peirpont – Jefferson; 4. Mike Moody – Bath; 5. Bobby Mesimer – Woolwich; 6. Ian Bresnahan – Bath; 7. Zac Creamer – Bath; 8. Adam Pratt – Dresden


1. Mike Wilson – Chelsea; 2. Kevin Douglas – Sidney; 3. Brent Roy – Vassalboro; 4. Frank Brown – Pittston; 5. Pete McCollat – Readfield; 6. Jeremy Douglas – Waterville; 7. Dan Somes – Sidney; 8. Dylan Lancaster – Skowhegan; 9. Bryan Lancaster – Skowhegan; 10. Jeff Minchin – Pittston; 11. Rob Greenleaf – West Bath; 12. Mike Dulaney – Richmond; 13. Scott Grant – West Gardiner; 14. Reggie Bickford – Oakland; 15. Tom Minchin – Pittston; 16. Tim Dumas – Chelsea; 17. Dale Peaslee – Whitefield; 18. Tim Grant – Augusta; 19. Mike Wallace – Alna; 20. Shawn Kimball – Pittston


1. Nick Hinckley – Wiscasset; 2. Cody Sleeper – Chelsea; 3. Tyler Tibbetts – Montville; 4. Ed Sleeper – Vassalboro; 5. Tom True – Wiscasset; 6. Kayla Albert – Chelsea; 7. Ryan Ripley – Thomaston; 8. Ryan Hayes – Jefferson; 9. Natasha Dyer – Arrowsic; 10. Donavan Dodge – Rockport; 11. Grace Pinkham – Wiscasset


1. Marje Albert – Chelsea; 2. Kayla Albert – Chelsea; 3. Cassandra St Clair – Liberty; 4. Chelsea Young – Winterport; 5. Deb Brown – Pittston; 6. Kristy Millay – Palermo; 7. Mika Wilson – Chelsea (dq)


1. Francis Bernard Jr – Howland; 2. Rich Hall – Mechanic Falls; 3. Josh Ireland – Howland; 4. RJ Pinkham – N.Anson; 5. Garrett Hayman – Milford; 6. Jeff Littlefield – Winslow; 7. Fred Ireland – Howland