Bub Bilodeau and Beaver Norton headline winners at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway


Dan Walker

Beech Ridge Motor Speedway PR


Scarborough, Maine-Bub Bilodeau scored his second  Pro Series feature win of the season on Saturday night as part of the NASCAR Whelan All American Series.   Beaver Norton ended his season long dry spell as the current division champion won for the first time in 2007 in the 35 lap Sport Series main event.

Joining Bilodeau and Norton in victory lane on Saturday were Matt Wyman for the Wildcat division and Patrick Thorne in the Road Runners.  Mike Maietta Jr led the opening laps from his outside pole starting position but this race would be slowed by 4 caution periods beginning at lap 5.  Maietta regained the lead despite another caution flag 2 laps later until finally some racing could take place. Maietta Jr began to be challenged by T.J. Brackett at the front of the field with Maine racing legend Al Hammond right in the mix as well.  Following a caution period on lap 16 Bub Bilodeau moved around Maietta Jr and took the lead which he would hold all the way to the finish.  Maietta Jr would hold on for second with Brackett third.  Dan McKeage finished fourth and Bill Rodgers fifth.  Beaver Norton has had a rough season to date as the reigning division champion had been shut out of victory lane through the first 9 events.  Saturday night Norton ended that spell with a hard earned win in the 35 lap feature race for the Sport Series division.  Jeff Cannell led early until Norton took over on lap 24 following a restart.  Cannell fought back to the outside of Norton as the two drivers battled it out to the finish.  Norton got the win and Cannell had second with Sally Gherardi third.  Russ Morse and Don Colpritt were fourth and fifth place finishers.  Matt Wyman had the race of his life Saturday night avoiding all of the crashes that marred the Wildcat feature race.  Doug Wolfe led from the start but a spin in the middle of the field on lap 3 separated the field into 2 groups.  Wolfe was hoping the race would stay green but that was not to be as on lap 11 the caution came out for a hard wallbanger by David Wildes.  Scott Grant took a turn at the front until Wyman made his move at lap 19 taking the front.  Several more caution flags slowed the race but Wyman held them all of for the win.  Cole Watson was second and Grant finished third.  Steve Coffin and Buddy Poole rounded out the top 5 finishers.  Patrick Thorne won for the second time this season in the 20 lap Road Runner race.  Casey Corkum led the first 9 laps until Thorne took over and drove away from the field for an easy win.  Dave Cameron finished second with Tim Caswell third.  Corkum finished fourth and Bradley Babb took fifth.