Bill Penfold leaned on his famous pink #0 VIP Charter Coaches Chevrolet in Wiscasset’s victory lane and took it all in with a big smile and a handshake from his father Ray. It had been nearly 10 years since the Yarmouth racer had tasted victory at Maine’s fastest track; a place where he had made a name for himself before he embarked on a long career in the Busch North Series and other various Prostock touring series.

Saturday night Penfold held off 5-time track champ Scott Chubbuck over the final 45 laps of the 50 lap feature, including five restarts, on his way to the win against a strong 18-car Prostock field. Chubbuck started 4th and stalked the leader the entire race, never letting him get more than a car length advantage. Pole sitter Scott Moore and former champ Charlie Colby traded the 3rd position back and forth until Colby’s car shut down on lap 39. Waterboro’s Curtis Gerry picked up the battle where Colby left off and ran side by side with Moore for the next eight laps. But Moore rebounded to claim the 3rd place trophy. Penfold’s win highlighted a busy night of racing at “Maine’s Center of Speed” which rolled out no less than 10 features in front of a packed house of fans. Other winners on the program included Josh St Clair of Liberty in the Late Model Sportsman. The 3rd generation racer and 2006 LMS Rookie of the Year held off his grandfather “Boss Hogg” Dave St Clair and then 2005 champ Mike Orr to pick up his first win of the year, becoming the 11th different LMS winner this season. RJ Austin of Smithfield was the winner in the 25 lap Super Street feature. He picked up his class high 5th win of the year after a race-long battle with point leader Bernie Dinsmore of Hope. Bobby Mesimer of Woolwich was a wire to wire winner in the Strictly Streets 20 lap feature. He held off early pressure from Bath’s Ian Bresnahan and then pulled away for the win by a half straightaway. It was Mesimer’s second win of the year. Kevin Douglas of Sidney padded his point lead and took the win in the Stock Mini’s 20 lap feature. Making his usual charge through the field, Douglas started 14th and took the lead at the halfway point. From there he drove to his 5th win of the year, tying him with defending champ Shawn Kimball for most in the class. Marje Albert of Chelsea turned in a convincing win in the Ladies Division special 25 lap feature. She ran unchallenged from the pole position to pick up her 5th win of the year. Elaine Alexander and Alicia Goodwin joined her in victory lane. Ryan Ripley of Thomaston was the winner in the Teen Division 10 lap feature, picking up his 3rd win. Mike Fuschwanz of Vassalboro was a wire to wire winner in the NELCAR Legends 25 lap feature. He held off challenges from Josh Leach and Jacob Dore to pick up his first career win. The S.T.A.R. Tour (Senior Tour Auto Racers) also ran a pair of exhibition feature for their Sportsman and Modified Divisions. As an added bonus, fans were also treated to a pre-race car show sponsored by the midcoast Maine Rusty Nuts Car Club. Wiscasset Raceway returns to action with a double header weekend Saturday August 18th at 6:00pm and Sunday August 19th at 3:00pm. Saturday’s program will be the track’s 5th and final Double Points night with regular length heats and features in all 7 weekly divisions, plus the Bailey’s Midcoast Mini Cup Series. Sunday afternoon the Pro All Stars Series returns to Wiscasset after a four-year absence. The show will feature action in PASS Super Late Model / Prostocks; the new PASS Sportsman Series; and the popular PASS Modifieds. Wiscasset’s Stock Mini division will also be part of the show with a non-point feature. For more information check the Wiscasset Raceway website at www.wiscassetraceway.us.



1. Bill Penfold – Yarmouth; 2. Scott Chubbuck – Brunswick; 3. Scott Moore – Anson; 4. Chuck Colby – Wiscasset; 5. Curtis Gerry – Waterboro; 6. Chuck Lachance – Cushing; 7. Scott King – Livemore; 8. Gene Green – Augusta; 9. Jason Swett – n/a; 10. Tim Turner – Freedom; 11. Matt Lee – Albion; 12. Brian Carver – n/a; 13. Charlie Colby – Edgecomb; 14. Bill Pinkham – Wiscasset; 15. Jeremy Whorff – West Bath; 16. Jeff Burgess – Oakland; 17. Randy Turner – Freedom; 18. Ken Beaslee – Richmond


1. Josh St Clair – ; 2. Mike Orr – Wiscasset; 3. Puncin St Clair – Liberty; 4. Duane Love – West Gardiner; 5. Kevin Sherman – Wiscasset; 6. Seth Raven – Waldo; 7. Erik Nash – Richmond; 8. Scott Pooler – St Albans; 9. David St Clair – Liberty; 10. Randy Turner – Freedom; 11. Nick Hinckley – Wiscasset; 12. Richard Jordan – Kingfield; 13. Steve Reny – Boothbay; 14. Chris Thorne – Sidney; 15. Peter Oakes – Boothbay


1. R.J. Austin – Smithfield; 2. Bernie Dinsmore – Hope; 3. Will Collins – Appleton; 4. Allen Moeller Sr – Dresden; 5. Jeremy Glasier – Appleton; 6. Justin Karkos – Jay; 7. Brian Fortin – China; 8. Josh Bailey – Wiscasset; 9. Donnie Stuart – Pittston; 10. Shawn Austin – Norridgewok; 11. Mike Hodgkins- Jefferson; 12. Jason Gaboury – Readfield; 13. Dan Trask – Chelsea


1. Bobby Mesimer – Woolwich; 2. Ian Bresnahan – Bath; 3. Dave Brannon – Lisbon; 4. Zac Creamer – Bath; 5. Steve Pierpont – Cushing; 6. Ed Pierpont – Jefferson; 7. Mike Stewart – Durham; 8. Mike St Germain – Auburn; 9. Vern Hodgkins – Lewsiton; 10. Maurice Young – Chelsea; 11. Adam Pratt – Dresden


1. Kevin Douglas – Sidney; 2. Mike Wilson – Chelsea; 3. Dylan Lancaster – Skowhegan; 4. Jeremy Douglas- Waterville; 5. Bryan Lancaster – Skowhegan; 6. Pete McCollat – Randolph; 7. Rob Greenleaf – West Bath; 8. Mike Dulaney – Richmond; 9. Shawn Kimball – Sidney; 10. Chris Doucette – n/a; 11. Ken Edgecomb – Readfield; 12. Tim Dumas – Chelsea; 13. James Henderson – Chelsea; 14. Barry Poulin – Clinton; 15. Frank Brown – Pittston; 16. Randy Barker – Wilton; 17. James Osmond – Gardiner; 18. Brent Roy – Vassalboro


1. Ryan Ripley – Thomaston; 2. Cody Sleeper – Chelsea; 3. Kayla Albert – Chelsea; 4. Ed Sleeper – Vassalboro; 5. Tyler Tibbetts – Montville; 6. Natasha Dyer – Arrowsic; 7. Ryan Hayes – Jefferson; 8. Alex Cromwell – Woolwich; 9. Grace Pinkham – Wiscasset; 10. Mika Wilson – Chelsea; 11. Donavan Dodge – Rockport; 12. Tom True – Wiscasset


1. Marje Albert – Chelsea; 2. Elaine Alexander – Augusta; 3. Alica Goodwin – n/a; 4. Carol Wilson – Chelsea; 5. Kayla Albert – Chelsea; 6. Cindy Jones – n/a; 7. Deb Brown – Pittston; 8. Chelsea Young – Winterport


1. Mike Fuschwanz – Vassalboro; 2. Josh Leach – Islesboro; 3. Jacob Dore – Sanford; 4. Ed Getty – Gray; 5. Dana Fox – Durham; 6. Terry Kirk – Durham; 7. Bob Weymouth – Topsham; 8. Nick Brown – Topsham; 9. Marc Fuschwanz – Vassalboro; 10. Anthony Pagliarulo – Groveland, MA; 11. Patrick Stewart – Beverly, MA; 12. Tim Seavey – Windham; 13. Evan Beaulieu – Durham