Dave Lampron wins at Beech Ridge after 14 year absence. Bub Bilodeau wins fifth.


By Dan Walker

Beech Ridge Motor Speedway PR


Scarborough, Maine-  It has been 14 years since Dave Lampron last visited victory lane at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway, but after last Saturday nights win in the Sport Series 35 lap feature event all of the rust has been kicked off.   Bub Bilodeau continues his torrid late season surge in the Pro Series division as he won his fourth feature race in the last five starts and unofficially took over the point lead for the season.

Steve Coffin won the Wildcat main event and Todd Lefebvre  was the Road Runner winner.  Dave Lampron returned to racing last season with less than spectacular results after a 14 year layoff.  This season with a new team and new car Lampron returned to his winning ways of old as he won the Sport Series 35 lap race. Bolting from the outside pole position Lampron took the lead and went right to his preferred high line on the track.  Lampron had to fight off Scott Dorr early on as he gave up the inside line but Dorr could not make the pass.  Next up to challenge was reigning champion Beaver Norton and again Lampron gave him the inside line but the quicker outside lane kept Lampron in front to the finish.  Norton had to settle for second place with Scott Dorr third.  Russ Morse and Mike Landry were fourth and fifth at the finish.  Bub Bilodeau has been as hot as the weather and won his fifth Pro Series feature race of the season on Saturday night.  With the win Bilodeau unofficially takes over the point lead for the division making up nearly a 40 point deficit over the past few weeks.   Steven Jones led the first 2 laps until Aaron Ricker took over.  Ricker stayed in front until Josh Cantara took his car to the lead on lap 16 but Bub Bilodeau took over the top position 3 laps later.  Dan McKeage has been the season long point leader and was running third on lap 37 when the motor expired in his car forcing him to a 12th place finish.  Bilodeau had to hold off a hard charging Steve Carrier to take the win with Bill Rodgers finishing third.  Bill Whorff and Bobby Babb rounded out the top 5 finishers.  Steve Coffin made a late race pass for the lead and parlayed that move into the feature win.  Mike Nest led the opening 3 laps until Shawn Emery took over.  Emery looked like he might have the car to beat until the caution flag waved on lap 21 allowing the field to catch up.  Coffin made the winning move on lap 24 and never looked back to take the win.  Cole Watson muscled his way to finish second with Emery third.  Lyman McKeage and Richard Randall were fourth and fifth.  Todd Lefebvre took the lead on lap 11 of the 20 lap Road Runner feature race and held on for the win.  The battle for second place was won by Brian Beaulieu with third going to Shawn Brackett.  Paul Lund and Dan Bernier finished fourth and fifth respectively.