Wiscasset Raceway put an end to the 2007 racing season with a full card of racing Saturday afternoon and then trophies handed out to the top ten in each of seven weekly racing series divisions. The program was scheduled to roll off at noon, but the Saturday morning rain that skirted the east coast of New England pushed the start back to 4:30pm once the track drying and practice sessions were complete.

As a result, track owner / promoter Doug White elected to run features only in the ten divisions scheduled to race. Most division championships had been wrapped up prior to the start of the show, but the Mini Stock and Prostock titles would need to be determined in the final race of the year. Edgecomb's Charlie Colby took the win in the 30 lap feature for the Clark Car Crushing Prostocks, but the title would go to Scott Moore of Anson. He turned in 5 top 5's in 7 races this season, highlighted by a season best 3rd three times. It was Moore's first career title. Chuck Colby joined his father and Moore in victory lane following Saturday's race. The 30 lap feature for the Smith Construction Late Models was won by Wiscasset's Kevin Sherman. It was his division high 3rd win of the season and wrapped up the Rookie of the Year and runner-up point honors. Sherman out-dueled Boothbay's Steve Reny for the win. Behind them rookie Nick Hinkley outraced Chris Thorne for the 3rd place trophy. Hinkley had jumped up from the teen division midway through the season and picked up a Late Model trophy in just his 6th race. The Late Model Championship was won by Sidney's Chris Thorne, who held the point lead from opening day. For Thorne, a 2005 Super Sportsman champ at Unity Raceway, it was his first Wiscasset title. For the 2007 season, he picked up 13 top five's and 2 feature wins. The 25 lap Super Street feature was won by Appleton's Will Collins. The 2005 champ continued his late season roll with his 4th win of the season and 3rd win in the final 4 weeks. Collins was joined in victory lane by defending champ Adam Chadbourne and Mac Hannan Jr. Veteran racer Bernie Dinsmore limped to a last place finish in the feature but it was good enough to secure his first career championship in his long career. He wrapped up the year with 11 top 5's and 2 feature wins, plus a division high 5 heat wins. Chelsea's Maurice Young officially put his name at the top of the Wiscasset record books with his 6th career track title. Young finished 2nd in the 20 lap Strictly feature to former champ Mike Moody, but he mearly needed to take the green flag to secure the championship. The title breaks his tie with 5-time Prostock champ Scott Chubbuck for most career championships. He finished 2007 with a career best season; 17 top 5's and 7 feature wins. Two of those wins included dominant runs in both Strictly Street 75 lap main events in which he led 145 out of 150 laps. Bobby Mesimer of Woolwich joined Moody and Young in victory lane and finished as the division runner-up. The Stock Mini division came down to a last race battle between point leader Kevin Douglass of Sidney and defending champ Shawn Kimball of Pittston. While Douglass held a large point lead over Kimball, he had missed opening day so he had one less race to go into the track's season ending championship multiplier. So, the championship came down to which driver finished ahead of the other. Douglass started back in the pack, passed Kimball near the midpoint of the race and went on to win the 20 lap feature and the title. To make him earn it, Kimball chased Douglass across the line for 2nd in the race and 2nd in the division by just 10 points. Douglass wrapped up the year with 18 top 5's and 9 feature wins. Chelsea's Marje Albert successfully defended her Ladies Division with another dominant season. She won to 10 lap feature to finish the season with 21 top 5's and 8 feature wins. She was the only driver at Wiscasset to finish in the top five in all 21 races this season. Marje's daughter Kayla Albert picked up the runnerup trophy for the ladies class and the 3rd place trophy for the Teen Division, making her the only driver to pick up a top ten trophy in two seperate divisions. Tyler Tibbetts of Montville won his 4th straight Teen Division feature, giving him a track-high 11 wins this season. However, Cody Sleeper of Chelsea picked up the Teen Division championship with 17 top 5's and a feature win. Other winners on Saturday's program included Don Giggey of Unity in the shortened 6 lap Truck race; Steve Rackliff of Starks in the 15 lap Sport 4 exebition feature; and Bob Weymouth of Topsham in the 20 lap NELCAR Legend feature. Wiscasset Raceway is in the process of planning the upcoming 2008 season. Track owner Doug White is planning a rules meeting for this fall. For more information, call the raceway office at (207) 632-7322 or check the Wiscasset Raceway web site at www.wiscassetraceway.us.


1. Charlie Colby – Edgecomb; 2. Chuck Colby – Wiscasset; 3. Scott Moore – Anson; 4. Chuck Lachance – Cushing; 5. Matt Lee – Albion; 6. Jeff Burgess – Oakland; 7. Joe Creamer – Woolwich; 8. Gene Green – Augusta; 9. Jason Swett – Carthage; 10. Ken Beaslee – Richmond

1. Kevin Sherman – Wiscasset; 2. Steve Reny – Boothbay; 3. Nick Hinkley – Wiscasset; 4. Chris Thorne – Sidney; 5. Erik Nash – Richmond; 6. Seth Raven – Waldo; 7. Mike Orr – Wiscasset; 8. Jeremy Glasier – Appleton; 9. Fred Dipompo – Poland; 10. Scott Pooler – Vassalboro; 11. Duane Love – West Gardiner; 12. Richard Jordan – Kingfield; 13. Mark Norris – Farmington

1. Will Collins – Appleton; 2. Adam Chadbourne – Woolwich; 3. Mac Hannan Jr – Union; 4. Allen Moeller Sr – Dresden; 5. RJ Austin – Smithfield; 6. Josh Bailey – Wiscasset; 7. Donnie Stuart – Pittston; 8. Peter Huston – Lisbon Falls; 9. Ron Gibson – Appleton; 10. Justin Karkos – Jay; 11. Jason Gaboury – Readfield; 12. Bernie Dinsmore – Hope

1. Mike Moody – Bath; 2. Maurice Young – Chelsea; 3. Bobby Mesimer – Woolwich; 4. Steve Pierpont – Cushing; 5. Tommy Tompkins – Carthage; 6. Ian Bresnahan – Bath; 7. Dave Brannon – Lisbon; 8. Zac Creamer – Bath; 9. Glen Henderson – Sabattus; 10. Ron Corbeil – n/a; 11. Lyman McKeage – Gorham; 12. Mike Short – Auburn; 13. Skip Tripp – Sabattus; 14. Mike St Germain – Auburn; 15. Matt Stuart – Auburn; 16. Dick Damon – n/a; 17. Nate Yeaton – Bath; 18. Vern Hodgkins – Lewiston; 19. Richard Spaulding – Lewiston

1. Kevin Douglass – Sidney; 2. Shawn Kimball – Pittston; 3. Rob Greeneleaf – West Bath; 4. Brent Roy – Vassalboro; 5. Jeremy Douglass – Waterville; 6. Mike Dulaney – Richmond; 7. Dylan Lancaster – Skowhegan; 8. Frank Brown – Sidney; 9. Mike Wilson – Chelsea; 10. Pete McCollat – Readfield; 11. Bryan Lancaster – Skowhegan; 12. James Henderson – Chelsea; 13. Dana Ripley – Thomaston; 14. Bill Dunphy – New Glouster; 15. Mike Swanson – Winthrop; 16. Tim Dumas – Chelsea; 17. Jeff Minchin – Pittston

1. Marje Albert – Chelsea; 2. Elaine Alexander – Augusta; 3. Chelsea Young – Winterport; 4. Kayla Albert – Chelsea; 5. Alysa Goodwin – Waterville; 6. Mika Wilson – Chelsea; 7. Carol Wilson – Chelsea

1. Natasha Dyer – Arrowsic; 2. Tyler Tibbetts – Montville; 3. Cody Sleeper – Chelsea; 4. Kayla Albert – Chelsea; 5. Alex Cromwell – Woolwich; 6. Ryan Ripley – Thomaston; 7. Tom True – Wiscasset; 8. Ed Sleeper – Vassalboro; 9. Ryan Hayes – Jefferson

1. Don Giggey – Unity; 2. Russ Anderson – Portsmouth,NH; 3. Rick Sirois – Norridgewok; 4. Chris Doucette – Sidney; 5. Ethan Dinsmore – Hope; 6. Jason Giggey – Unity; 7. Shawn Gilley – Winslow

1. Bob Weymouth – Topsham; 2. Mike Fuchswanz – Vassalboro; 3. Jacob Dore – Sanford; 4. Max Zachem – Preston, CT; 5. Ed Getty – Gray; 6. Josh Leach – Islesboro; 7. Terry Kirk – Durham; 8. Charlie Buxton – Windham; 9. Marc Fuchswanz- Vassalboro

1. Steve Rackliff – Starks; 2. Ben Clark – Clinton; 3. Dan Somes – Sidney; 4. Greg Cummings – S.China; 5. Norm Cummings – Augusta; 6. William Dow – S.China