Saturday evening's 100 lap main event for the Clark Car Crushing Prostocks produced a first time Wiscasset winner, but it wasnt the one everyone thought as fans headed for home at the end of the show. Farmington's Cassius Clark looked dominant from the pole position in leading all 100 laps of the race, but that wasn't enough to get him the win. It turned out that the only man that could beat the EJP #8 was the techman.

Both Cassius Clark and apparent 3rd place finisher Scott Chubbuck were disqualified in post race inspection for excesive left-side weight infractions. When the dust cleared and the trophies were re-distributed Morrill's Travis Benjamin would be declared the winner of the NAPA Auto Parts / Central Maine Motors Auto Group 100. Benjamin had his #17 Morrill General Store sponsored ride locked in the 3rd position through the first 83 laps until he got by Chubbuck on the 3rd restart to grab second. He would hold the position for two more late race restarts and go on to what looked like a strong runner-up finish. Johnny Clark of Hallowell crossed the line 4th but would take home the 2nd place trophy and Scott Moore of Anson would be bumped up from 5th to 3rd in the final running order. 16 year old Derek Ramstrom of West Boyleston, Ma was involved in a mid-race caution and worked a strong second half to finish 4th. Wiscasset's Chuck Colby was up as high as the second position for much of the race but on lap 85 he would tangle with Matt Lee in turn three during a battle for 3rd. He would pick his way through the lap traffic for a 7th place finish but would be bumped up to 5th on the official finish order. The big race highlighted a busy afternoon of racing at "Maine's Center of Speed", with action in seven weekly divisions plus trucks and the NELCAR Legends. Randy Turner of Freedom picked up his 2nd win of the year in the Smith Construction Late Model 30 lap feature. He started back in the 10th position and drove around the outside to take the lead away from Peter Oakes on lap 26. Oakes would settle for 2nd and fellow Boothbay driver Steve Reny finished 3rd after starting 14th. 2005 Super Street champ Will Collins of Appleton continued his resurgence with his second win in the past three weeks. Collins started the 25 lap Super Street feature 8th and moved through traffic to pass Allen Moeller on lap 19 for the lead. He would go on to capture the caution free feature for his 3rd win of the year. R.J. Austin of Smithfield beat Moeller to the line to grab second by a half car-length. Moeller settled for 3rd. Steve Peirpont of Cushing led wire to wire to in the caution free 20 lap Strictly Street feature to pick up his 5th win of the year. He was joined in victory lane by point leader Maurice Young of Chelsea and Zac Creamer of Bath. However, Creamer's finish is being held up pending a rulling after post-race inspection. Mike Moody of Bath stands to pick up the 3rd place finish if Creamer's disqualification is held up. Brent Roy of Vassalboro rebounded from rolling his car over the previous week to capture the win in the 20 lap Stock Mini feature. He started from the pole position and survived one midrace restart to pick up his second win of the year. Point leader Kevin Douglass of Sidney moved up from 10th to finish 2nd just ahead of Skowhegan' s Dylan Lancaster. Tyler Tibbetts of Montville picked up his fourth straight win in the Teen Division 10 lap feature. The win bumped his track high total to 11 feature wins in 2007. Ed Sleeper of Vassalboro matched his personal best with the 2nd place finish and Thomaston's Ryan Ripley took 3rd. Marje Albert of Chelsea continued her dominance of the Ladies Division. She took the lead on lap three and drove away to her 7th victory of the year. She was joined in victory lane by Elaine Alexander and Alysa Goodwin. Chris Doucette of Sidney made it four in a row in the Truck Division 12 lap feature and Jacob Dore of Sanford won his 7th Wiscasset feature in the NELCAR Legends 25 lap race. Wiscasset Raceway will return to action Saturday September 15th at 12:00 noon with the season finale sponsored by Accord Auto of Richmond. The race program will be followed by an end of season infield party to celebrate the 2007 season and crown division champions in seven weekly classes. For more information, call the Wiscasset Raceway office at (207) 632-7322 or check the website at www.wiscassetraceway.us.


1. Travis Benjamin – Morrill; 2. Johnny Clark – Hallowell; 3. Scott Moore – Anson; 4. Derek Ramstrom – West Boyleston,MA; 5. Chuck Colby – Wiscasset; 6. Jeff Burgess – Oakland; 7. Chuck Lachance – Cushing; 8. Curtis Gerry – Waterboro; 9. Scott King – Livemore; 10. Gary Smith – Bangor; 11. Jesse Smith – Hermon; 12. Katie Hagar – Nobleboro; 13. Matt Lee – Albion; 14. Joe Creamer – Woolwich; 15. Bill Penfold – Yarmouth; 16. Charlie Colby – Edgecomb; 17. Jason Swett – Carthage; DQ. Casius Clark – Farmington; DQ. Scott Chubbuck – Brunswick

1. Randy Turner – Freedom; 2. Peter Oakes – Boothbay; 3. Steve Reny – Boothbay; 4. Chris Thorne – Sidney; 5. Erik Nash – Richmond; 6. Mike Orr – Wiscasset; 7. Tommy Ricker – Poland; 8. Jeremy Glasier – Appleton; 9. Nick Jenkins – Milo; 10. Scott Pooler – Memphis, TN; 11. Kevin Sherman – Wiscasset; 12. Duane Love – West Gardiner; 13. Nick Hinkley – Wiscasset; 14. Seth Raven – Waldo

1. Will Collins – Appleton; 2. R.J. Austin – Smithfield; 3. Allen Moeller Sr – Dresden; 4. Adam Chadbourne – Woolwich; 5. Ajay Piccard – Palmyra; 6. Brian Fortin – China; 7. Josh Bailey – Wiscasset; 8. Peter Huston – Lisbon Falls; 9. Corey Fitzgerald – Bowdoinham; 10. Bernie Dinsmore – Hope; 11. Donnie Stuart – Pittston

1. Steve Pierpont – Cushing; 2. Maurice Young – Chelsea; 3. Mike Moody – Bath; 4. Mike Short – Auburn; 5. Tommy Tompkins – Carthage; 6. Bobby Mesimer – Woolwich; 7. Dave Brannon – Lisbon; 8. Ian Bresnahan – Bath; 9. Glenn Henderson – n/a; 10. Ronnie Corbeil – East Waterboro; 11. Steve Benincassa – Buxton; 12. Chris Burgess – Buckfield; 13. Jaimie Henderson – Litchfield; 14. Chris Mosher – Litchfield; 15. Nate Yeaton – Bath; 16. Matt Stuart – Pittston; 17. Mike St Germain – Auburn; 18. Corey Rines – Wiscasset

1. Brent Roy – Vassalboro; 2. Kevin Douglass – Sidney; 3. Dylan Lancaster – Skowhegan; 4. Mike Wilson – Chelsea; 5. Shawn Kimball – Pittston; 6. Reggie Bickford – Oakland; 7. Jeff Minchin – Pittston; 8. James Henderson – Chelsea; 9. Bryan Lancaster – Skowhegan; 10. Tim Dumas – Chelsea; 11. Pete McCollat – Readield; 12. Mike Dulaney – Richmond; 13. Gregg Cummings – Vassalboro;

1. Tyler Tibbetts – Montville; 2. Ed Sleeper – Vassalboro; 3. Ryan Ripley – Thomaston; 4. Natasha Dyer – Arrowsic; 5. Cody Sleeper – Chelsea; 6. Tom True – Wiscasset; 7. Kayla Albert – Chelsea; 8. Ryan Hayes – Jefferson; 9. Alex Cromwell – Woolwich; 10. Matt Blake – Augusta; 11. Matt Giles – n/a

1. Marje Albert – Chelsea; 2. Elaine Alexander – Augusta; 3. Alysa Goodwin – Waterville; 4. Chelsea Young – Winterport; 5. Deb Brown – Pittston; 6. Kayla Albert – Chelsea; 7. Mika Wilson – Chelsea

1. Chris Doucette – Sidney; 2. Don Giggey – Unity; 3. Russ Anderson – Portsmouth,NH; 4. Randy Theriault – Winslow; 5. Rick Sirois – Norridgewok; 6. Jason Giggey – Unity; 7. Ethan Dinsmore – Hope

1. Jacob Dore – Sanford; 2. Ed Getty – Gray; 3. Josh Leach – Islesboro; 4. Bob Weymouth – Topsham; 5. Max Zachem – Preston,CT; 6. Nick Brown – Topsham; 7. Terry Kirk – Durham; 8. Mike Fuchswanz – Vassalboro; 9. Patrick Stewart – Beverly,MA; 10. Marc Fuchswanz – Vassalboro; 11. Tim Seavey – Windham; 12. Charlie Buxton – Windham