Ryan Lawler Crowned 2007 PASS South Champion Despite Early Race Accident

CONCORD, NC (November 17, 2007) – In what could only be described as unbelievable, Ben Rowe capped off an amazing 2007 season in Saturday night’s 2nd Annual Mason-Dixon Meltdown at Concord Motorsport Park (NC) by passing Corey Williams on the final turn of the final lap to take the victory.

Rowe passed Corey Williams as the white and yellow flags were waving at the same time. PASS South rules dictate that once the leaders have taken the white flag, they race to the checkers unless the track is blocked and officials deem it a red-flag period. Williams came out of the final turn, ducked low to avoid a spun car and got out of the gas long enough to allow Rowe to jump to the outside and take the checkers in the final 50 feet of the race.

“This is unbelievable,” said Rowe, who also won the 2007 PASS North Championship. “To come down here and win this race at this track is just amazing. It was pretty wild there at the end, but the rules are the rules. I’ve lost two or three races in my career by slowing down when the caution comes out on the white flag lap and that is what Corey did. I feel bad for him because he had a better car than us, no doubt. But my spotter told me to go high to avoid the spun car and that is just what we did. So to win this race is just awesome.”

Williams held on to finish second. Johnny Clark was able to get by Preston Peltier on the last lap as well for third. Peltier was fourth and Trevor Sanborn rounded out the top five. Seven of the top-10 finishers in the race represented PASS North.

Ryan Lawler locked up the 2007 PASS South Championship despite falling out of the event on lap 93 after contact with another car forced him into the wall. Peltier made a charge at him in the final standings, but wound up second.

The PASS South Super Late Models were not the only cars competing at Concord on Saturday. AJ Winstead won the PASS/Rolling Thunder Modified 50-lap race after Bill Morris was disqualified in tech. Michael Cooper, the 2007 Allison Legacy Series Champion, continued his dominance by winning the 50-lap Allison Legacy event. Jesse Bunnell took the checkered flag in the 25-lap Thunder Roadsters race.

There was also action at the quarter-mile track at Concord on Saturday morning, as the Legends and Bandoleros competed in an event that was postponed from Friday evening. Christian PaHud grabbed first place in the Legends Semi-Pro Division, while the winner’s check in the Pro/Masters Division went to Clay Hair. In Bandolero action, Robert Poole won the Young Guns race, while John Holleman won the Bandits Division event.

The 2008 PASS South Super Late Model schedule will be released in the coming week.

For more information on the PASS South Series, contact Jeremy Troiano at (704) 788–2134 and be sure to visit www.racewithpass.com for all your PASS South news. For technical and rules information on the entire PASS tours, contact Scott Reed at (207) 625-3230.

Concord Motorsport Park
Concord, NC
November 17, 2007
200 Laps
1. #4 Ben Rowe
2. #47 Corey Williams
3. #54 Johnny Clark
4. #5 Preston Peltier
5. #29s Trevor Sanborn
6. #8 Cassius Clark
7. #33 Richie Dearborn
8. #98 Adam Bates
9. #2 Mike Rowe
10. #22 Perry Brown
11. #04 Joey Porciello
12. #18 Bradly McCaskill
13. #12 Mark Reedy
14. #60 DJ Shaw
15. #02 Tim Nooner
16. #10 Logan Dernoshek
17. #1 Wayne Bowen
18. #53 Brad Bischoff
19. #88 Alan Tardiff
20. #05 Alex Fleming
21. #42 Tim Pinion
22. #25 Chad Martin
23. #31 Ryan Lawler
24. #09c Dean Clattenburg
25. #48 John Batten
26. #35 Derek Ramstrom
27. #91x Heath Hindman
28. #8Q Freddie Query
29. #62 Mark Gibson
30. #47R Ryan Moore
31. #17 Darren Shaw
32. #76 Logan Ruffin
33. #79 Chris Bowers

Lead Changes: 14 among 7 drivers
Lap Leaders: Ryan Lawler 1-12, Corey Williams 13-53, Preston Peltier 54-75, Corey Williams, 76-77, Preston Peltier, 78-88, Ben Rowe 89-92, Mike Rowe 93-94, Johnny Clark 95-129, Alan Tardiff 130-134, Corey Williams 135-148, Johnny Clark 149-170, Corey Williams 171-176, Johnny Clark 177-186, Corey Williams 178-199, Ben Rowe 200
Cautions Flags: 13
Fast Qualifier: Ryan Lawler
Dash Winner: Corey Williams
Heat Winners: Johnny Clark, John Batten, Mike Rowe
Consi Winner: Chad Martin