Class of 2007 Was an Impressive One – With Four Rookies in the Top 10 of the Standings
NAPLES, ME (November 13, 2007) – 2007 might have been the year of the Rookie in Pro All Stars Series (PASS) North Super Late Model racing.

A rookie, Joey Porciello, won the season-opening race at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway (ME).  Another rookie, Trevor Sanborn, led much of the season finale at White Mountain Motorsports Park (NH) before spinning in another car’s oil on the track and finishing third.
In between, the “Class of 2007” led laps, won heat races and earned the respect of series veterans.  Four rookies finished in the top 10 of the series point standings and all had outstanding seasons of racing.  In the end though, it was Sanborn who secured the Rookie of the Year title over a talented group which included Derek Ramstrom, Adam Bates, Stephen Berry and Porciello. 
“We didn’t have it easy,” said Sanborn.  “There were some good rookies this year.  The rookies all did well.  We performed well all year long and we just came out on top.
“It’s overwhelming that we did this well in my first year of PASS racing.  I didn’t really expect it and I don’t know that anyone else did.  I’m proud to be where I am.  I’m proud to be the Rookie of the Year and I’m proud that we finished fifth in points.”
Sanborn knocked on the door of victory lane all season long.  He finished on the podium five times in PASS North and finished second in the PASS North events at Thompson International Speedway (CT), Riverside Speedway (NH) and Speedway 95 (ME).  He also finished second in the September PASS South SLM race at Hickory Motor Speedway (NC).
Before joining the PASS tour, Sanborn was a regular in the Pro Series at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway, where he posted three victories during the 2006 racing season.
“It wasn’t really that hard to move up because I really wanted to go PASS racing, but not knowing what was ahead of you or anything about the tracks that I was going to – that was difficult,” said Sanborn of his move up.  “The tracks are all different and I had to get used to them.  Some of them, it only took one weekend for me to get used to.  We ended up doing well.”
Sanborn drove the #29 Ford owned by Jay Cushman during the 2007 season, following in the footsteps of former team drivers who have included Scott Chubbuck, Ted Christopher, Louie Mechalides and Larry Gelinas.  Having an experienced team behind him helped Sanborn adapt quickly to tour racing.
“It sure did,” said Sanborn.  “Jay has done a great job with the team and the motors.  My Dad helped a lot and the whole crew is great.  I can’t thank everyone enough.”
By racing competitively and clean all season long helped earn Sanborn the respect of his fellow competitors. 
“I think so,” said Sanborn.  “I hope that I earned their respect.  That’s what I wanted to do.”
It wasn’t just competitors who respected Sanborn at season’s end either.  Fans, officials and even the series president, Tom Mayberry, admired the effort from the young driver who calls Parsonsfield, Maine his home.
“Trevor did a tremendous job all year long,” said Mayberry.  “He was real close to winning and ran really good that last part of the year.  I was really, really impressed with him.”
Even though the 2007 PASS North season is complete, Sanborn still has a few races remaining on his schedule, starting with this weekend’s Mason-Dixon Meltdown at Concord Motorsport Park (NC).  Other PASS North competitors expected to make the trip include Ben Rowe, Mike Rowe, Richie Dearborn, Johnny Clark, Derek Ramstrom, Adam Bates, Cassius Clark, Joey Porciello, Alan Tardiff and DJ Shaw.
For more information on the PASS North and South Series, please contact 51 Sports at (704) 788-2134 and for technical and rules information on all of the PASS tours, please contact Scott Reed at (207) 625-3230. 
Also, be sure to visit the official PASS South website at and the official website of PASS North,