(Hermon, Me) Speedway 95 opened up the 2008 season Sunday April 20th with racing in 5 divisions, including the brand new Dysart’s Pro-Limited Class.

Scott Modery of Hermon earned the pole for the Dysart’s Pro-Limited race, but outside pole sitter Josh St. Clair of Liberty grabbed the top spot in the caution free race for the first 17 laps. On Lap 18 Modery slide into the low groove and drove past St. Clair to earn the top spot and held it for the win. St. Clair finished second, and Dave St. Clair, also of Liberty crossed the line for third. Modery was DQ in post race inspection, handing first place to Josh St. Clair, second to Dave St. Clair and third to Glen Curtis, Jr of Hudson.

In Super Street action, it was Kris Watson of Hermon who had the dominant ride for the day, winning both the heat race and the feature. Cautions came at laps 2, the restart of lap 2, lap 8, and lap 21, but Watson was dialed in for the afternoon. Derek Mingo of Lamoine finished second; Franklin’s Greg Pung earned the third spot.

            The Strictly Street race got complicated fast. Brad Norris of Ellsworth earned the win, despite a hard charge from Jordon Pearson of Glenburn. Mechanical problems took Pearson out of the race at lap 21, allowing Norris to maintain the top spot. Although rookie Harry Patterson crossed the line third, the car ahead of him, Wayne Parritt, Jr. of Steuben was on lap down due to a mechanical issue. To further confuse fans, Parritt, although one lap down, was credited with the third place spot, as all over drivers that still remained on the track at that checkered were more then one lap down. 

            The first race for the Full Size Pick-up since moving off the Wacky Wednesday schedule to weekend racing went caution-free. Ernie Wallace, or Big Ern to his fans won both the heat and the qualifier, Dana Harlow of Hampden finished in the second spot, and Peter Drake joined the winner’s circle in third.

            The Sport-Four division was riddle with cautions in both of the heat races and the feature event. Mike Hopkins of Hermon grabbed the win, with Hampden’s David Green in second. Third place honors went to Steve Moulton of Glenburn. Between the heats and the features, there were 12 caution flags flown.

Dysart’s Pro-Limited

Finish  #            Driver                                      Town

1.         33            Josh St. Clair                                   Liberty

2.         14            Dave St. Clair                                   Liberty

3.         10            Glen Curtis, Jr.                     Hudson

4.         19            Duane Seekins                                    Stockton Springs

5.         28            Rowland Robinson, Jr.            Steuben


Super Street

Finish  #            Driver                                      Town

1.         35            Kris Watson                                    Hermon

2.         09            Derek Mingo                         Lamoine

3.         45            Greg Pung                            Franklin

4.         51            Bryan Robbins                       Montville

5.         3            Mike Overlock                      Franklin


Strictly Street

Finish  #            Driver                                      Town

1.         8            Brad Norris                          Ellsworth

2.         88            Harry Patterson                     Stockton Springs

3.         27            Wayne Parritt                          Steuben

4.         88x            Craig Turner                         Montville

5.         37            Jordan Pearson                       Glenburn


Full Size Pick-up Trucks

Finish  #            Driver                                      Town

1.         18            Ernie Wallace                                   Winterport

2.         60            David Harlow                        Hampden

3.         65            Peter Drake                          Holden

4.         06            Jordan Pearson                       Glenburn

5.         5            Jim Carr, Jr.                                   Clifton


Sport Four

Finish  #            Driver                                      Town

1.         50            Mike Hopkins                                  Hermon

2.         16            David Green                          Hampden

3.         77            Steve Moulton                      Glenburn

4.         66            Spencer Garvin                       Belfast

5.         0            Steve Heath                           Brownville


Speedway 95 returns to action on Sunday, April 27th at 2, with the first race in the Dysart’s Pro-Limited Series.