Chuck Colby's patience paid dividends Saturday night in Wiscasset Raceway's top division. The patience wasn't what he did on the track but rather off the track leading up to Saturday night's program sponsored by Hafford's Saloon of Waterville. The third generation racer had been working on a new car leading up the the start of the 2008 season, but rather than rush to get it finished, he waited and filled the time driving a car provided by friend Norm Sherman for the first three weeks. The car was finally ready Saturday evening as Wiscasset brought the action to its first night race of the year. Colby survived a caution filled 50 lap feature for the Clark's Car Crushing Prostocks, losing the lead on two occasions, but battling back to retake the lead on lap 13 and go on to pick up the feature win.

While he has been a multi-time feature winner in his career at Wiscasset, it was Colby's first career Prostock victory at his home track. For the second time in a row the Prostocks struggled to settle into a long green flag run, so Colby was tested on several restarts. Jeremy Whorff of West Bath started back in the 22nd position and took advantage of several cautions through the first half of the race to bring himself into contention. Through the midpoint of the race Whorff settled into a good battle with point leader Randy Turner for 3rd behind Colby and Jeff Burgess. Whorff moved into 2nd following a lap 30 restart and brought his father Bill Whorff Jr with him into the 3rd position. They would hold their spot in line through the final ten laps. For Jeremy Whorff, it was a personal best at Wiscasset. In the 30 lap feature for the Smith Construction Late Model, Harspwell's TJ Watson inherited the lead after the lead pair of Dave St Clair and Steve Reno had a run in on lap 26. Watson, coming off a 3rd place finish in the Coastal 200, held off a late charge by Casey Nash to pick up his first career win at Wiscasset Raceway. Nash would settle for 2nd while Raven's 3rd place finish was a personal best LMS finish. The Unicel / Budwieser Super Street nearly went wire to wire caution free. However, a wreck on the last lap would force the race to finish under caution and checkers. Madison's Nate Weston would start outside R.J. Austin on the front row and then grab the lead from Austin on lap four. From there he would hold off Austin and Jeremy Glasier to post his first win of the year. While Glasier crossed the line for the apparent 3rd place finish, he would loose the trophy in post race inspection. Allen Moeller Sr of Dresden would be awarded the 3rd place finish. Pittston's Shawn Kimball picked up his second feature win of the season in the Aable Autoparts Mini Stock 20 lap feature. Two cautions at the midpoint of the race would bunch up the field and give Dylan Lancaster a couple shots at the leader. Kimball was up to the task and took home his second winner's trophy of 08'. Lancaster's 2nd place finish was his fourth podium finish in four races already. 3-time Mini Stock champ Rob Greenleaf made his first appearance of the season and picked up a nice 3rd place finish for his efforts. Chad Binnette picked up the feature win in the 15 lap feature for the White & Bradstreet Mini Trucks. He took the lead from James Howland on lap three and easily drove the to checkers and the win in his first career start at Wiscasset. Chris Doucette of Sebego shook off some early season tough luck and turned in the runner-up finish. Barry Poulin of Clinton started 6th and finished 3rd. Max Zachem of Preston, CT made it 2 for 2 in the NELCAR Legends 20 lap feature. He took the lead on lap five and ran unchallenged to the win. Charlie Buxton of Windham continued his rapid improvement with a personal best 2nd place run. Veteran Bob Weymouth of Topsham held on for 3rd. Wiscasset Raceway's Keystone Automotive Strictly Streets were not in action as they were taking advantage of a pre-scheduled bye week.
Wiscasset Raceway returns to action for a double header weekend June 14th & 15th. The Saturday evening show starts at 5:00pm and will have action in five weekly racing series divisions. Sunday's program will begin at 2:00pm and will feature the 125 lap Qualifier #2 for the PASS Super Late Models with the winner picking up guaranteed starting position for the August 17th Toyota Tundra 250. Sunday's show will also feature the 50 lap Qualifier #2 for the Keytone Automotive Strictly Streets witht he winner picking up a guranteed starting spot in the 100 lap Street Stock nationals in October. For more information, call the Wiscasset Raceway office at (207) 882-4271 or check the track website at www.wiscassetraceway.info.
1. Chuck Colby – Wiscasset;   2. Jeremey Whorff – West Bath;    3. Bill Whorff Jr – West Bath;    4. Randy Turner – Freedom;   5. Scott Moore – Anson;    6. Bill Penfold – Yarmouth;    7. Ryan Deane – Winterport;    8. Jeff Burgess – E. Madison;    9. Chuck Lachance – Cushing;    10. Matt Lee – Albion;    11. Scott King – Livemore Falls;    12. Dave Farington Jr – Jay;    13. Jim Whorff – Bath;    14. Gene Greene – Manchester;    15. Dale Cullivan – Palermo;    16. Gene Hatch – Winthrop;    17. Dylan Turner – Freedom;    18. John Phippen – Bar Harbor;    19. Ricky Morse – St Albans;    20. Charlie Colby – Newcastle;    21. Bryan Robbins – Montville;    22. Tim Turner – Freedom
1. T.J. Watson – Harpswell;    2. Casey Nash – Richmond;    3. Seth Raven – Waldo;    4. Bill Whorff Jr – West Bath;    5. Adam Chadbourne – Woolwich;    6. Tyler Robbins – Montville;    7. Josh St Clair – Liberty;    8. Jason Witts – Dixmont;    9. Chris Thorne – Sidney;    10. Richard Jordan – Kingfield;    11. Danny Smart – Buxton;     12. Duane Love – West Gardiner;    13. Steve Reno – West Bath;    14. Jerry Robbins – Montville;    15. Scott Pooler – Vassalboro;    16. Daren Ripley – Appleton;    17. Nick Reno – West Bath;    18. Mike Orr – Wiscasset;    19. Frank Moulton – Unity;   20. Nick Hinkley – Wiscasset;    21. Bill Pinkham – Wiscasset;   DQ. Dave St Clair – Liberty
1. Nate Weston – Madison;    2. R.J. Austin – Smithfield;    3. Allen Moeller Sr – Dresden;    4. Mike Landry – Oakland;    5. Josh Bailey – Wiscasset;    6. Shawn Austin – Norridgewock;    7. James Osmond – Gardiner;    8. Bryan Fortin – South China;    9. Ryan St Clair – Liberty;    10. Frank Brown – Pittston;    11. Jason Gaboury – Readfield;     12. Kevin Douglass – Sidney;    13. Zachary Hatch – Winthrop;   DQ. Jeremy Glasier – Appleton
1. Shawn Kimball – Pittston;     2. Dylan Lancaster – Skowhegan;     3. Rob Greenleaf – West Bath;    4. Pete McCollet – Readfield;    5. Mac Hannan Jr – Union;    6. Ken Edgecomb – Readfield;    7. Mike Dulaney – Richmond;    8. Cody Sleepr – Chelsea;    9. Ryan Ripley – Thomaston;    10. Ed Sleeper – Vassalboro;    11. Ryan Hayes – Jefferson;    12. Tim Collins – Farmington;    13. Matt Myshrall – Pittston;    14. Chelsea Young – Winterport;       15. Alex Cromwell – Woolwich;   16. Bruce Orne – n/a;    17. Natasha Dyer – Arrowsic;    18. Scott Theriault – China;   
1. Chad Binnette – Biddeford;     2.Chris Doucette – Sebego;    3. Barry Poulin – Clinton;    4. Jason Giggey – Unity;    5. Don Giggey – Athens;    6. Joe Smith – Augusta;    7. Josh Kauffman – Unity;    8. Vinnie Curro – Biddeford;    9. James Howland – Rye, NH;    10. Kevin Oliver – Gray;    11. Rick Sirois – Norridgewock;    12. James Swan III – Clinton;    13. Peter Bourque – Portsmouth, NH;    14. Josh Harjula – Boothbay;    15. Russ Anderson – Portsmouth, NH;    16. Daren Doucette – n/a;   17. Jessica Norris – Portsmouth, NH
1. Max Zachem – Preston, CT;     2. Charlie Buxton – Windham;    3. Bob Weymouth – Topsham;    4. Ed Getty – Gray;    5. Evan Beaulieu – Durham;    6. Terry Kirk – Durham;    7. Marc Fuschwanz – Vassalboro;     8. Kevin Hutchens – E. Waterboro;     9. Alan Smith – Lincoln;    10. Tyler Jordan – Scarborough

The Racing Forum Index » Maine Race Tracks » Wiscasset Raceway