BARRE, VT – Late Model stock car driver Cris Michaud of Northfield, VT made good on a prediction earlier in the week that he would finally beat Eric Williams for the CARQUEST Vermont Governor’s Cup 100 at Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl in Barre, VT.  The pair traded the lead back and forth during an exciting battle in the middle stages of the race before Michaud was able to take over for good on lap 67.

      “I thought I was dead in the water when (Williams) got by me,” said Michaud, “but I moved up to the outside where I had been running earlier and the car came back to life.  Eric is a good racer and he’s looking for his first championship, and I’d like to get another one.  It was fun racing with him tonight, and I hope we can race each other for the title the rest of the year.”

       Williams, of Hyde Park, VT, was aiming at a record third-straight CARQUEST Vermont Governor’s Cup 100 victory.  Michaud had finished second to Williams both times.

       “It would have been nice to make some history, but you can’t win ‘em all,” said Williams.  “Cris ran a great race, and he gave me a groove to run in, so I gave him a groove.  That’s what it’s all about.”

       John Donahue of Graniteville, VT drove from 13th starting position in the 24-car field to finish in third place.  American-Canadian Tour point leader Scott Payea of Milton, VT made a rare Thunder Road appearance to take fourth place.  Rookie Tony Andrews of Middlebury, VT finished fifth.  Dave Pembroke, rookie Nick Sweet, Chip Grenier, Rick Thompson, Jr., and Phil Scott
completed the unofficial top ten in order.

       Brendan Moodie of North Wolcott, VT made the most of a last-ditch effort to win the NAPA Tiger Sportsman 30-lap event. Moodie used lapped traffic to set up a “pick” move on leader Josh Lovely in the final corner of the race, and nipped Lovely at the line for his third career win.  Lovely and Lance Allen, both of Barre, VT completed the podium finishers.  Shawn Sicard and Brian
Delphia rounded out the top five.        Plainfield, VT driver Jason Corliss earned his first Allen Lumber Street Stock win of the year with a late-race pass of leader Garry Bashaw of Lincoln, VT.  Bashaw held off Graniteville, VT’s Dave LaFleche.  Tim Campbell and Lloyd Blakely finished
fourth and fifth, respectively.

       Travis Hull of Graniteville, VT won the 15-lap Power Shift Online Junkyard Warrior race.  Like Moodie and Corliss, Hull’s victory came with an exciting last-minute pass.  John Prentice, Scott Weston, Kevin Dodge, and Ken Christman completed the unofficial top five in order.

      Thunder Road’s 49th season of stock car racing continues next Thursday, July 3, with the Pepsi Holiday Fireworks Spectacular at 6:30pm.  General admission is $9.50 for adults, $3 for children (6-12), and just $20 for a family of any two adults and two kids.  For more information, call (802) 244-6963 or visit

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS – CARQUEST Vermont Governor’s Cup 100
Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl – Barre, VT
Thursday, June 26, 2008

(# – denotes rookie)


Late Model (100 laps)
1.      Cris Michaud, Northfield
2.      Eric Williams, Hyde Park
3.      John Donahue, Graniteville
4.      Scott Payea, Milton
5.      #Tony Andrews, Middlebury
6.      Dave Pembroke, Middlesex
7.      #Nick Sweet, Barre
8.      Chip Grenier, Graniteville
9.      Rick Thompson, Jr., Derby
10.     Phil Scott, Montpelier
11.     Shawn Fleury, Middlesex
12.     Dave Whitcomb, Essex Junction
13.     Cal Poulin, Braintree
14.     Pete Fecteau, Morrisville
15.     Joe Becker, Jeffersonville
16.     Jamie Fisher, Shelburne
17.     #Matt White, Northfield
18.     Dennis Demers, Shelburne
19.     Trampas Demers, South Burlington
20.     Brooks Clark, Fayston
21.     David Chagnon, Colchester
22.     Mike Bailey, South Barre
23.     Robbie Crouch, Tampa, FL
24.     Gary Caron, Colchester

NAPA Tiger Sportsman (30 laps)
1.      Brendan Moodie, North Wolcott
2.      Josh Lovely, Barre
3.      Lance Allen, Barre
4.      Shawn Sicard, Barre
5.      Brian Delphia, Duxbury
6.      #Mike Ziter, Williamstown
7.      Pete Ainsworth, Middlesex
8.      Matt Potter, Marshfield
9.      Tom Therrien, Hinesburg
10.     Rick Garand, Middlesex

Allen Lumber Street Stocks (25 laps)
1.      Jason Corliss, Plainfield
2.      Garry Bashaw, Lincoln
3.      Dave LaFleche, Graniteville
4.      Tim Campbell, West Topsham
5.      Lloyd Blakely, Barre
6.      David Allen, North Troy
7.      #Mike MacAskill, Williamstown
8.      Erik Steel, Barre
9.      #Bunker Hodgdon, Hardwick
10.     Shawn Powell, Jericho

Power Shift Online Junkyard Warriors (15 laps)
1.      Travis Hull, Graniteville
2.      John Prentice, Northfield
3.      Scott Weston, Berlin
4.      Kevin Dodge, Barre
5.      Ken Christman, Cabot
6.      Chad Brown, Milton
7.      Bryan Nykiel, Berlin
8.      Jamie Davis, Wolcott
9.      Neal Foster, Waterbury
10.     Donny Yates, North Montpelier