OXFORD, Maine – It's been a season of first-time and second-generation winners in the JARRacing Photography Go Kart Series at Oxford Plains Speedway.

Chris Staples Jr. continued that summer-long trend with a wire-to-wire victory Friday evening, his first in the Blue Plate class.
The karts ended a four-week layoff due to weather, a holiday and other regularly scheduled speedway events. That lull didn't break the momentum of Kyle Mooney, who backed up his breakthrough win last time out with another triumph in Box Stock.
Spencer Morse (Gold Plate), Stephen Beattie (Star Champ), Jeff Lillibridge (Unrestricted) and Zachary Rich (Purple Plate) also prevailed in a clean and competitive program.

Staples' dad has carried the checkered flag in three different divisions at Oxford. Chris Jr. led several laps of competition in recent weeks, and he finally claimed the brass ring by holding off Spencer Thompson at the end of a hotly contested, caution-filled race.
Jacob Hendsbee overcame the loss of most of his front end sheet meta l to run third, trailed by champion and current point leader Troy Davis and Avery Spear.
Mooney made his move around Box Stock top gun Brandon Varney with three laps remaining in their dogged battle. Chase Staples claimed the third place trophy, nearly a straightaway in back of the leaders. Ethan Brown withstood the challenge of Ethan Matot for fourth.
Lillibridge led all 20 laps of the Unrestricted finale from the pole position after heat winner Mike Ramsey vacated that spot due to mechanical problems on the pace lap.
Point leader Robbie Wentworth rallied from the rear of the field to second without the benefit of a caution. Kyle Metivier claimed his second third-place trophy of the night, chased to the stripe by Charlie Tyler and Aaron Collomy.
Morse made his way around Josh Brown on the halfway lap, and the reigning Gold Plate champ charged to his third win of the season.
Brown denied Metivier's bid for second, with Brady Smith fourth and David Blackwell fifth at the head of a tight, 10-kart field.
Beattie and Mike Ricker ran side-by-side for the first six laps of their Star Champ match race before defending division king Beattie moved in front. Ricker hovered within two car lengths, but Beattie held the line and registered his sixth straig ht victory.
Rich, who posted his first-ever win on opening night, made his encore presentation by driving around qualifying race winner Dylan Haskell on lap 9 of the Purple Plate encounter.
Evan Armington and Varney exchanged the runner-up spot over the second half of the event, with Varney winning the drag race to the line by inches. Haskell settled for fourth ahead of Owen Poisson.
The JARRacing Go Karts will take another break for TD Banknorth 250 Speedweek Presented by New England Dodge Dealers, returning on Friday, July 25.
OPS roars to life Saturday with Q97.9 Night, with a 15-race card including eight features getting the green flag at 6:30 p.m.

1. Jeff Lillibridge, Fryeburg; 2. Robbie Wentworth, Conway, N.H.; 3. Kyle Metivier, Lisbon; 4. Charlie Tyler, Buxton; 5. Kayla Ashline, Pittston; 6. Tyler Braunschweig, West Newfield; 7. Aaron Collomy, Saco; 8. Dan Pelletier Jr., East Poland.
Lap leaders: Lillibridge 1-20.
Heat winner: Mike Ramsey, Buxton.

STAR CHAMP (20 laps): 1. Stephen Beattie, Conway, N.H.; 2. Mike Ricker, Sebago.
Lap leaders: Beattie 1-20.
Heat winner: Ricker.

GOLD PLATE (20 laps): 1. Spencer Morse, Waterford; 2. Josh Brown, South Paris; 3. Kyle Metivier, Lisbon; 4. Brady Smith, Porter; 5 . David Blackwell, Brunswick; 6. Ryan Phillips, Buxton; 7. Katrina Bright, Wilton; 8. Zach Harmon, Buxton; 9. Anthony Constantino, Sumner; 10. Neil Bernier, Minot.
Lap leaders: Harmon 1, Brown 2-9, Morse 10-20.
Heat winner: Morse.

BLUE PLATE (20 laps): 1. Chris Staples Jr., Brunswick; 2. Spencer Thompson, Oxford; 3. Jacob Hendsbee, Whitefield; 4. Troy Davis, Windham; 5. Avery Spear, Oxford; 6. Brandon Varney, Lewiston; 7. Cody Chiasson, Peru.
Lap leaders: Staples 1-20.
Heat winner: Thompson.

PURPLE PLATE (20 laps): 1. Zachary Rich, Casco; 2. Brandon Varney, Lewiston; 3. Evan Armington, Lovell; 4. Dylan Haskell, West Baldwin; 5. Owen Poisson, Brunswick.
Lap leaders: Haskell 1-8, Rich 9-20.
Heat winner: Haskell.

BOX STOCK (20 laps): 1. Kyle Mooney, New Gloucester; 2. Brandon Varney, Lewiston; 3. Chase Staples, Durham; 4. Ethan Brown, South Paris; 5. Ethan Matot, Casco; 6. Matthew Mason, Groveton, N.H.; 7. Brodie Morse, Waterford.
Lap leaders: Morse 1, Varney 2-16, Mooney 17-20.
Heat winners: Mooney.