Steve Reno of West Bath turned around a couple weeks of tough luck and potential wins that never happened and rebounded to pick up a popular win Saurday night at Wiscasset Raceway. Another large crowd packed into the "Center of Speed" Saturday night for a full card of racing sponsored by Woody's Performance of Topsham, including the return of the Allison Legacy Series. Reno, the 1997 Limited champ at the coastal Maine oval, led the 30 lap feature for the Smith Construction Late Model Sportsman from wire to wire to pick up his first LMS win since 2002.

The previous two weeks Reno had been leading late in the race only to be spun out by another driver each time, snatching defeat from the jaws of victory. This time he would not be denied. He survived the lone caution of the race on lap 8 and then jumped back out to a half straightaway lead and maintained a comfortable advantage on the way to the victory. Reno put on an enthusiastic smokeshow for the fans as he celebrated his victory in his #8 Reno's Excavation / Sate Road Service Center sponsored Chevy. Wiscasset's Bill Pinkham turned in a season best run, starting 3rd and jumping up to 2nd on the lap 8 restart. From there he was the only driver able to keep the leader in sight and he would take the runner-up trophy. T.J. Watson of Harpswell worked the traffic nicely from his 10th starting position and put on a great battle with Will Collins, point leader Adam Chadbourne and outside polesitter Nick Hinkley in the closing laps to secure 3rd. In other action on the program Liberty's Josh St Clair took the lead from polesitter James Osmond on lap 8 of the 25 lap feature for the Unicel Super Streets and went on to pick up the victory. He became the division's 7th different winner in 8 races this season. St Clair survived a pair of midrace cautions and held off the division's top two drivers for the win. Point leader Allan Moeller of Dresden backed up his win from the previous week with a 2nd place finish. Mike Landry of Oakland crossed the line third but had the finish erased after his car failed post race inspection. The 3rd place trophy would go to Shawn Austin of Norridgewock. The 20 lap feature for the Keystone Automotive Strictly Streets went caution free which 6-time champ Maurice Young found to his satisfaction. Young grabbed the lead from the outside pole and drove away to his division high 4th win of the year. His margin of victory was nearly a full straightaway. Previous week's winner Ian Bresnahan of Bath was the only driver able stay with Young. The final five laps of the race featured a great battle between point leader Bobby Mesimer and "Team Big Iron" teammates Dave Brannon and brothers Ed & Steve Pierpont. Brannon moved up the outside lane into 3rd as they completed lap 14 but slipped back to 5th just a lap later. Mesimer would hold his point lead over Young with the hard-fought 3rd place finish. Chris Doucette of Sidney picked up his 2nd feature win if the season in the 15 lap White & Bradstreet Mini Truck race. Jamie Foster crossed the line 2nd but the runner-up trophy would go to James Howland of Rye, NH after Foster's car failed post race inspection. Point leader Jason Giggey of Unity would move up to finish 3rd. The 50 lap feature for the Clark's Car Crushing Prostocks went to Cushing's Chuck Lachance. In the process he became the division's first repeat winner. The race featured several cautions highlighted by an incident between leaders Chuck Colby and Bill Penfold on lap 42. Lachance, who had been running in the top five the entire race, would inherent the lead when Colby retaliated for Penfold taking the lead from him a lap earlier. As the cars went spinning into turn one and two, point leader Randy Turner was collected as well. Lachance went on to secure the victory in his #38 Fuller Automall sponsored ride, holding off a handful of drivers to the checkers. Winterport's Ryan Deane picked up his best Wiscasset finish by taking second. Livemore's Scott King started the race back in 18th and worked his way up toward the front only to be collected in an incident in turn three. With the right side body panels torn from his car he picked his way back into the lead pack and brought the car home in 3rd place, just beating out Charlie Colby and Randy Turner in a tight battle in the final three laps.

    Wiscasset Raceway returns to action with a special Friday night show July 18th at 7:00pm. Pit gates will open at 2:00pm and grandstand gates at 5:00pm. The program will feature racing in 5 weekly racing series divisions including a 75 lap qualifier for the $10,000 to win Super Street / Sportsman nationals in October at Wiscasset. The Friday show is also the next in a series of five races to support Operation Recognition. Any active duty military members including National Guard and Reservist are invited to come to the races with their immediate family free of charge. They are only required to come in uniform and show their military I.D. at the gate. For more information, call the Wiscasset Raceway office at (207) 882-4271 or check the raceway website at www.wiscassetraceway.info.
1. Chuck Lanchance – Cushing;   2. Ryan Deane – Winterport;    3. Scott King – Livemore Falls;    4. Charlie Colby – Edgecomb;    5. Randy Turner – Freedom;    6. Dale Cullivan – Palermo;    7. Bill Whorff Jr – West Bath;    8. John Phippen – Bar Harbor;    9. Tim Turner – Freedom;    10. Jesse Smith – Bangor;   11. Jeremie Whorff – West Bath;    12. Dave Farington Jr – Jay;    13. Richie Morse – St Albans;    14. Dick Byron – Madison;   15. Jeff Burgess – E. Madison;    16. Scott Moore – Anson;    17. Matt Lee – Albion;    18. Bryan Robbins – Montville;    19. Shane Lane – Kingfield;    DQ Bill Penfold – Yarmouth;     DQ Chuck Colby – Wiscasset
1. Steve Reno – West Bath;    2. Bill Pinkham – Wiscasset;    3. TJ Watson – Harpswell;    4. Adam Chadbourne – Woolwich;    5. Will Collins – Appleton;    6. Nick Hinkley – Wiscasset;  7.  Bill Whorff Jr – West Bath;    8. Seth Raven – Waldo;    9. Jason Witts – Dixmont;    10. Chris Thorne – Sidney;    11. Kevin Douglass – Sidney;    12. Ajay Piccard – Palmyra;    13. Josh St Clair – Liberty;    14. Erik Nash – Richmond;  15. Tyler Robbins – Montville;   16. Danny Smart – Buxton    17. Richard Jordan – Kingfield;    18. Scott Pooler – Vassalboro;    19. Duane Love – West Gardiner;    20. Casey Nash – Richmond
1. Josh St Clair – Liberty;   2. Allan Moeller Sr – Dresden;    3. Shawn Austin – Norridgewock;    4. Bryan Fortin – South China;    5. James Osmond – Wiscasset;    6. Josh Bailey – Wiscasset;    7. RJ Austin – Smithfield;    8. Frank Brown – Pittston;    9. Jason Gaboury – Readfield;    10. Kevin Douglass – Sidney;    11. Nate Weston – Madison;   12. Barry Wright – Chelsea;    13. Jeremy Glasier – Appleton;    DQ Mike Landry – Oakland
1. Maurice Young – Windsor;   2. Ian Bresnahan – Bath;    3. Bobby Mesimer – Wiscasset;    4. Ed Pierpont – Jefferson;     5. Dave Brannon – Lisbon;    6. Steve Peirpont – Cushing;    7. Josh Bechard – Jefferson;    8. Jamie Henderson – Litchfield;    9. Matt Stuart – Pittston;     10. Mike St Germain – Auburn;    11. Zack Creamer – Bath;    12. Jeff Merrill – Mexico
1. Chris Doucette – Sebego;    2. James Howland – Rye, NH;    3. Jason Giggey – Unity;    4. Don Giggey – Athens;    5. Russ Anderson – Portsmouth, NH;   6. Josh Kauffman – Unity;    7. James Swan – Clinton;    8. Kevin Oliver – Gray;    9. Rick Sirois – Norridgewock;    10. Jessica Norris – Portsmouth, NH;    11. Josh Harjula – Boothbay;    12. Brandon Crandall – Readfield;    13. Miranda Power – Norridgewock;    14. Mike Anderson – Portsmouth;    15. Peter Bourque – Portsmouth, NH