OTTAWA, ON – Late Model stock car driver Martin Lacombe of Terrebonne, QC won the Toromont CAT 100 at Ottawa’s Capital City Speedway for the Serie ACT Castrol on Saturday night.  The race, delayed for two hours by an unexpected rain shower, was  marred by 22 caution periods and lasted two hours and seventeen minutes.

       Lacombe, who started fifth on the 28-car grid, recovered from a scrape with leader Jean-Francois Dery of Quebec City during a lap 82 restart, then stretched out to a margin of victory of five car lengths over Milton, VT driver Brent Dragon. Dragon’s runner-up finish came in his first-ever Serie ACT Castrol start; he led 77 laps before Dery took over.  Alexandre Gingras of Val-Belair, QC finished third over teenager Brandon Watson of Stayner, ON.  Veteran Claude Leclerc of Lanoraie, QC finished
       Dave Baldwin of Carleton Place, ON and Sean Kennedy of Dunrobin, ON were the top-finishing Capital City Speedway regulars  in sixth and seventh, respectively.  Dery recovered for eighth place.  Polesitter Karl Allard of St-Felicien, QC and Capital City driver Rick Rump of Carp, ON rounded out the unofficial top ten.
       Qualifying heats were won by Allard, Leclerc, Dragon, and Gingras.  Eighteen of the 28 starters were running at the finish        The Serie ACT Castrol is back in action at Autodrome Chaudiere in Vallee-Jonction, QC for the Luminaire Napert 150 on Saturday, August 16.  For more information, call (802) 244-6963 or visit or

Serie ACT Castrol – Capital City Speedway – Ottawa, ON
Saturday, August 09, 2008

(# – denotes rookie)

1.      Martin Lacombe, Terrebonne, QC
2.      Brent Dragon, Milton, VT
3.      Alexandre Gingras, Val-Belair, QC
4.      Brandon Watson, Stayner, ON
5.      Claude Leclerc, Lanoraie, QC
6.      Dave Baldwin, Carleton Place, ON
7.      Sean Kennedy, Dunrobin, ON
8.      Jean-Francois Dery, Quebec, QC
9.      Karl Allard, St-Felicien, QC
10.     Rick Rump, Carp, ON
11.     Stephane Durand, Quebec, QC
12.     Yvon Bedard, St-Nicolas, QC
13.     Ken Baird, North Gower, ON
14.     #Spencer MacPherson, Carleton Place, ON
15.     Jonathan Desbiens, Levis, QC
16.     Tim Kirby, Carleton Place, ON
17.     Kevin Roberge, Levis, QC
18.     Jacques Poulin, East-Broughton, QC
19.     Dany Ouellet, La Pocatiere, QC
20.     #Patrick Hamel, St-Edouard, QC
21.     Daniel Descoste, St-Joseph-du-Lac, QC
22.     Tim Dorning, Snow Road, ON
23.     #Justin Holtom, Ottawa, ON
24.     Larry Jackson, Oakville, ON
25.     Bob Hudon, St-Etienne, QC
26.     Steve Munro, Carp, ON
27.     Stephane Descoste, Oka, QC
28.     Eric St-Gelais, St-Nicolas, QC