By Dan Walker


Scarborough,Maine- What do you get when you have a rain out for 2 consecutive weeks and a pit area full of hungry race car drivers? A crash filled controversy filled night of racing that’s what you get.  Not lost in all of the mayhem was T.J. Brackett winning his first ever Pro Series race at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway.  On Saturday night the Pro Series main event started off with a 3 car crash in the back wall before a single lap could be completed.  Once that was cleared up Steven Jones led the opening laps before yielding to Chris Smith on the third lap.x

Smith opened up a comfortable lead but slicing their way through traffic was Brackett and Bobby Babb.  With Smith well in front Brackett moved to second place on lap 21 and began to chase down Smith.  The caution flag waved on lap 24 setting up the finish of the race.  Brackett went to the front with Babb chasing him as Smith was shuffled to third place.


Brackett had a mirror full of Bobby Babb for the final 16 laps but maintained his composure and took the win.  Babb suffered a mechanical problem on the final turn of the final lap allowing Smith to nip him at the line for second place as Babb had to take third.  Bub Bilodeau and Bill Rodgers were fourth and fifth.


Bradley Babb was the Sport Series winner on Saturday night avoiding several multi car crashes on his way to the win.  Nate Leavitt led early until Babb pulled alongside of him at lap 22 taking over the top position.  Leavitt made several attempts to regain the lead but Babb was strong in taking the win over Leavitt and Corey Bubar who was third.  Frank Wear recovered nicely from an early race crash to finish fourth and point leader sally Gherardi was fifth.


Lyman McKeage survived 6 caution flags to win the Wildcat main event on Saturday night.  Dan Bean led the first 24 laps before it all came apart for him as McKeage took over at that point.  Once in front McKeage was home free in taking the win over Ron Corbeil and Shawn Gilpatrick.  Andy Ayers and Glen Reynolds rounded out the top 5 finishers in the crash filled race.


Dave Cameron was a first time winner in the 20 lap Road Runner feature.  Cameron took the lead at lap 3 and despite a heavy pack of cars on his rear bumper, held off all comers to take the checkered flag.  Ray Dinsmore finished second with Dan Bernier third.  Shawn Brackett and  Marc Sylvan were fourth and fifth