The 50th Anniversary Season at Thunder Road International Speedbowl will continue on Memorial Day weekend when both the ACT Tour and the True Value Modified Racing Series battle the high banks of the Nation’s Site of Excitement.

May 24th will mark the 47th running of the Mekkelsen RV Memorial Day Classic 100. It has become a staple of the Thunder Road season and now the ACT Tour schedule. Winners of this prestigious event include legends such as Bobby Dragon, Dave Dion, Robbie Crouch, and Jean-Paul Cabana, as well as today’s heroes, Phil Scott, Cris Michaud, Brent Dragon, Dave Pembroke and last year’s winner John Donahue among others.

The Mekkelsen RV Memorial Day Classic has truly become a favorite for the hometown fans. A Vermont driver has won the last thirteen Memorial Day events. That streak could come to an end this year with out-of-staters Joey Polewarczyk, Jr. of Hudson, NH, Ricky Rolfe of Albany, ME and Randy Potter of Groveton, NH are all hungry for their first win of the 2009 season.

The action won’t end with the ACT Tour as the True Value Modified Racing Series are back for their second year competing at Thunder Road on Memorial Day weekend. Last year three-time champion Kirk Alexander won in the first return of Modifieds to Thunder Road in over 40 years. 

General admission for the 46th Annual Mekkelsen RV Memorial Day Classic is just $20 for adults, $5 for children (6-12), and only $40 for the “Family Fare” for any two adults and two children. Qualifying for the NAPA Tiger Sportsman, Allen Lumber Street Stocks and the Powershift Junkyard Warriors will begin at 4 p.m. on Saturday. Post time for the ACT Tour and TVMRS on Sunday will be at 1:30 p.m.

For additional information contact the ACT office at 802.244.6963 or