Waterbury, VT – The 2009 American Canadian Tour (ACT) point’s battle is heating up as the Tour prepares for Twin State Speedway this Friday, July 31. The ACT Late Model Tour’s visit to Twin State will be their second in history and the ninth event on the 2009 schedule. ACT’s last trip to the third-mile speedway was in 2004, when Montreal’s Patrick Laperle led 88 of the 100 laps on his way to the win.

The Twin State 100 will be an important event in the 2009 point battle. Scott Payea of Milton, Vermont currently holds a 22 point lead in the ACT Tour Championship Point Standings. Payea has lead throughout the majority of the season using consistency to hold onto his lead. Through the first eight events Payea has finished in the top ten all but once with an incredible five top threes. Although Payea has appeared dominant throughout the 2009 season, five-time ACT Tour champion Brian Hoar of Williston, Vermont has tightened up the point race in the last few weeks. Hoar has made a charge toward the front of the point standings in the last two races with a sixth place finish at Kawartha Speedway and a win in last Saturday’s Beech Ridge 150. 

However, several drivers are within striking distance of the point lead and the fact that so few of the ACT Tour’s current wheelmen have competed at Twin State, puts everyone on a level playing field for the Twin State 100. Looking to take advantage of this opportunity will be Joey Polewarczyk, Jr., Randy Potter, John Donahue, Brent Dragon, and Glen Luce among others.

With the ACT Invitational at New Hampshire Motor Speedway on September 19th closing in quickly many New England Late Model drivers are looking for every opportunity to earn their ticket. This will attract several outlaws to Twin State Speedway this Friday, including Ben Rowe of Turner, Maine and legend Punky Caron from Goshen, New Hampshire. They will have to contend with not only the ACT regulars but also the Twin State Speedway drivers who will be looking to use their home track advantage. Twin State regulars expected to run the Twin State 100 include point leader Guy Caron as well as Marc Palmisano, Chris Riendeau, Luke Hinkley, Dola Holland, and last week’s feature winner Dallas Trombley.
Action at Twin State Speedway is set to begin this Friday, July 31 at 7:00pm.