BARRE, VT – Seven-time American-Canadian Tour Champion Jean-Paul Cyr of Milton wins his first career Times Argus Mid-Season Championship with double points on the line. Cyr took the high side to get around pole sitter Doug Murphy late in the race to take the lead. Cyr would then break away from the field and finish uncontested for the win. Cyr gained the maximum points possible for the night by also winning his heat race earlier in the night.

Montpelier’s Dave Pembroke, who was leading the points going into tonight’s Times Argus Mid-Season Championship, got by Murphy in the final laps to claim second. Murphy held on to finish third followed by Craig Bushey and Senator Phil Scott rounding out the top five. Sixth through tenth were Nick Sweet, Dave Whitcomb, Steve Fisher, Joey Becker and Rich Lowrey.

Kris Grout of Waterbury survived a rough NAPA Tiger Sportsmen feature from his fourth place starting position to capture his fifth career win. Grout was unchallenged by second place finisher Matt Potter. Potter and third place finisher Joey Roberts battled hard in the final laps for second with both drivers crossing the finish line sideways. They were followed closely by Pete Ainsworth and Brendan Moodie to complete the top ten, while James Hebert, Bobby Therrien, Lance Allen, Erik Steel and Joe Steffen finished in the top ten.

The Allen Lumber Street Stocks also had a wild feature with double points on the line. Gary Mullen of Tunbridge was the eventual winner followed by rookie Travis Hull and Mike Martin on the podium. Gary Bashaw and Michael Moore captured top five finishes while Bruce Melendy, David Allen, Tyler Therrien, David Whitcomb and Greg Adams completed the top ten.

Waterbury’s Josh Erwin inherited the feature win in the Power Shift Junkyard Warrior Feature after apparent winner Brian Nykiel was disqualified for too much camber. Kevin Dodge and Donnie Yates moved up to second and third while Lance Donald and Keith Fortier moved into the fourth and fifth positions. Alex Whitcomb, Mark LaFleche, Troy Kingsbury, Kevin Streeter, and Ken Christman completed the top ten.

The 50th Anniversary Season at Thunder Road International Speedbowl will continue next Thursday, July 23 with Casella Waste Management Night. The four regular divisions will be running with a post time of 6:30pm. Both the ACT Tour and the Series ACT Castrol have the weekend off although many are expected to run the Oxford 250 this weekend at Oxford Plains Speedway on Sunday, July 19th. Several Thunder Road Late Model regulars are also expected to take the trip to Maine this weekend.

Unofficial Late Model Feature Results – 1. Jean-Paul Cyr (11vt) Milton, VT, 2. Dave Pembroke (44) Montpelier, VT, 3. Doug Murphy (4) Tunbridge, VT, 4. Craig Bushey (05) Cambridge, VT, 5. Phil Scott (14) Montpelier, VT, 6. Nicholas Sweet (88) Barre, VT, 7. David Whitcomb (25) Essex Jct., VT, 8. Steve Fisher (24) Shelburne, VT, 9. Joe Becker (16) Jeffersonville, VT, 10. Rich Lowrey (8vt) Charlotte, VT, 11. Grant Folsom (81) Waitsfield, VT, 12. Jamie Fisher (18) Shelburne, VT, 13. Matt White (42vt) Northfield, VT, 14. Cris Michaud (6) Northfield, VT, 15. Trampas Demers (85) South Burlington, VT, 16. Reno Gervais (12vt) Island Pond, VT, 17. Kyle Caron (22) Colchester, VT, 18. Eric Chase (40vt) Milton, VT, 19. Brooks Clark (68) Fayston, VT, 20. Jerry Lesage (74) Winooski, VT, 21. Dylan Smith (34) Randolph, VT, 22. Mike Bailey (00) Barre, VT, 23. Cal Poulin (87) Braintree, VT, 24. Tony Andrews (1) Northfield, VT.


Unofficial NAPA Tiger Sportsmen Feature Results – 1. Kris Grout (49) Waterbury, VT, 2. Matt Potter (23) Marshfield, VT, 3. Joey Roberts (50) Georgia, VT, 4. Pete Ainsworth Jr. (80) Middlesex, VT, 5. Brendan Moodie (94) Wolcott, VT, 6. James Hebert (58) Williamstown, VT, 7. Bobby Therrien (4) Hinesburg, VT, 8. Lance Allen (18) Barre, VT, 9. Erik Steel (32) Barre, VT, 10. Joe Steffen (00) Essex Jct., VT, 11. Cody Blake (99) Barre, VT, 12. Derrick O'Donnell (68) Bradford, VT, 13. Tony Rossi (90) Barre, VT, 14. Joel Hodgdon (36) Craftsbury, VT, 15. Jeff French (06) Northfield, VT, 16. George May (16) Barre, VT, 17. Mike Billado (8) Essex, VT, 18. John Lambert (2) Northfield, VT, 19. John Drinkwine (98) Barre, VT, 20. Richard LaFond (84) Colchester, VT, 21. Brian Delphia (55) Waterbury, VT, 22. Joey Laquerre (15) E. Montpelier, VT, 23. Ray Stearns (89) E. Corinth, VT, 24. Ricky Roberts (9) Washington, VT, 25. Tom Therrien (48) Hinesburg, VT, 26. Shawn Fleury (31) Middlesex, VT, 27. Josh Demers (10) Middlesex, VT, 28. Mike Ziter (26) Williamstown, VT.


Unofficial Allen Lumber Street Stocks Feature Top Ten – 1. Gary Mullen (29) Tunbridge, VT, 2. Travis Hull (66) Graniteville, VT, 3. Mike Martin (01) Craftbury Comn,VT, 4. Garry Bashaw (92) Lincoln, VT, 5. Michael Moore (06) East Haven, VT, 6. Bruce Melendy (68) Danville, VT, 7. David Allen (11) North Troy, VT, 8. Tyler Therrien (42) Lyndon, VT, 9. Dave Whitcomb (77) Elmore, VT, 10. Greg Adams Jr. (38) Hardwick, VT.


Unofficial Power Shift Junkyard Warriors Feature Top Ten – 1. Josh Erwin (57) Waterbury, VT, 2. Kevin Dodge (8) Barre, VT, 3. Donny Yates (05) N. Montpelier, VT, 4. Lance Donald (52) Williamstown, VT, 5. Keith Fortier (35) Hinesburg, VT, 6. Alex Whitcomb (78) Montpelier, VT, 7. Mark LaFleche (63) Williamstown, VT, 8. Troy Kingsbury (7) Waitsfield, VT, 9. Kevin Streeter (61) Waitsfield, VT, 10. Ken Christman (4) Cabot, VT.