BARRE, VT – Reno Gervais “The King of the Kingdom” of Island Pond, VT took home his first career Late Model  win in the 50 lap main event during Thunder Road’s 50th Holiday Celebration on Sunday, July 5th. Gervais is a former two –time NAPA Tiger Sportsman champion has returned full-time to Thunder Road for the 50th Anniversary Season.

Gervais held off another former NAPA Tiger Sportsman champion Craig Bushey on the final restart of the race and didn’t look back. Bushey would hold on for second followed by Jamie Fisher, Matt White and Rich Lowrey to round out the top five. Nick Sweet, Cris Michaud, Trampas Demers, Joey Becker, and Dave Pembroke filled out the sixth through tenth positions respectively.

Washington’s Ricky Roberts scored the victory in the NAPA Tiger Sportsman feature from his tenth starting division. Roberts received no pressure from second place finisher Brian Delphia as he won going away. Delphia took over second late in the race and held off third place finisher Jeff Bousquet. Bousquet was chased to the line by Brendan Moodie and Pete Ainsworth rounding out the top 5. Tom Therrien finished sixth followed by his brother Bobby Therrien, Joey Laquerre, rookie Erik Steel, and Tim Potter rounding out the top ten.

The Allen Lumber Street Stock/Power Shift Junkyard Warriors Main Event lacked in the Warrior department as no Warriors qualified for the first time this season. Tim Campbell of West Topsham took home the win followed by David Allen and Ron Gabarre with podium finishes. Bruce Melendy and David Greenslit completed the top five while Vern Woodard, Mike Martin, Lloyd Blakely, David Whitcomb and Greg Adams rounded out the top ten. 

The top three in the Reserve Feature were Lloyd Blakely, Josh Lacourse and current Allen Lumber Street Stock point leader Jason Corliss. All three took advantage of their opportunity to transfer to the Main Event.

No Power Shift Junkyard Warriors managed to qualify for the Main Event so Kevin Streeter of Waitsfield was crowned the highest finishing Warrior with his 7th place finish in the Reserve Feature. He was followed by Donnie Yates and Josh Erwin who finished 8th and 9th respectively in the Reserve.

The “Nation’s Site of Excitement” will be back in action this Thursday night, July 9 for Charter Communications Night. Any kid’s wearing their Scout’s uniform will get in free while adults admission is $9.50, kids ages 6 to 12 without a Scout uniform are $3 and a family of four, two adults and two kids are only $20. Post time will be 6:30pm.

Unofficial Late Model Feature Results – 1. Reno Gervais (12vt) Island Pond, VT, 2. Craig Bushey (05) Cambridge, VT, 3. Jamie Fisher (18) Shelburne, VT, 4. Matt White (42vt) Northfield, VT, 5. Rich Lowrey (8vt) Charlotte, VT, 6. Nicholas Sweet (88) Barre, VT, 7. Cris Michaud (6) Northfield, VT, 8. Trampas Demers (85) South Burlington, VT, 9. Joe Becker (16) Jeffersonville, VT, 10. Dave Pembroke (44) Montpelier, VT, 11. Jean-Paul Cyr (11vt) Milton, VT, 12. Jay Laquerre (50) East Montpelier, VT, 13. Pete Fecteau (75) Morrisville, VT, 14. Grant Folsom (81) Waitsfield, VT, 15. Eric Chase (40vt) Milton, VT, 16. David Whitcomb (25) Essex Jct., VT, 17. Tony Andrews (1) Northfield, VT, 18. Doug Murphy (4) Tunbridge, VT, 19. Jerry Lesage (74) Winooski, VT, 20. Cal Poulin (87) Braintree, VT, 21. Dylan Smith (34) Randolph, VT, 22. Mike Bailey (00) Barre, VT, 23. Brooks Clark (68) Fayston, VT, 24. Phil Scott (14) Montpelier, VT, 25. John Donahue (26vt) Graniteville, VT, 26. Steve Fisher (24) Shelburne, VT.

Unofficial NAPA Tiger Sportsman Feature Results – 1. Ricky Roberts (9) Washington, VT, 2. Brian Delphia (55) Waterbury, VT, 3. Jeff Bousquet (60) Montpelier, VT, 4. Brendan Moodie (94) Wolcott, VT, 5. Pete Ainsworth Jr. (80) Middlesex, VT, 6. Tom Therrien (48) Hinesburg, VT, 7. Bobby Therrien (4) Hinesburg, VT, 8. Joey Laquerre (15) E. Montpelier, VT, 9. #Erik Steel (32) Barre, VT, 10. Tim Potter (28) Plainfield, VT, 11. Mike Ziter (26) Williamstown, VT, 12. David Finck (37) Barre, VT, 13. Lance Allen (18) Barre, VT, 14. Josh Demers (10) Middlesex, VT, 15. Tony Rossi (90) Barre, VT, 16. Joel Hodgdon (36) Craftsbury, VT, 17. Shawn Fleury (31) Middlesex, VT, 18. James Hebert (58) Williamstown, VT, 19. Scott Coburn (1) Barre, VT, 20. Cody Blake (99) Barre, VT, 21. Derrick O'Donnell (68) Bradford, VT, 22. Joe Steffen (00) Essex Jct., VT, 23. Mark Barnier (0) Essex Jct., VT, 24. Steven Quenneville (88) Barre, VT, 25. #Shawn Powell (40) Jericho, VT, 26. John Lambert (2) Northfield, VT, 27. Sean McCarthy (86) Williamstown, VT, 28. Kris Grout (49) Waterbury, VT.

Unofficial Allen Lumber Street Stocks/Power Shift Junkyard Warriors Main Event Results – 1. Timmy Campbell (34ss) W. Topsham, VT, 2. David Allen (11ss) North Troy, VT, 3. Ron Gabaree (9ss) Barre, VT, 4. Bruce Melendy (68ss) Danville, VT, 5. David Greenslit (20ss) Waitsfield, VT, 6. Vern Woodard (73ss) Burlington, VT, 7. Mike Martin (01ss) Craftbury Comn,VT, 8. Lloyd Blakely (30ss) Graniteville, VT, 9. Dave Whitcomb (77ss) Elmore, VT, 10. Greg Adams Jr. (38ss) Hardwick, VT.

Unofficial Allen Lumber Street Stocks/Power Shift Junkyard Warriors Reserve Feature Results – 1. Lloyd Blakely (30ss) Graniteville, VT, 2. Josh LaCourse (82ss) Barre, VT, 3. Jason Corliss (61ss) Danville, VT, 4. Martin Ingram (7ss) Essex Jct., VT, 5. #Justin Gay (16ss) Barre, VT, 6. #Danny Doyle (51ss) Hancock, VT, 7. Kevin Streeter (61jyw) Waitsfield, VT, 8. Donny Yates (05jyw) N. Montpelier, VT, 9. Josh Erwin (57jyw) Waterbury, VT, 10. Jeff Martin (08ss)