Unity, ME — Josh St. Clair of Liberty drove to victory lane twice in one day for the second time this season on a special Saturday afternoon “Wrestling & Racing” card at Unity Raceway, offering up double points in all racing divisions.

St.Clair came from the back of the pack in both the Late Model and Super Street division main events in impressive fashion.

In the Late Model event St.Clair worked his way through the field to take command just past the halfway point in the race, getting by early race leader Frank Moulton of Burnham. Moulton, the current leader in the battle for the 2009 track championship, managed to hold off Palmyra’s Louie Picard, making his first Unity Raceway appearance of the season, for runner-up honors. Picard crossed the line in third position, with the top five filled out by Anson’s Mark Dodge and David Folsom II of Skowhegan.

St.Clair’s Super Street victory saw the third-generation racer chase down Orrington’s John Kalel II to earn his first trip to victory lane on the afternoon. Ed ‘Fubby’ Drake of Vassalboro chased St.Clair throughout the 35-lapper and drove to a second-place finish, his. Donnie York of Thorndike made a late charge pay off with a third-place finish, in front of Kalel and Steve Moulton of Glenburn.

Reigning division champion Carl McAlpine of Burnham led every lap en route to victory lane in the Wildcat class. Ed Sleeper of Vassalboro posted his best finish in the division, moving into second position on the final lap. Chet Hanscom of Benton, who challenged McAlpine’s lead for much of the race, got entangled with a lapped car on the final lap and had to settle for a third-place finish. Chris King of Burnham and Shawn Racila of Dover-Foxcroft rounded out the top five.

Reigning Monsta Mini division champion Mike Wilson of Chelsea cruised to victory in the 25-lap, double-point main event for his division. Mike Dulaney of Richmond tried to make things interesting in the closing laps to earn runner-up honors. Tim Robinson of Clinton ended up with the third-place trophy. Alicia Goodwin of Clinton finished fourth, with the top-five rundown filled out by Jason Forbes of Castle Hill.

Lance Chapman returned after a few weeks off and dominated the Enduro division race on the track. He lapped everyone with the exception of apparent runner-up Travis Dodge. But post-race inspection uncovered rules violations on the two quickest cars, which made Chad Badger of Milo the official winner.

Rain showers forced postponement of features in four racing divisions. The Flyin’ 4 and Ladies divisions will race in double-point features to kick off this Friday night’s (July 31) racing program, while Late Model Pro Four and Teen Thunder division features will be made up on August 7.

This Friday night is also Christmas in July, with a visit from Santa and other kids activities scheduled. Post time is 6:30 p.m. For more information visit unityraceway.info or call (207) 453-2021.

Late Model: 1. Josh St.Clair, Liberty; 2. Frank Moulton, Burnham; 3. Louis Picard, Palmyra; 4. Mark Dodge, Anson; 5. David Folsom, Skowhegan; 6. Deane Smart, Bradley; 7. David Folsom II, Skowhegan; 8. Mike Howlett, Presque Isle; 9. Jeff Willette, Presque Isle; 11. Joey Doyon, Winterport.

Super Street: 1. Josh St.Clar, Liberty; 2. Ed Drake, Vassalboro; 3. Donnie York, Thorndike; 4. John Kalel II, Orington; 5. Steve Moulton, Glenburn; 6. Corey Poulin, Augusta; 7. Steve Rackliff, Starks; 8. Jesse Michaud, Caribou; 9. Bryan Robbins, Montville; 10. Kris Watson, Hermon; 11. Hal Stratton, Belgrade.

Wildcat: 1. Carl McAlpine, Burnham; 2. Ed Sleeper, Vasalboro; 3. Chet Hanscom, Benton; 4. Chris Gray, Burnham; 5. Shawn Racilla, Dover-Foxcroft; 6. Andy Turbovsky, Winslow; 7. Mike Shaw, Troy; 8. Brent Chase, Burnham; 9. Dustin Hubbard, Unity.

Monsta Mini: 1. Mike Wilson, Chelsea; 2. Mike Dulaney, Richmond; 3. Tim Robinson, Clinton; 4. Alicia Goodwin, Clinton; 5. Jason Forbes, Castle Hill.

Enduro winner: Chad Badger, Milo.