OXFORD, Maine – Hey, if you're going to wait until you're 53 years old until posting your first top-division feature victory at your home track, you might as well do it in style.

Tommy Ricker raced into the Oxford Plains Speedway history book with a flair Thursday night, driving around Shawn Martin, Jeff White and Don Wentworth over the final 20 circuits to win a special 60-lap Oxford Networks Late Model event as part of the Agren Appliance Summer Slam triple crown series.

"Patience, patience, patience," Ricker said, referring to both his nearly three full seasons in a Late Model and his measured approach to the added-distance event. "Maybe that's what I've learned being an old man out here."

Ricker, known affectionately as "Two Lap" for the mechanical maladies that seemed to strike him earlier in his career, actually won a combined 15 features in the Charger and Limited Sportsman divisions between 1988 and 2006.

He made the jump to Late Models in '07, posting a handful of second and third-place finishes along with car owner Rudy Kyllonen Jr.

Wentworth led from lap 12 until Ricker made his winning move on lap 50. It took Ricker nearly five full laps to fully close the door on Wentworth and drive away.

"I wish the 60-lapper had been maybe 54 or 55 laps," said Wentworth, who has raced against Ricker off-and-on for 20 years.

White was third, with Martin holding off Adams for fourth.

The Allen's Coffee Flavored Brandy Strictly Stock and Mini Stock divisions also waged their own segments of the Triple 60s, with Skip Tripp and Jimmy Childs scoring the victories.

Reigning Strictly champion and current point leader Tripp posted his fourth victory of the year, landing the lead from Zach Emerson on lap 22 of a caution-free encounter.

"We were great in the last practice," said Tripp. "Then I tried something different in the heat race and we were terrible. So we went back to what we had, and the car was a little tight, but I can't complain because I got the win.

Emerson prevailed in a five-car battle for second, one that broke up when Larry Emerson and Matt Williams tangled late in the event.

Mike Short steered clear to claim third, with Mike St. Germain elevated to fourth and Jon Brill fifth.

Childs picked up his third Mini Stock triumph of the summer in strange fashion, The two-time division champ lost the lead to Adam Polvinen and regained it four different times, with Polvinen appearing to slow down and allow Childs to catch up each time.

Polvinen, who charged from last in the field to the lead in 30 laps, was erased from the finishing order for using unapproved tires.

"It's a little easier starting closer to the front, but with the season I've had, I'll take it," Childs said. "I qualified for the (TD Banknorth) 250 in my Late Model, and it was the best thing that ever happened to me. It showed me how wide this track really is, and I drove this car a lot differently tonight because of it."

Steve Barker held off point leader Justin Karkos in a furious but fun battle for what was ultimately second. Jake Burns and Kevin Bishop rounded out the top five.

The three Championship Series divisions will return to action along with the Acceleration Series Outlaws and Ladies at 6:30 p.m. Saturday. Oxford's annual Summer Celebration includes a giant fireworks display after the races.

OXFORD NETWORKS LATE MODEL (60 laps): 1. Tommy Ricker, Poland; 2. Don Wentworth, Otisfield; 3. Jeff White, Winthrop; 4. Shawn Martin, Turner; 5. Travis Adams, Canton; 6. Corey Morgan, Lewiston; 7. Ben Ashline, Pittston; 8. Tim Brackett, Buckfield; 9. Shawn Knight, South Paris; 10. Kurt Hewins, Leeds; 11. Sam Sessions, South Paris; 12. Nick Brown, Bath; 13. Al Hammond, Paris; 14. Gary Chiasson, Peru; 15. Gerald Parlin, South Paris; 16. Scott Luce, Strong; 17. Billy Childs Jr., Leeds; 18. Ricky Rolfe, Albany Township; 19. Travis Stearns, Auburn.

ALLEN'S COFFEE FLAVORED BRANDY STRICTLY STOCK (60 laps): 1. Skip Tripp, Poland; 2. Zach Emerson, Sabattus; 3. Mike Short, Auburn; 4. Mike St. Germain, Auburn; 5. Jon Brill, Bridgton; 6. Larry Emerson, Durham; 7. Dave Brannon, Lisbon; 8. B.J. Chapman, Bridgton; 9. Sumner Sessions, South Paris; 10. Bob DiPompo, Jay; 11. Derek Farrington, Freeport; 12. Matt Williams, Brownfield; 13. Kim Tripp, Oxford; 14. Nick Hoyt, Mechanic Falls; 15. Rick Spaulding, Lisbon.
ALLEN'S COFFEE FLAVORED BRANDY MINI STOCK (60 laps): 1. Jimmy Childs, Leeds; 2. Steve Barker, Jay; 3. Justin Karkos, Jay; 4. Jake Burns, Gray; 5. Kevin Bishop, South Paris; 6. Darrell Moore, Mechanic Falls; 7. Dan Morris, Auburn; 8. Shane Kaherl, Jay; 9. Jeff Beaule, Lewiston; 10. Greg Watkins, Bridgton; 11. Ken Daigle Jr., Lisbon; 12. Calvin Rose Jr., Turner; 13. Ashley Marshall, Jay; 14. Nik Coates, Lisbon; 15. Matt Moore, South Paris; 16. Dale Brackett, Oxford; 17. Larry Melcher, Livermore Falls. DQ: Adam Polvinen, Oxford.