Barre, VT – Tony Andrews of Northfield captured his third career win in the Late Model stock car division at Thunder Road International Speedbowl. Andrews win on WDEV/Calkins Night featuring “King” Richard Petty is his first since 1992. Andrews started on the outside pole and held off a strong Brooks Clark throughout the race to score the win. Dave Pembroke finished second and unofficial took over the points lead. Cris Michaud came home third followed by Brooks Clark and Phil Scott to complete the top five. John Donahue finished sixth, Mike Bailey seventh, previous point leader Jean-Paul Cyr eighth, Doug Murphy ninth and Trampas Demers rounding out the top ten.

The first caution in the NAPA Tiger Sportsmen feature came with two laps remaining and setup a shootout between rookie Steve “Mudflap” Quenneville of Barre and Josh Demers of Middlesex. Both drivers were fighting for their first career win in the Tiger Sportsmen division. Demers prevailed on the outside for his first career NAPA Tiger Sportsmen win. Quenneville would hold on to finish third after Tom Therrien also got by him on the final lap. Lance Allen and John Drinkwine came home fourth and fifth followed by Joey Laquerre, Tony Rossi, Jeff French, Ricky Roberts and Scott Coburn filling the sixth through tenth positions.
Tommy “Thunder” Smith of Williamstown won his second Allen Lumber Street Stock feature event of the 2009 season with a last lap pass with a photo finish at the line. Smith just edged out Jason Corliss for the win. Coming home third was Bunker Hodgdon. Marcus Farnham and Bruce Melendy took home top five finishes. Sixth through tenth was filled by David LaFleche, Michael MacAskill, Travis Hull, Jason Allen, and point leader Gary Mullen.
Williamstown’s Lance Donald scored his first career win in the Power Shift Junkyard Warrior Feature. He started sixth and fought past Keith Fortier for the win. Fortier would hold onto second followed by Kevin Wheatley, Ken Christman, and Kevin Dodge rounded out the top five. Point leader Donnie Yates came home sixth, Alex Whitcomb seventh, Justin Town eighth, Bryan Nykiel ninth and Cheryl Kingsbury captured a top ten in her first time out.
NAPA Tiger Sportsmen driver James Hebert took home the golden toilet seat with his win in the infamous Porta-Potty Grand Prix. Hebert and crew legged out Late Model driver Jean-Paul Cyr, Power Shift Junkyard Warrior Donnie Yates and Allen Lumber Street Stock competitor Gary Mullen. However, Mullen didn’t go home empty handed as he claimed the golden plunger award for the prettiest potty.
The Allen Lumber Street Stocks and the Power Shift Junkyard Warriors will be back in action this Sunday, August 2 as part of the M&M Beverage Enduro card. The Street Stocks will run a 50 lap special while the Junkyard Warriors will run a two segment Monza style event before the 25th Annual M&M Beverage Enduro 250. This year’s Enduro winner will receive $5,000 as part of Thunder Road International Speedbowl’s 50th Anniversary Season. Post time will be 6:00pm.
The Tiger Sportsmen are also in action this weekend as they visit Canaan Fair Speedway in Canaan, NH on Saturday, August 1 for the second event on the Tiger Sportsmen Tri-State Series. Post time will be at 6:00 pm.
All four Thunder Road stock car divisions will be back in action next Thursday, August 6 for NAPA Auto Parts Night. Along with the four divisions will be a Run-Whatcha-Brung featuring everyday race fans in their everyday vehicles. Post time is set for 6:30pm.
Late Model Unofficial Feature Results – 1. Tony Andrews (1) Northfield, VT, 2. Dave Pembroke (44) Montpelier, VT, 3. Cris Michaud (6) Northfield, VT, 4. Brooks Clark (68) Fayston, VT, 5. Phil Scott (14) Montpelier, VT, 6. John Donahue (26VT) Graniteville, VT, 7. Mike Bailey (00) Barre, VT, 8. Jean-Paul Cyr (11VT) Milton, VT, 9. Doug Murphy (4) Tunbridge, VT, 10. Trampas Demers (85) South Burlington, VT, 11. Jerry Lesage (74) Winooski, VT, 12. Joe Becker (16) Jeffersonville, VT, 13. David Whitcomb (25) Essex Jct., VT, 14. Nicholas Sweet (88) Barre, VT, 15. Matt White (42VT) Northfield, VT, 16. Grant Folsom (81) Waitsfield, VT, 17. Reno Gervais (12VT) Island Pond, VT, 18. Steve Fisher (24) Shelburne, VT, 19. Jamie Fisher (18) Shelburne, VT, 20. Rich Lowrey (8VT) Charlotte, VT, 21. Kyle Caron (22) Colchester, VT, 22. Craig Bushey (05) Cambridge, VT, 23. Eric Chase (40VT) Milton, VT, 24. Dylan Smith (34) Randolph, VT.
NAPA Tiger Sportsmen Unofficial Feature Results – 1. Josh Demers (10) Middlesex, VT, 2. Tom Therrien (48) Hinesburg, VT, 3. Steven Quenneville (88) Barre, VT, 4. Lance Allen (18) Barre, VT, 5. John Drinkwine (98) Barre, VT, 6. Joey Laquerre (15) E. Montpelier, VT, 7. Tony Rossi (90) Barre, VT, 8. Jeff French (06) Northfield, VT, 9. Ricky Roberts (9) Washington, VT, 10. Scott Coburn (1) Barre, VT, 11. Shawn Fleury (31) Middlesex, VT, 12. James Hebert (58) Williamstown, VT, 13. Matt Potter (23) Marshfield, VT, 14. Mike Ziter (26) Williamstown, VT, 15. Tim Potter (28) Plainfield, VT, 16. Cody Blake (99) Barre, VT, 17. Ray Stearns (89) E. Corinth, VT, 18. David Finck (37) Barre, VT, 19. Pete Ainsworth Jr. (80) Middlesex, VT, 20. George May (16) Barre, VT, 21. Brian Delphia (55) Waterbury, VT, 22. Derrick O'Donnell (68) Bradford, VT, 23. Brendan Moodie (94) Wolcott, VT, 24. Joe Steffen (00) Essex Jct., VT, 25. Joey Roberts (50) Georgia, VT, 26. Jeff Bousquet (60) Montpelier, VT, 27. Richard LaFond (84) Colchester, VT, 28. John Lambert (2) Northfield, VT.
Allen Lumber Street Stock Unofficial Top Ten- 1. Tommy Smith (50) Williamstown, VT, 2. Jason Corliss (61) Danville, VT, 3. Bunker Hodgdon (83) Hardwick, VT, 4. Markus Farnham (13) Randolph Ctr, VT, 5. Bruce Melendy (68) Danville, VT, 6. David LaFleche (2) Graniteville, VT, 7. Michael MacAskill (3) Williamstown, VT, 8. #Travis Hull (66) Graniteville, VT, 9. Jason Allen (88) Northfield, VT, 10. Gary Mullen (29) Tunbridge, VT.
Power Shift Junkyard Warriors Unofficial Feature Top Ten – 1. Lance Donald (52) Williamstown, VT, 2. Keith Fortier (35) Hinesburg, VT, 3. Kevin Wheatley (31) Williamstown, VT, 4. Ken Christman (4) Cabot, VT, 5. Kevin Dodge (8) Barre, VT, 6. Donny Yates (05) N. Montpelier, VT, 7. Alex Whitcomb (78) Montpelier, VT, 8. Justin Town (53) E. Barre, VT, 9. Bryan Nykiel (80) Berlin, VT, 10. Cheryl Kingsbury (7) Waitsfield, VT.