Unity Raceway July 3 results:
Josh St.Clair wins twice at Unity

Unity, Maine – Josh St.Clair of Liberty celebrated Independence Day
Eve with a wire-to-wire, 75-lap Late Model feature race victory Friday
night at Unity. The third-generation Liberty racer, and grandson of
multi-time Unity Raceway track champion Dave “Boss Hogg” St.Clair,
also drove to victory lane following the 25-lap main event for the
Super Street division.

In the 75-lap Late Model race St.Clair’s main challenger was veteran
Bar Harbor driver “Big”John Phippen, a longtime rival and friend of
the winner’s grandfather. Phippen stayed close enough to make it a
show, but never seriously challenged the winner. Another
third-generation competitor at the raceway, Freedom’s Dylan Turner,
claimed the third-place trophy, bouncing back from a pair of early
spins. David Folsom of Skowhegan finished fourth, followed by Joe
Allard of Glenburn. Point leader Frank Moulton of Burnham was the
sixth-place finisher after a penalty for intentionally causing a
caution flag period after suffering a flat tire while running in
second position. St.Clair also won the Late Model heat race.

St.Clair’s Super Street victory wasn’t sealed until the final turn on
the final lap after a racelong battle with the division’s point
leader, Kris Watson of Hermon. St.Clair and Watson swapped the lead
several times and spent much of the race side-by side in front of the
field. Watson followed St.Clair under the checkered flag, with Donnie
York of Thorndike third after starting dead last following a pit stop
just prior to the green flag to start the event. York outdueled
Orrington’s John Kalel II in a torrid battle for the final trophy
position. “Hurricane” Hal Stratton of Belgrade rounded out the top
five. Augusta’s Jason Gaboury was the heat race winner.

Jimmy Dennis of Benton scored a wire-to-wire victory in the 20-lap
Late Model Pro Four main event. Dennis held off a fast-closing Ben
Clark of Clinton to earn his trip to victory lane. Corey Walker of New
Vinyard crossed the line in third position, with the top five
completed by Ben Nile and Steve Rackliff. Dennis won the heat race.

The Wildcat division main event featured a three-car contest for
supremacy with Burnham’s Carl McAlpine coming out on top. McAlpine,
honored as Unity Raceway’s Driver of the Month for June prior to the
night’s racing action, had to get past both Andy Turbovsky and Dustin
Hubbard to claim victory, and then survive an extensive post-race
inspection to officially emerge triumphantly from the night’s action.
Winslow’s Turbovsky was the runner-up, with hometown racer Hubbard
third. Ed Sleeper of Vassalboro and Chris Gray of Burnham were the
fourth and fifth-place finishers, respectively. Turbovsky claimed the
checkered flag in the heat race.

Mike Wilson of Chelsea continued to dominate Monsta Mini division
competition with heat and feature race victories. Wilson swapped the
lead early in the main event with Brad Norris, but a spirited, late
charge by Clinton’s Alicia Goodwin was enough to get by Norris on the
final lap and she claimed second position under the checkered flag,
matching her career-best finish in the division.

Shadow Folsom of Skowhegan drove from deep in the starting lineup to
victory lane in the Flyin’ 4 division’s 20-lap feature event. Folsom
made up a lot of ground on the third-mile oval chasing down early race
leaders Cody Sleeper and Markus Lowe, who raced side-by-side in front
of the pack for twelve laps before Folsom found the room he needed to
move on by whiles were dealing with a thick pack of lapped traffic.
Sleeper, of Vassalboro, managed to hang on to second spot until the
finish, with Mike Mason of Skowhegan making a late charge into third
position at the finish. Lowe, of Jackson, finished in fourth position,
followed by Justin Moore of Skowhegan. Folsom also won the  race.

Mika Wilson of Chelsea joined her dad on the list of winners for the
night, claiming victory in the 15-lap Ladies race. The younder Wilson
took the lead away from her mother, Carol Wilson, then outran Shelby
Kimball of Cornville to the checkered flag. Carol Wilson finished
third, ahead of Alicia Goodwin and Kayla Allen. Kimball won the heat

Bradley Bosworth drove from the back of the starting lineup to the
front of the field, winning his third consecutive Teen Thunder
division main event. Lucas Porter and Gage Landry also scored podium
finishes. Bosworth also won the Teen Thunder heat.

Due to an unfavorable forecast for thundershowers and soggy infield
conditions, the fireworks display scheduled for the July 3 racing
program was postponed until Friday, July 10  It will also be Unity
Residents Night at the Raceway, with hometown residents admitted to
the grandstand area at half-price Friday night. Post time for all
weekly Friday night racing programs has been moved to 6:30 p.m., due
to the expansion of heat races to all divisions competing weekly. For
more information visit www.untiyraceway.info or call (207) 453-2021.

Feature race finishes:

Late Model: 1. Josh St.Clair, Liberty; 2. John Phippen, Jr., Bar
Harbor; 3. Dylan Turner, Freedom; 4. David Folsom, Skowhegan; 5. Joe
Allard, Glenburn; 6. Frank Moulton, Burnham; 7. Scott Pooler,
Vassalboro; 8. Mike Lynch, Winterport; 9. Rowland Robinson, Jr.,

Super Street: 1. Josh St.Clair, Liberty; 2. Kris Watson, Hermon; 3.
Donnie York, Thorndike; 4. John Kalel II, Orrington; 5. Hal Stratton,
Belgrade; 6. Jeremy Glasier, Appleton; 7. Steve Rackliff, Starks; 8.
Jason Gaboury, Augusta; 9. Corey Poulin, Augusta; 10. Ryan St.Clair,
Liberty; 11. Dan TRask, Chelsea; 12. Bernie Dinsmore, Hope.

Late Model Pro Four: 1. Jimmy Dennis, Benton; 2. Ben Clark, Clinton;
3. Cory Walker, New Vineyard; 4. Ben Nile, Anson; 5. Steve Rackliff,

Wildcat: 1. Carl McAlpine, Burnham; 2. Andy Turbovsky, Winslow; 3.
Dustin Hubbard, Unity; 4. Ed Sleeper, Vassalboro; 5. Chris Gray,
Burnham; 6. Mike Shaw, Troy; 7. Chet Hanscom, Benton; 8. Tim Hudson,
Windsor; 9. Brent Chase, Burnham.

Monsta Mini: 1. Mike Wilson, Chelsea; 2. Alicia Goodwin, Clinton; 3.
Brad Norris, Ellsworth.

Flyin’ 4: 1. Shadow Folsom, Skowhegan; 2. Cody Sleeper, Vassalboro; 3.
Mike Mason, Skowhegan; 4. Markus Lowe, Jackson; 5. Justin Moore,
Skowhegan; 6. Tim Robinson, Clinton; 7. Kyle Hewins, Leeds; 8. Nick
Lizotte, Sidney; 9. Jordan Hawes, Skowhegan; 10. Merv Greene, Clinton;
11. Chris Williams, Oakland; 12. Tony DeJulio, Ellsworth, 13. Troy
Patterson, Stockton Springs; 14. Jeremy Ludden, Unity.

Ladies: 1. Mika Wilson, Chelsea; 2. Shelby Kimball, Cornville; 3.
Carol Wilson, Chelsea; 4. Alicia Godwin, Clinton; 5. Kayla Allen,

Enduro: 1. Mickey Landry, Anson; 2. Donny Blanchard, Bangor; 3. Henry
Boudreau, Winterport; 4. George Fernald III, Benton; 5. Robert
Paddack, Clinton; James Corson, Benton.