Waterford, CT – Five-time American Canadian Tour Champion Brian Hoar captured his second victory in a row in the Nutmeg State 100 at Waterford Speedbowl on Saturday, August 8. The first 28 laps of the event were run on Saturday, June 13, but the remaining 72 laps were postponed due to rain. Brad Leighton led the way through the first half of the race after taking the lead from his outside pole starting position.

Hoar worked his way through the field from his eleventh starting position to take the lead on lap 55. Hoar and Leighton then swapped the lead, and lots of paint, several times throughout the remainder of the race. The battle between the two continued through the final laps until Leighton tangled with a lap car coming to the white flag. Hoar, who was running on the outside of Leighton, narrowly missed the incident and continued on to complete the race. Leighton ended up in the infield and did not complete the 100th lap.
Randy Potter, who was running fourth when the accident happened, took advantage of the incident and finished second. Potter was followed closely by point leader Scott Payea, John Donahue, and Waterford Speedbowl regular Tim Jordan. Brent Dragon, Joey Doiron, Joey Polewarczyk, Jr., Ron Yumas, Jr., and Tyler Cahoon all avoided the mayhem and came home in the top ten.
Hoar now has 25 career ACT Tour wins and two in the 2009 season. He has already qualified for the ACT Invitational at New Hampshire Motor Speedway on Saturday, September 19, with his win at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway.
The ACT Tour now has a few weeks off before returning to Twin State Speedway in Claremont, NH on Friday, September 4 for the rescheduled Twin State 100. Also coming up is the Chaudiere Showdown 200 at Autodrome Chaudiere in Vallee-Junction, QC on Saturday, August 29. The Showdown is an all-star race between the top eleven drivers in the ACT Tour point standings and the top eleven drivers in the Série ACT Castrol point standings.
Waterford Speedbowl, Waterford, CT
Saturday, August 8, 2009
Pos         Car #      Driver                                                    Laps
1              37           Brian Hoar                                           100
2              02NH     Randy Potter                                     100
3              89           Scott Payea                                        100
4              26VT      John Donahue                                   100
5              47           Tim Jordan                                          100
6              55VT      Brent Dragon                                     100
7              73ME     Joey Doiron                                        100
8              97NH     Joey Polewarczyk, Jr.                     100
9              88           Ron Yumas Jr.                                    100
10           38VT      Tyler Cahoon                                     100
11           9VT        Chip Grenier                                      100
12           51ME     Ricky Rolfe                                          100
13           41           Pete Potvin, III                                  100
14           02MA    Dennis Stampfl                                 100
15           40VT      Eric Chase                                            100
16           18           Jamie Fisher                                       100
17           7ME       Glen Luce                                            99
18           38CT      Joe Curioso                                         99
19           77NH     Mark Hayward                                  99
20           28ME     Rowland Robinson Jr.                     99
21           77MA    James Linardy                                    99
22           55NH     Brad Leighton                                    99
23           16           Howard Payne                                  98
24           82           Mark Hudson                                     76
25           73NH     Joe Tetreault                                     58
26           35           Bruce Thomas Jr.                              42
27           71           Bobby Dragon                                   28
28           2              Allan Coates                                       28
29           42MA    Jeff Zuidema                                      28