Naples, ME 9/29/09– Race fans wanted to see super late model action return to one of the nicest facilities in the state of North Carolina but Mother Nature decided that race teams and fans alike would have to wait an extra day for the Pro All Stars Series (PASS) South Southern National 150. That wait wasn’t near as long as Ben Rowe’s wait to return to victory lane in PASS South competition. So for Ben, the extra day wasn’t a big deal as he came from the back of the pack on the event’s final restart to claim his third PASS South win of 2009.

Jay Fogleman ruled time trials for his first career PASS South Pro Photo Productions fast qualifier award, but the top ten redraw put Preston Peltier on the point. Peltier quickly took the lap one lead and held it until a lap forty-two red flag due to a hard hit in the turn two wall by Chris Bowers. Under the red flag, Peltier’s right front tire went flat on his #5 machine forcing him to the pits for a change.


Georgia’s Justin Wakefield was the benefactor of Peltier’s bad luck and took over the top spot with Rowe right on his tail. It wasn’t long before the bad luck demons would strike Wakefield as well when the brakes went away on his #98 Ford giving the lead to PASS South and National point leader Rowe for the first time. Rowe would eventually give the lead up to Cassius Clark with fifty-five laps remaining. A yellow flag flew on lap 107 for a Dean Clattenburg spin which brought Rowe, who at the time was in third place, to pit road for adjustments.


The final forty-three laps went clean and green playing right into Rowe’s strategy allowing him to slice through the field and capture the win. Clay Jones finished a career high of second followed by Preston Peltier in third who recovered nicely from his flat tire. Cassius Clark kept his National Series hopes alive


Jody Measamer was victorious in the PASS LM Trucks. The win was Measamer’s third of 2009. Michael Cooper and series point leader Grant Davidson raced under the checkers second and third.


Next up for PASS South is the Mason-Dixon Meltdown at South Boston (VA) Speedway on Saturday October 17th. The event will mark the series one and only stop in the state of Virginia in 2009; “The Meltdown” is also the fourth and final round of the 2009 PASS National Championship series. For more information including tickets visit the track’s website at or call 434-572-4947.


For more information including schedules, standings, and results for all PASS sanctioned touring series visit their home on the web at or . For marketing or media questions contact Norm Desjardins at 603-539-3368 or for technical information contact Scott Reed at 207-625-3230.




Official Results PASS South/PASS National Series Round 3 – Southern National 150 – Kenly NC  9/27/2009


1) 4n Ben Rowe  2) 15 Clay Jones 3) 5 Preston Peltier 4) 8 Cassius Clark  5) 20 John Stancill 6) 10 Ryan Blaney 7) 91 Heath Hindman  8) 18 Bradley McCaskill 9) M3 Shelton Mcnair jr 10) 62 Mark Gibson 11) 23 Jimmy Weller 12) 48 John Batten 13) 98 Justin Wakefield 14) 53 Brad Bischoff 15) 39 Dean Clattenburg 16) 48H Brandon Head 17) 4s Jay Fogleman 18) 16 Joey Coulter 19) 79 Chris Bowers 20) 35 Devin Jones