Scott Modery of Hermon prevailed in a wild Late Model feature race topping the card at Unity Raceway Friday night. Modery took the lead away from Winterport’s Joey Doyon, then survived several restarts, mostly up against eventual runner-up Ajay Picard of Palmyra.. Dylan Turner of Freedom bounced back from early troubles to claim the third-place trophy. Point leader Frank Moulton of Burnham was fourth under the checkered flag, followed by Chris Doucette of Casco.


Donnie York of Thorndike had been oh so close to winning a Super Street division main event all season long, especially on the previous week’s racing card when he lost the lead to Holden’s Steve Moulton just a few feet from the checkered flag. Friday night York held off a fast-closing Moulton to earn that trip to victory lane. Moulton was the runner-up in the 25-lapper, held over from a partially rained our racing program earlier in the season. Point leader Kris Watson of Hermon was third across the line, followed by John Kalel II of Orrington and Steve Rackliff of Starks.


Watson romped to an easy victory in the regularly-scheduled Super Street feature.  Moulton was again the runner-up, with York following his victory up with a third-place run. Ed ‘Fubby’ Drake of Vassalboro and Brian Fortin  of China rounded out the top five.


Andy Turbovsky of Winslow outgunned point leader Carl McAlpine of Burnham on a 32nd-lap restart and held on to the top spot for the rest of the special, 50-lap Wildcat division feature race. McAlpine helped his championship quest with a runner-up finish, with third-place hardware earned by reigning division champion Dustin Hubbard of Unity. Luke Rickards of Anson and Brent Chase of Burnham were fourth and fifth in the finishing order.


Steve Rackliff of Starks powered past early race leader Bryan Lancaster of Skowhegan and drove to victory lane following the Late Model Pro Four feature race. Corey Walker of Augusta chased Rackliff in the closing laps but had to settle for runner-up honors. Greg Cummings of China finished third, with Lancaster hanging on for a fourth-place finish in front of Oakland’s Reggie Bickford.


Bob Grady of Pittston led wire-to-wire to score his second win of the season in the Monsta Mini class. Behind him, top-five positions were changing on every lap and as the checkered flag flew Dylan Lancaster of Skowhegan was the best of the rest, with Kyle Gallant of Veazie finishing in third position.Rick Grant of LaGrange and Zach Audet of New Sharon rounded out the top five.


Mike Mason of Skowhegan held on to win the Flyin’ 4 division feature over a fast-closing Pete McCollett of Readfield. Chris Williams of Oakland, in his most impressive run of the season, claimed the third-place trophy. Thomas True of Wiscasset finished fourth in his first Unity Raceway appearance of the season, with the top-five filled out by Winterport’s Chelsea Young.


Molly Feeney of Hope added to her division-leading total of victories in the Ladies division main event. Winterport’s Chelsea Young was closing in on Feeney, but ran out of time and had to settle for second at the finish line. Point leader Shelby Kimball of Cornville was third under the checkered flag, with the top-five rundown completed by Becky Elston of Carmel and Kayla Allen of Bucksport.


Bradley Bosworth of Cornville led from flag-to-flag to earn top honors in the Teen Thunder division. Daymon Dodge of Troy claimed runner-up honors, with third-place laurels earned by 2009 division champion Brooke Getchell of Pittsfield. Jayson Bosworth of Cornville finished in fourth position, followed by Kayla Chesley of Skowhegan.


Nicholas Landry of Anson outran Chris Burbelo of Frankfort and Jason Dow to win the Enduro race. Alex Fernald led several laps in that race before mechanical difficulties sideline his ride.


Friday, September 18 at Unity Raceway hosts another NWA On Fire Wrestling &racing program, with feature racing in all divisions plus a full card of professional wrestling making up the show. The action kicks off at 6:30 p.m.


Unity Raceway is located on Route 139 in Unity, Maine. For ore information call (207) 453-2021 or visit


Late Model: 1. Scott Modery, Hermon; 2. Ajay Picard, Palmyra; 3. Dylan Turner, Freedom; 4. Frank Moulton, Burnham; 5. Chris Doucette, Casco; 6. Jeff Clewey, Winterport; 7. Joey Doyon, Winterport; 8. Josh St. Clair, Liberty; 9. Louie Picard, Palmyra; 10. Glenn Curtis, Hudson; 11. Ed Gilblair, Skowhegan; 12. Darren Doucette, Sidney.


Super Street (make-up): 1. Donnie York, Thorndike; 2. Steve Moulton, Holden; 3. Kris Watson, Hermon; 4. John Kalel II, Orrington; 5. Steve Rackliff, Starks; 6. Bob Fortier, Winslow; 7. Matt Abbott, Waldo; 8. Sonny Robinson, Clinton.


Super Street: 1. Kris Watson, Hermon; 2. Steve Moulton, Holden; 3. Donnie York, Thorndike; 4. Ed Drake, Vassalboro; 5. Brian Fortin, China; 6. Steve Rackliff, Starks; 7. Sonny Robinson, Clinton; 8. John Kalel II, Orrington; 9. Bob Fortier, Winslow; 10. Matt Abbott, Waldo.


Wildcat (50 laps): 1. Andy Turbovsky, Wilslow; 2. Carl McAlpine, Burnham; 3. Dustin Hubbard, Unity; 4. Luke Rickards, Anson; 5. Brent Chase, Burnham; 6. Ed Sleeper, Vassalboro; 7. Chris King, Burnham; 8. Jason Alton, Burnham; 9. Mike Hodgkins, Jefferson; 10. Mike Shaw, Troy.


Late Model Pro Four: 1. Steve Rackliff, Starks; 2. Corey Walker, Augusta; 3. Greg Cummings, China; 4. Bryan Lancaster, Skowhegan; 5. Reggie Bickford, Oakland; 6. Norm Cummings, Jr., Augusta; 7. Shane Smith, Augusta; 8. Scott Mason, Bingham; 9. Jimmy Dennis, Benton; 10. Jonathan Smith, Sidney; 11. Willy Rood, Albion; 12. Ben Clark, Clinton; DNS Jamie Fosetr, Benton.


Montsa Mini: 1. Bob Grady, Pittston; 2. Dylan Lancaster, Skowhegan; 3. Kyle Gallant, Veazie; 4. Rick Grant, LaGrange; 5. Zach Audet, New Sharon; 6. Mike Wilson, Chelsea; 7. Alica Goodwin, Clinton; 8. Dom Bailey, Benton; 9. Lewis Batchelder, Dixmont.


Flyin’ 4: 1. Mike ason, Skowhegan; 2. Pete McCollett, Readfield; 3. Chris Williams, Oakland; 4. Thomas True, Wiscasset; 5. Chelsea Young, Winterport; 6. Zach Audet, New Sharon; 7. Natasha Dyer, Arrowsic; 8. Nick Lizotte, Sidney; 9. Jordan Hawes, Skowhegan; 10. Jeremy Ludden, Unity; 11. Merv Greene, Clinton; 12. Tony DeJulio, Ellsworth; 13. Mickey Landry, Anson; 14. Bob Grady, Pittston.


Ladies: 1. Molly Feeney, Hope; 2. Chelsea Young, Winterport; 3. Shelby Kimball, Cornville; 4. Becky Elston, Carmel; 5. Kayla Allen, Bucksport; 6. Mika Wilson, Chelsea; 7. Alica Goodwin, Clinton; 8. Carol Wilson, Chelsea.


Teen Thunder: 1. Bradley Bosworth, Cornville; 2. Daymon Dodge, Troy; 3. Brooke Getchell, Pittsfield; 4. Jayson Bosworth, Cornville; 5. Kayla Chesley, Skowhegan; 6. Eddie Gilblair, Skowhegan; 7. Ryan Modery, Hermon; DNS. Matt Kimball, Cornville.