Naples ME (10/11/09)   Pro All Stars Series race teams, officials and fans gathered in Westbrook Maine Saturday night for the ninth annual PASS Banquet of Champions. Series president Tom Mayberry opened the evening by thanking all of the competitors for racing with PASS in 2009, especially given the challenges of our current economy.   Although the 2010 PASS North Super Late Model schedule is about two weeks away, Mayberry did touch upon the upcoming season, including the January 29-30 PASS Florida Winterfest hosted by New Smyrna Speedway.

The President’s awards were up next and the most improved driver awards went to Derek Ramstrom (Super Late Model) and Scott McDaniel (PASS Mod). The award that no one hopes to receive came next. Hard Luck drivers for 2009 were Adam Bates (Super Late Model), Dan Somes (PASS Mod) and Dan McKeage (PASS Sportsman).  Northern Race Tires Rookie of the Year accolades were collected by Nick Ribbe (Super Late Model), Scott Grant (PASS Mod) and Clyde Hennessey (PASS Sportsman).

Master of Ceremonies Mark Thomas and Michael Mayberry distributed the hardware to the top ten in each series. Carey Martin made it official, claiming the 2009 PASS Sportsman Champion’s spoils. Scott Grant came out on top in the PASS Mod series where he earned both the championship and rookie of the year. 

2009 PASS National Champion Ben Rowe and the Richard Moody team were recognized for their accomplishments, and 2009 PASS Super Late Model Champion Johnny Clark closed out the awards presentation, making his fourth walk to the podium as Champion in the series premier division. Clark’s team received championship jackets and travel bags from Northern Race Tire and Superior Image Embroidery.

Keep up with all the off season news as the Pro All Stars Series prepares to celebrate its tenth season by clicking on or  .