Waterbury, VT – The American Canadian Tour (ACT) has announced that the total point fund awards for the 2009 season will total over $85,000. The annual Banquet of Champions will be held at the Sheraton Hotel and Conference Center in So. Burlington, VT on January 16, 2010.

The ACT TOUR will honor the 2009 Championship team of Brian Hoar and owner/crew chief Rick Paya, who also owns RPM Engines in Georgia, VT. Hoar will celebrate his sixth American Canadian Tour title, and car owner, Rick Paya, will also celebrate his sixth ACT title, having won previous titles as crew chief and then owner of the only seven-time ACT winner in its 25-year history, Jean-Paul Cyr. The RPM team will receive $10,000 first place point money at the annual festivities for their efforts during the 2009 thirteen (13) race campaign.

“This past year was a whole lot of fun for RPM racing. We kind of struggled at the beginning of the season, but most of that was trying to figure out what each of us (Hoar and Paya) needed to be successful,” said Rick Paya. “Working with Brian was great, especially after we got things sorted out over the initial few weeks. We kind of entered the deal hoping to get immediate results, but I think our team is better off having to go through the learning curve we experienced. We really are excited about being together for next season, and winning the 25th anniversary title of ACT would be pretty meaningful for Brian and our entire team,” concluded Paya. Both Paya and Hoar have been supporters of the ACT Late Model program since its inception in 1992.

The Thunder Road “King of the Road” title chase was another blending of veteran teams. Ironically, Jean Cyr, who won all those championships with Paya, joined the most storied crew chief of the decade at Thunder Road, Jeff Laquerre, from Barre, VT. Laquerre and his veteran father, Joey Laquerre put together a new team with the sole purpose of winning the 50th anniversary title at Thunder Road. Jeff Laquerre led the Tracie Bellerose championship chase in 2000. She was the first female to win a major division title. Laquerre followed that up with Thunder Road titles for Cris Michaud in 2004 and 2005. The Laquerre-Cyr team took a few weeks to get things sorted out, but in the end they held off Michaud, Phil Scott and David Pembroke to win the coveted 2009 title. The team will receive $5,000 in point fund money for the championship win. Total money awarded to the Thunder Road competitors in three divisions will exceed $20,000.

Previously, in November, 2009, the ACT Castrol Series awarded over $30,000 in point fund money to those that competed in the 2009 nine (9) ACT Castrol Série.

The Banquet of Champions will award trophies, prize money, and special awards to an expected crowd of 500 teams and fans. Announcements regarding the 25th anniversary season of the American Canadian Tour, along with the prestigious awarding of the annual MacTavish Award, Doc Nielsen Award, and many other special recognitions will highlight the evening’s activities. Tickets are still available by calling the ACT office at 802-244-6963.

The 2010 ACT and Thunder Road seasons will offer Late Model teams in the region over $800,000 in various purse and prizes beginning with the opening event at Lee USA Speedway in Lee, NH on Sunday, April 18th, the New Hampshire Governor’s Cup 150.