Boron, Eggen split Pro finals in Loudon for Rock Maple Racing snocross series

LOUDON, N.H. (Feb. 22, 2010) – Multi-time snowmobile racing champion Jason Boron and Norwegian veteran Stale Eggen (pronounced Sto-lay Egan) claimed final round wins in the Pro division as Rock Maple Racing (RMR) completed a non-points event Sunday in the inaugural Sno Bowl at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

Boron (D&Z Racing/Ski-doo), of Leverett, Mass., jumped out to an early lead in Pro Stock and was never challenged. Swedish athlete Ulf Lif (Team Southside/Polaris) rode a smart race and came home second, while Tim Randall was third. In Pro Open, Boron got the holeshot and checked out on the field once again. Yet with just two laps remaining, Eggen slipped by and held off the famed “Iron Man” to take the win. Boron settled for second, while Randall capped a stellar weekend with another third-place run.

Maine-based rider Jason Soucy had a strong outing in Loudon, holding off Gene Robinson for top honors in the Plus 35 Masters final. Steffanie Lemieux carried the momentum she built the previous weekend into another Pro Women victory, with weekly rivals KC Anderson and Martha Wells filling out the podium.

In Sport division action at Loudon, Aaron Adams and Whitney Covill were on top of their game. Adams, of Avon, Maine, out-gunned Covill and Jared Catlin to claim Saturday’s Super Stock final. Covill, of Pittsburg, NH, bounced back to claim Sunday’s final while Catlin and Adams settled for second and third respectively.

Along with the usual classes for riders of all ages and ability levels, RMR also hosted New England’s first-ever Adaptive Snocross races in Loudon. On Saturday, the four previously profiled drivers (Ryan Begin, Jim Crumb, Dave Dillabough and Richard Curtis) were joined by two RMR regulars who are coming off major spinal injuries.

Robert Graeber, of Willow, AK, sustained severe injuries two years ago while making his debut in the Pro division. Michaela Lemieux, of Bennington, VT, had a bad accident the same season but is attempting to fight her way back into contention.

While Graeber isn’t nearly as fast as he was prior to his crash, his skills carried him to victory in Saturday’s Adaptive final. Lemieux stayed on the throttle and came home second, while Dillabough wound up third. On Sunday, Graeber prevailed once again with Lemieux and Curtis filling out the podium. RMR is proud to have provided a safe place to race for these highly-determined individuals. Their drive to compete and succeed should be inspiring to us all.

Other final round winners over the weekend in Loudon include Cameron Drouin (Sport Stock 600 Saturday, Sport 500 Sunday); Jarett Catlin (Sport Stock 600 Sunday); Martha Wells (Women Stock 600 Sunday); David Camara (Jr. 8-10 300 Freestyle Sunday); Glynn Desilva (Plus 25 Stock Sat.); Lyle Turtlott (Plus 25 Stock Sun.); Jeff Whiton (Trail 600 Sat.); and Jared White (Trail 600 Sunday).

Rock Maple Racing would like to thank Jerry Gappens and the entire staff at New Hampshire Motor Speedway for hosting the inaugural Sno Bowl. As New England’s largest sporting facility and home to NASCAR stars twice each year, it was an honor to race there.

For full results in all classes from the Sno Bowl or to learn more about RMR, go to