Mike Rowe didn’t look like a winner during qualifying for Saturdays’ Pro All Stars Series (PASS) North season opener at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway. Rowe started the 150 lap super late model feature in the 28th position but the defending Pro Series Champion at the immaculate Scarborough Maine oval picked his way through the field to put his PT Watts Chevrolet on race leader Trevor Sanborn’s back bumper at the half way mark..


Sanborn held Rowe at bay for nearly 50 laps, but the Maine motorsports legend found an opening under Sanborn on lap 120 and led the final 30 laps to capture his sixteenth PASS North Super Late Model feature and two in a row at Beech Ridge. Rowe’s margin of victory was .526 seconds


Adam Bates was back in eighteenth at the start but the Warner New Hampshire racer and his team displayed their Beech Ridge mastery once again by finishing second. Bates looked like he might be able to challenge Rowe for the victory but the checkered flag flew before Bates had a chance to show his stuff. Ben Rowe’s PASS North debut with Mulkern Racing was a successful one with a solid third place run and Joey Doiron got his PASS North Rookie campaign off on the right foot, finishing fourth. Sanborn came home a disappointed fifth after leading the most laps.

Defending PASS North champ Johnny Clark was sixth, followed by Brad Leighton, Beech Ridge regular Aaron Ricker, Richie Dearborn and Maritime racer Shaun Turple in seventh through tenth.

39 cars attempted to qualify for the 31 car starting field. Just four yellow flags slowed the pace; Sanborn recorder the fastest lap, a 15.512 (77.282 mph)

Heat race wins were recorded by Trevor Sanborn, Aaron Ricker, Kelly Moore and Ben Rowe. Nick Ribbe and D.J. Shaw checkered the two last chance qualifiers.

Race number two of the PASS North 2010 super late model schedule is set for Saturday May 22nd at North Woodstock New Hampshire’s White Mountain Motorsports Park. The PASS super late models will bring their own special brand of thunder to the mountains at the lightning fast quarter mile White Mountain’s five weekly racing divisions will join PASS for the speedway’s opening day. The action gets underway at 5:00 PM.

Recap the weekends’ events Monday night at 7:00 PM on “Inside PASS”, the fastest internet radio show on the web. Click on pitrowradio.com for all the latest racing reviews and news.

The Pro All Stars Series is on line at www.proallstarsseries.com .

Unofficial Results – PASS North super late model 150 – Beech Ridge Motor Speedway – Scarborough ME – 5/1/2010

1) 2 Mike Rowe, Turner ME 2) 98 Adam Bates, Warner, NH 3) 48 Ben Rowe, Turner ME 4) 73 Joey Doiron, Berwick ME 5) 29 Trevor Sanborn, E Parsonfield ME 6) 54 John Clark, Hallowell ME 7) 55 Brad Leighton, Ctr Harbor NH 8) 22R Aaron Ricker, Tamworth, NH 9) 33 Richie Dearborn, Hollis ME 10) 0x Shaun Turple, Truro N.S. CA. 11) 10 Scott Dragon, Milton VT 12) 14m Matt Frahm, N Salem, NH 13) 77 Chuck Chubbuck, Dresden ME 14) 8 Cassius Clark, Farmington ME 15) 17 Travis Bemjamin, Morrill ME 16) 12 Austin Theriault, Ft Fairfield, ME 17) 47 Kelly Moore, Scarborough ME 18) 7 Donnie Whitten, Wells, ME 19) 1 Randy Turner, Unity, ME 20) 84 Scott Mulkern, Falmouth ME 21) 87 Chuck Colby, Newcastle ME 22) 85 Nick Ribbe, Kingston, MA 23) 60 DJ Shaw, Ctr Conway NH 24) 75 Gary Smith, Bangor ME 25) 99 Craig Slaunwhite, Halifax N.S. CA 26) 35Derek Ramstrom, W Boylston MA 27) 0 Billy Whorff Jr, Topsham 28) 28 Andy Shaw Ctr. Conway NH 29) 17A Scott Alexander, Orrington, ME 30) 71 Gary Drew, Gorham ME 31) 9 Bub Bilodeau Standish ME