St-Eustache, QC – Patrick Laperle of St-Denis, QC won the season opening Série ACT Castrol event at Autodrome St-Eustache. Laperle worked his way to the front after starting in the 19th position and took the lead from Jonathan Urlin on lap 39. The two swapped the lead once more before Laperle took over for good on lap 43.


Pete Vanderwyst of St. Thomas, QC took second with St-Felicien, QC’s Karl Allard third. 2009 Série Castrol Champion Donald Theetge finished 4th and Urlin rounded out the top five. Sylvain Lacombe, Jean-François Déry, Martin Lacombe, Jonathan Desbiens, and Gaitan Lauzier completed the top ten.

The 100 lap event was completed in just over an hour and a half and was slowed by eight cautions. Seven cars finished on the lead lap with 21 of the 30 starters on the track for the checkers.

Laperle becomes the third qualifier for the ACT Invitational at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. He joins Barre, VT’s Nick Sweet and Rowley, MA’s Eddie MacDonald as qualifiers for the Saturday, September 18th event. In 2009’s Inaugural ACT Invitational Laperle finished fourth while MacDonald won and Sweet finished second.

The Série ACT Castrol will be back in action next Saturday, May 29 for a 100 lap event at Autodrome Montmagny in Montmagny, QC.

Unofficial Results
Autodrome St-Eustache
Saturday, May 22, 2010
Pos      Car #   Driver  Laps

1          91QC   Patrick Laperle            100

2          7ON     Pete Vanderwyst         100

3          48QC   Karl Allard                   100

4          80QC   Donald Theetge          100

5          4ON     Jonathan Urlin             100

6          3QC     Sylvain Lacombe         100

7          21QC   Jean-François Déry     100

8          03QC   Martin Lacombe         99

9          92QC   Jonathan Desbiens      99

10        74QC   Gaitan Lauzier             99

11        84QC   Martin Latulippe         99

12        40QC   David Michaud            99

13        5QC     Patrick Cliche              99

14        51QC   Patrick Hamel             98

15        11QC   Claude Leclerc            98

16        95QC   #Jimmy Cormier         98

17        19QC   Dany Trépanier           97

18        97QC   Jacques Poulin             96

19        15QC   Christopher Bedard    93

20        9QC     Yvon Bédard                92

21        2QC     Daniel Descoste          89

22        41QC   Jonathan Bouvrette     52

23        25QC   Steve Cote                   47

24        10QC   Stephane Descoste      46

25        61ON   Jason Hathaway          43

26        26QC   Valerie Chiasson         42

27        16QC   Kevin Roberge             42

28        6QC     Pierre Gratton             37

29        36QC   Alex Labbé                  6

30        60QC   Jr. Collard                    6