West Haven, VT – Montpelier’s Dave Pembroke took the win in the Thunder Road Late Models 100 lap event at the freshly paved Devils Bowl Speedway in West Haven, VT on Sunday, May 23. Pembroke battled side-by-side with hometown favorite Mike Bruno of Rutland, VT for the majority of the race, which was the season opener for Devils Bowl and also the opening event in the Thunder Road Late Models 2010 championship campaign.

Pembroke took the lead on lap 14 after starting in the 3rd position before swapping the lead with Bruno, who started 7th for the remainder of the event. Pembroke broke away from Bruno several times while working through lap traffic but Bruno reeled him in each time, but didn’t have enough to complete the pass. Pembroke and Bruno were followed to the line by pole-sitter Tracie Bellerose, Brent Dragon and Joey Becker completing the top five. Senator Phil Scott, Nick Sweet, Mike Bailey, Tony Andrews, and rookie Chris Riendeau rounded out the top ten.

The 100 lap event was slowed by six cautions including a red flag for a Grant Folsom flip on the front stretch. The race was completed in just over 1 hour, 12 minutes. Sixteen of the twenty-six starters were on the track for the checkered flag.

Pembroke will look to repeat his 2009 Mekkelsen RV Memorial Day Classic win next Sunday, May 30 when the Thunder Road Late Models are back in action on the highbanks of Thunder Road International Speedbowl in Barre, VT. The Late Models will be joined by Thunder Road’s three support divisions and the Modified Racing Series. Both the Late Models and the Modifieds will be running 100 lap events. Post time is 1:30pm.

Unofficial Results
Thunder Road Late Models
Devils Bowl Speedway
Sunday, May 23, 2010
Pos     Car #  Driver                        Laps

1          44VT  Dave Pembroke      100

2          72ON Mike Bruno              100

3          2NH    Tracie Bellerose      100

4          55VT  Brent Dragon          100

5          16VT  Joey Becker              100

6          14VT  Phil Scott                  100

7          88VT  Nick Sweet               100

8          00VT  Mike Bailey              100

9          1VT     Tony Andrews         100

10       4NH    #Chris Riendeau     100

11       99VT  Jeff Zuidema            99

12       18VT  Jamie Fisher             99

13       26VT  John Donahue         99

14       34VT  Dylan Smith             99

15       42VT  Matt White              99

16       25VT  David Whitcomb    99

17       24VT  Steve Fisher             55

18       81VT  Grant Folsom          55

19       15VT  Joey Laquerre         47

20       8VT     Richard Lowrey      33

21       40VT  Jean-Paul Cyr          33

22       4VT     Doug Murphy         33

23       12VT  Reno Gervais           33

24       49VT  Nate Brown             33

25       74VT  Jerry Lesage             15

26       68VT  Brooks Clark            2