Trevor Sanborn wires field to win Beech Ridge Motor Speedway opener.

Scarborough,Maine- Returning to full time competition for 2010, Trevor Sanborn wasted little time getting acquainted with his old stomping grounds. In fact Sanborn enjoyed victory lane so much in the past that he used the first night of NASCAR Whelan All American Series racing to pay a visit to the winners circle. Sanborn bolted from the outside pole position to lead the opening laps with Dan McKeage and Brad Babb following along. A four car battle for fourth position was shaping up with combatants

Jeremie Whorff, Bub Bilodeau, Aaron Ricker, Dave Oliver and Mike Rowe. Sanborn meanwhile was cruising along until the only caution flag of the race slowed him down on lap 28. The field grouped up for the restart to see if anybody had anything to challenge Sanborn for the lead with. Sanborn blasted back to the lead leaving McKeage and Jeremie Whorff battling for second and third and another cluster of cars behind them. Sanborn cruised in for the win with Whorff second and Dave Oliver third. Dan McKeage was fourth and Mike Rowe fifth in the 22 car starting field. Reigning Sport Series champion Russ Morse picked up where he left off as winner of the 35 lap feature race. Morse led the 30 car grid to the green flag leading the early laps despite a challenge from Justin Cusack. Morse had to survive 2 early race caution flags with Cusack and Ben Tinker both taking runs at the lead. Things settled down at the mid point of the race and a great 6 car battle at the front was shaping up. Morse had his hands full as he led but Tinker had the inside line. One row back Chris Smith and Jason Larrabee were side by side followed by Don Colpritt and Cusack. Morse was able to hold them all off for the win with Tinker finishing second and Larrabee third. Smith and Colpritt were fourth and fifth. Chris Warming made a triumphant return to the Wildcat wars for this season and won the opening 30 lap main event. Cole Watson paced the 29 car starting grid to the green flag and stayed in front until lap 12 when Warming powered into the lead. Once in front Warming went unchallenged in taking the checkered flag followed by Watson in second and William Morris in third. Matt Gain was fourth across the finish line and Brian Caswell rounded out the top five finishers. Matt Dow made easy work of the 20 lap Road Runner feature race as he led the 17 car field from green to checkered. Ed Connolly finished second after a hard fought battle with Ryan Phillips that saw the rookie place third in his inaugural race. Dave Turner and Dave Cameron were fourth and fifth.