by Matt Childs

Wiscasset, ME- The N.E.S.T ( North East Sport Truck) series rolled into The “Center of Speed” Wiscasset Raceway this Sunday to put on a great show for the fans and did just that. The four cylinder truck series started the cloudy racing program off with their heat race which saw Jeff Schmidt of Mechanic Falls on the pole. Schmidt’s lead would be short lived however as Gray’s Jake Burns powered by Schmidt’s #22 truck before the first lap was complete. Burns, the three time Oxford Plains Speedway truck champion held the lead for two laps before Harpswell’s Opie Allard was able to get by and take the lead. The lead is where Allard would stay for the rest of the heat race as he picked up the checkerd flag. Duane Booth would finish second and Burns in the third posistion.

The feature event which was sponsored by Wiswell Electric and Mr. J’s Auto had Jeff Schmidt and Miranda Power starting on the front row but as soon as the green flag flew all the drivers were fighting for the top spot making it three wide in every corner. When the field finally got settled in it was Opie Allard who the rest of the field would have to chase down. As Allard streched his lead lap after lap the battle for second had the fans on their feet. Ryan Hayes, Duane Booth and Jake Burns fought it out for the rest of the race making it three wide several times and racing nose to tail until they crossed the stripe for the final time. After 15 laps the checkerd flag was waved for Opie Allard who picked up his fifth win of his career. Burns would just get by Hayes on the last lap to take second. Hayes hung in for third. Duane Booth would finish fourth and Jeff Schmidt finished fifth.

1- Opie Allard, Harpswell, Lucus Auto Repair
2- Jake Burns, Gray, Lucus Auto Repair
3- Ryan Hayes, Jefferson, All Season Automotive
4- Duane Booth, Wells, Groundnut Hill Contractor
5- Jeff Schmidt, Mechanic Falls, Deadseason
6- Josh Harjula, Boothbay, Harjula Racing
7- Miranda Power, Norridgewock, Wiswell Electric
N.E.S.T. Series next race is July 24th at Maine’s Toughest Oval, Unity Raceway