Scarborough,Maine- Ben Tinker made his first ever Sport Series win at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway a memorable one by capturing the biggest race of the season for the division. Tinker took the lead at the drop of the green flag and led the opening 38 laps of the race despite challenges from Russ Morse and Chris Smith. Chris Smith took over the lead on lap 39 as Corey Bubar moved to second place and Tinker dropped to third. A caution flag waved on lap 51 when the fourth and fifth place cars of Sally Gherardi and Russ Morse made contact with both cars spinning in turn four. Smith would go back to the front until another caution came out at lap 68.


Corey Bubar got the jump on the restart and took the lead with Smith on his bumper. The lead pack of Corey Bubar, Chris Smith, Ben Tinker and Don Colpritt were racing in close quarters with the laps winding down. Smith made a move to the inside on Bubar on lap 88 and the two drivers raced side by side for the lead over the nest 7 laps. Smith Nosed in front on lap 95 but Bubar was still to his outside with the sparks flying and fenders and doors grinding. Smith wrestled the lead away on lap 96 as Bubar spun after contact with Colpritt. Tinker moved to second place and charged after Smith catching him on the final lap. Again the two leaders traded paint and headed for the checkered flag with Tinker getting the win after Smith nearly spun on the final turn. Colpritt was third with Russ Morse and Doug Wolfe fourth and fifth.

Steve Carrier won the NASCAR Pro Series 40 lap feature event Saturday night at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway. Carrier took the lead from Keith McKinnon on lap 12 and led the remaining 28 laps for the win. Dan McKeage was second with McKinnon third. Trevor Sanborn and David Oliver were fourth and fifth.

Alby Ovitt only led one lap on Saturday night but it was the one that counted as Ovitt was victorious in the 30 lap Wildcat race. Linwood Varney led the first 3 laps before Joe Morse took a turn in the lead. Morse would soon have a challenge from Rick Thompson for the lead position but Morse was able to stay in front. David Wildes moved to the outside lane and took the lead at lap 24. Wildes would lead until the final laps when he and Ovitt bumped while battling for the win. Ovitt was able to get to the finish line first ahead of Wildes who was second just ahead of Thompson in third. David Vaughn and Dan Bean were fourth and fifth.

Ray Letellier put an end to the undefeated streak of Matt Dow by winning the 20 lap Road Runner race on Saturday. Nicole Timmons paced the field to the green flag and led for the first 5 laps until Marc Hill took over. David Turner and Ryan Phillips moved to second and third with Dow stuck at the rear in a traffic jam. On lap 11 the top 5 cars were in a great battle for the lead as Letellier threaded his way to the lead on lap 15 with a 3-wide move. Dow was also moving into contention after finally clearing traffic. Letellier would hold on for the win as Dow got to second place and Hill took third. Turner and Ed Connolly rounded out the top finishers.