OXFORD, Maine – Dennis Spencer, Jr. made up for the first few weeks of mid-pack finishes with a dominating performance in the Oxford Networks Late Model Feature on Sun Journal Night. Spencer, Jr. made the move around pole sitter and race leader Al Hammond on lap 8, and opened up a sizable lead on the field. Scott Luce moved into second a few laps later and gave chase, but could not get any closer than within a few car lengths of the Spencer’s speedy #3. Tommy Ricker once again put on a strong performance as he charged through the field. Ricker moved up to 12th by lap 15, and jumped to 7th by lap 22. With just 10 laps to go he caught third place runner Tim Brackett, who made another strong run in his #60 before getting passed by Ricker for the third and final podium spot with just 5 circuits remaining. Spencer, Jr. beat Scott Luce by two car lengths with Ricker a distant third. Tim and T.J. Brackett rounded out the top 5.



In earlier races, Matt Moore beat out Darrell Moore for his first career Allen’s Coffee Flavored Brandy Mini Stocks feature win. Matt took first in his Mini Stock heat, and started on the pole for the feature race, jumping out to an early lead that he would not relinquish. Greg Watkins had a strong run in third spot before something appeared to break in the motor as his #29 fell back through the field quickly. Butch Keene tried to dodge high but got a piece of Ashley Marshall, before spinning down the track and collecting Jeff Beaule for the first yellow of the race.   After another caution, Matt Moore once again stayed strong on the restart holding off Darrell for the win. Steve Barker finished third after having to scramble to put his old car together in time for the race.

The Allen’s Coffee Flavored Brandy Strictly Stock feature was a déja vu of last week’s race. For the second time in a row, Gene Hatch jumped out to an early lead before succumbing to the relentless charge of Kurt Hewins on lap 21, just two laps earlier than when Hewins completed the pass in last week’s feature. Skip Tripp came home third, also for the second time in a row, ahead of a gaggle of cars jousting for position.

In Ladies action, Deanna Robertson led from the pole but Missy Morgan looked like the car to beat early on, jumping from the rear of the field to third place in just 3 laps. Morgan moved to second while Tori Burgess, Vanna Brackett, and Dottie Patria battled it out for third. On lap 10, Patria spun her car in turn 3, dropping far behind the leaders. Morgan pulled within a few car lengths of Robertson before heartbreak struck when the engine let go in her #26 car with only 3 laps left. Robertson cruised to the win while Brackett overcame an extremely tight race car to finish second. Burgess was third followed by Patria who overcame her early spin to finish fourth.

In Oxford Outlaws feature number 1, Missy Morgan’s troubles continued as she was bumped out of the racing groove on a first lap, four wide battle, and slid into the backstretch wall. The carnage continued a lap later when John White spun in turn 1 and Todd Bisbee contacted the outside wall after contact with Scott Heathcoat. John Patria emerged as the early leader, and raced to victory. Jim Drake finished second followed by Chris Coolidge who got around Randy Robitaille for third with just 4 laps to go.

In the second Outlaws feature, rookie Pat Malloy led nearly the whole way in his Dale Jarrett look-a-like car, before the speedy Josh Childs got around him on lap 16 and ran away with the win. Zach Bowie captured the last spot on the podium, and David Childs finished fourth after recovering from a first lap wreck, in which he had to drive high through the dirt to get around the spinning Mike Childs.

The Oxford Acceleration Series returns for its Wednesday night races this week, before the American Canadian Tour comes to Oxford Plains for the second ACT 150 of the season on Saturday.