NAPLES ME (7/23) Ben Rowe found a way to get around Preston Peltier with four laps to go in Thursday night’s Thompson (CT) International Speedway Pro All Stars Series (PASS) North super late model feature to capture the victory in race number three of the 2010 PASS National Championship Series. PASS South and National point leader Peltier settled for second after leading most of the seventy five lap sprint and PASS North point leader Johnny Clark claimed third. Jay Fogleman and Lonnie Sommerville raced home fourth and fifth.

The win was Rowe’s second of 2010 and first National Championship win of the season. With both PASS North and National points on the line, Rowe edged a few markers closer to Johnny Clark in their battle for an unprecedented fifth PASS North title.

Alan Tardiff and Peltier led the field to the green and Peltier quickly established himself at the front of the field. Early on it was Peltier, defending race winner Derek Ramstrom, Fogleman, Kelly Moore and Tardiff battling for position at the front. Ben Rowe and Johnny Clark have both earned PASS North feature wins in 2010 and series rules require that they start outside the top ten.The pair had to work their way through the field if they were going to contend and  It didn’t take the two long to crack the top five. Rowe made his move past Clark on a lap 32 restart and the pair took the battle to the two southern invaders.

That restart was Fogleman’s cue to challenge Peltier for the lead and the pair battled tooth and nail lap after lap.Fogleman managed to get the nose out front on several occasions before settling back into second. The front four were racing nose to tail, putting on the kind of show that only super late models can. Rowe made his move on Fogleman with thirteen remaining when Fogleman kissed the backstretch wall trying to keep the 48 behind him. Rowe set his sights on Peltier and looked high and low for ten laps before he was able to make his move  Behind the front two Peltier and Clark were having a torrid battle for third,. Clark prevailed on lap seventy to capture the final spot on the podium.

Several potential contenders succumbed to mechanical issues. Derek Ramstrom lost his brakes and slapped the turn two wall, ending his bid for two straight PASS wins at Thompson. Ted Christopher, early front runner Kelly Moore, pole sitter Alan Tardiff and Steve Legendre were all behind the wall before the half-way mark.

Eleven cars completed all seventy-five laps in a race slowed by two cautions. Tardiff and Peltier won their respective qualifying races.

The PASS North super late models and PASS Mods travel to Groveton New Hampshire’s Riverside Speedway for Summer fest 2010 on Saturday July 31st. Round number four of the PASS National Championship series is scheduled for Beech Ridge Motor Speedway on September 11 and 12.

PASS South heads for the Volunteer State on Saturday August 7th for the Daniel Boone Classic. Check out the PASS web site for details on both events; the address is .

Feature Reslults – PASS North 75 – PASS National Championship Series Round 3 – Thompson International Speedway – Thompson CT July 22 2010

1 48 – Ben Rowe 2 26 – Preston Peltier 3 54 – Johnny Clark 4 4 – Jay Fogleman 5 23 – Lonnie Sommerville 6 2 – Mike Rowe 7 44 – Trevor Sanborn 8 8 – Cassius Clark 9 85 – Nick Ribbe 10 60 – DJ Shaw 11 1 – Randy Turner 12 33 – RIchie Dearborn 13 7 – Donnie Whitten 14 75 – Gary Smith 15 47 – Kelley Moore 16 88 – Alan Tardiff 17 35 – Derek Ramstrom 18 0 – Dennis Maxfield 19 17A – Scott Alexander 20 97 – Walt Hammond 21- 20 – Steven Legendre 22 80 – Ted Christopher DNS 48X Larry Gelinas , 73 Joey Doiron