Brad Babb defends Miller Lite 50 title at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway.

Scarborough, Maine-Brad Babb won the Miller Lite 50 Saturday night for the second consecutive year. Charlie Colby led the opening laps with Bill Whorff moving into early contention. Whorff moved into the lead on lap 8 with Babb moving to second place. Babb moved to the lead on lap 10 and began to pull away from Whorff and Bill Rodgers. By laps 21 Babb had a full straight lead as Whorff and Rodgers were racing side by side for second place. It appeared as if Babb was going to cruise to the win until lap 47 when he came upon slower traffic just as they decided to crash with each other. Babb narrowly escaped the wreck but the caution flag set the stage for a different kind of fireworks. When racing resumed Babb and Bill Rodgers blasted off for a 2 lap shoot out for the win. Rodgers got the better start and pulled into the lead on the backstretch. Entering turn 3 Babb got into the back of Rodgers sending both cars up the race track and Bill Whorff into the lead. On the white flag lap Babb got to the inside of Whorff and was able to get a run to the outside of Whorff racing down the backstretch. The dash to the finish line saw Babb get to the line first by inches over Whorff. Dan McKeage was third with Dave Oliver and Rodgers rounding out the top five.

Russ Morse led just the final lap to win the 35 lap Sport Series main event. Andy Field was the early leader trading the spot with Travis Buzzell on lap 8. Buzzell handed the lead back to Field on lap 9 where he stayed until lap 12 when Jason Larrabee took over the lead. Larrabee was in a duel with Reggie Leeman until the caution flag waved on lap 30 and Leeman headed to the pit with a mechanical problem. Larrabee lined up with Russ Morse for the restart with Larrabee back to the but Morse hanging to the outside. With 2 laps to go, Larrabee and Morse bumped and banged maintaining control to the white flag. More contact on the final lap found Larrabee into the back wall and Morse into the lead heading for the checkered flag. Justin Cusack got second place with Larrabee getting back to finish third. Chris Smith and Sally Gherardi were fourth and fifth. David Vaughn won his third Wildcat feature of the season on Saturday night. Andy Ayers was the leader at the drop of the green flag and stayed there through the first 20 laps. Mike Rand took the lead on laps 21 through 25 until Dan Bean went in front. Vaughn moved into contention for the win on lap 27 moving around Bean to lead the final 3 laps for the win. Rand was second with Matt Gain a close third. Bean and Dan Wink were fourth and fifth at the finish.

Tasha Dyer scored her first Beech Ridge feature win in dominating fashion during the 20 lap Road Runner feature. After suffering various mechanical problems all season, Dyer started on the pole position and quickly went to the front. Dyer opened up a commanding lead on the field leaving the rest of the drivers to battle for second place. Shawn Brackett took a turn at second place but was soon engaged in a fight with Ryan Phillips for the runner-up position. Phillips took second place at lap 15 but was too far back to make a Run at Dyer who cruised in for the win. Phillips was second with Brackett third. Matt Dow and Ed Pierce rounded out the top finishers.


Forum –