Steve Carrier and Corey Bubar headline Beech Ridge winners.

Scarborough,Maine-Steve Carrier notched his second NASCAR Pro Series feature win on Saturday night at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway. Corey Bubar was the winner of the Sport Series main event with Matt Gain taking the Wildcat win. Shawn Brackett rounded out the night of winners with the Road Runner checkered flag. The NASCAR Pro Series 40 lap race was led to the green flag by Jay Sands who led the opening 11 laps. Steve Carrier moved into contention and found racing room to the inside of Sands on the 12th circuit to move to the front. Back in the fourth position behind third place running Chuck Colby, 6 cars were in a 3-row side by side race for position. While the racing back in the field was tight, Carrier was pulling away and took the race win in a caution free 40 lap dash. Jay Sands was second with Chuck Colby third. Bill Rodgers won the battle for fourth place with Dan McKeage fifth.

Corey Bubar posted his second 35 lap Sports Series win on Saturday night. Bubar moved around pole sitter Don Morse on lap 22 after the two drivers spent the previous 7 laps side by side for the lead. Bubar was able to cruise home from that point for the won with Morse finishing second and Lyman McKeage third. Reggie Leeman came home fourth ahead of Chris Smith in fifth.

Matt Gain had the toughest victory of the evening in his 30 lap Wildcat race win. Buddy Minott led the opening 3 laps before Paul Lund took over. Lund and gain would line up for a restart on lap 10 with Gain taking the lead. Gain was cruising in front until Lund came back at him on lap 22 setting up an 8 car side by side duel at the front. Gain drifted high on lap 28 allowing Pete Evans to get to his inside. The final 2 laps saw Gain and Evans even as the raced the final lap. Coming out of turn 4 with the checkered flag in sight, Gain got enough grip to get to the finish line just inches ahead of Evans for the win. Dan Wink was only a half car length behind in third with Alby Ovitt and Paul Lund fourth and fifth.

Shawn Brackett was the winner of the 20 lap Road Runner main event. Nicole Timmons shot into the lead at the wave of the green flag and held on to the lap 3 caution. On the restart Timmons went back in front with Marc Hill riding in second position. Brackett moved to third at lap 8 and 3 laps later was in second place. Timmons was holding steady at the front as Brackett arrived on the scene with just 6 laps to go taking over the lead position. Brackett rode to the finish to take the win with Ryan Phillips making a late race charge to finish second and Timmons a very solid third. Ed Connolly and Marc Hill were fourth and fifth.


Forum –