Lee, NH: New England’s longest running traditional oval-track racing event,
the “Classic” for Super Modifieds, is now officially sanctioned and
scheduled for the green flag on Saturday night, Sept. 11th, here at Lee USA

The 45th annual “Classic” already has drawn a long entry list as the
grand-daddy event of New England motorsports returns to Lee for the first
time since 1967, sanctioned by International Super Modified Association

This year’s championship program has a new site and a special new format
making up the 100-lap “Classic” with two 50-lap feature events. Points will
be awarded in each 50-lap portion, along with $20,000 in each main event.
The field will be inverted from the finish of the first 50-lapper to the
start of the second 50 laps. Up to 24 Super Modifieds will start each race.

The overall best finisher in the twin races for the 100-lap distance will
win the 2010 “Classic” championship plus bonus prize money. In case of a tie
in points, the tie-breaker will be determined by the best finish in 12-lap
qualifying heats, giving each heat race extra incentive for drivers.

Fans will be treated to green-flag racing only, meaning caution-flag laps
will not count in this special all-out “Classic” championship clash.

Six-time ISMA Champion Chris Perley, of Rowley, MA, is among the
top entries. Perley is a four-time Classic champion (1996, 2005, 2008, 2009)
and is attempting to become only the third driver ever to win three
consecutive Classics. Legendary Ollie Silva won three straight between 1969
and 1971 and Russ Wood scored a Classic hat trick (2002-2004).

Wood, of Pelham, NH, is a five-time Classic champion and will be driving the
sleek Brian Allegresso.-prepared winged No. 29 equipped with a
9000horsepower motor.

Bobby Santos III, the current 2010 NASCAR Modified Division National
Championship point leader, will be making a rare Super Modified start in
this “Classic” race. Santos is a late entry driving Clyde Booth’s low-slung
special design No. 61 from Mooresville, N.C.

Santos is no stranger to the Lee Oval, having the 2006 Ollie Silva Memorial
Championship. In 2007, Santos finished second after starting 22nd in the
Silva 75-lap Super Modified event at Lee.

The winner of numerous United States Auto Club (USAC) events from California
to the Mid-west and Northeast, Santos is looking to add the “Classic”
championship to his list of career achievements.

Justin Belfiore, the 2007 “Classic” champ from Ipswich, MA, has a beautiful
winged Super Modified ready to roll which he has driven to top finishes in
California, Nevada and Vermont.

Canada also is represented with four top cars headed to the Classic from
north of the border.

Mark Sammut, of London, Ontario, won this July’s 100-Lap “High Mile
Championship” at Sandusky, Ohio. Sammut is no stranger to the Lee
3/8-mile banked oval. Sammut won the 2009 Ollie Silva Memorial 75-lap Super
Modified event with a spectacular late race charge.

Mike Licty, of Toronto, finished fourth after leading some of the 2009
Classic and will return for another try. Craig Rayvals, of Brockville,
Ontario, took a nasty flip at Lee in 2009, but will return for a bid at the
2010 title. Gary Morton, of Oshawa, Ontario, also is expected.

Ray Graham, of Ankeny, Iowa, won this year’s “Mr. Super Modified”
Championship at Oswego, NY, and is entered for the Classic at Lee. So is the
four-time Northeast Midget Racing Association Champion Ben Seitz, driving a
new highly sophisticated winged Super Modified.

Also scheduled on the Classic night program is a special 40-lap small block
Super Modified feature event plus a full card of stock car racing.

The pit area on Classic Saturday will open at noon with the grandstand box
office opening at 4:00, for practice warm-up sessions. Stock
car heats start at 6:00. Super Modified Classic qualifying heats begin
at 6:30, the 100-lap “Classic” starts at 7:30, with the first 50-lap main
event .

Back in 1966, the old Lee Raceway tri-oval hosted the first Classic,
which was the only other time the championship was decided by
points earned in race segments. Racing Hall-of- Famers, Eddie West,
Don MacLaren and Bob Cloutier shared the inaugural Classic title.
Bud Crotty won the 1967 Classic at Lee before the race venue shifted
to Star Speedway, in Epping, NH.