By Dan Walker

Scarborough,Maine- Some of the best racing in it’s history continues to be displayed at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway, and Saturday night was a continuation of that as David Oliver, Jason Larrabee, Brian Caswell and Ryan Phillips all scored feature race victories. The NASCAR Pro Series 40 lap main event turned out to be a spectacular race as no less than 4 drivers battled for the win. Charlie Colby led the opening 3 laps before giving way to Chris Thorne. Thorne who was looking for his first Beech Ridge win, stayed in front as Scott Moore and David Oliver applied pressure to him.


The caution flag waved on lap 24 but on the restart Thorne shot back to the lead with Moore, Oliver and Bill Rodgers all right behind. The final caution on lap 28 set the stage for the dazzling finish as Thorne again went back in front with Oliver second. Thorne stayed in the high groove and Oliver took the low groove and for the next 10 laps ran side by side for the lead with Bill Rodgers and Dan McKeage side by side for third and fourth right behind them. Thorne led lap 38 and Oliver led lap 39 setting the stage for a dash to the checkered flag. Exiting the final turn on the final lap, Thorne didn’t get the grip and Oliver did as he got to the finish line just inches ahead of Thorne for the win. Bill Rodgers nosed out Dan McKeage for third as McKeage extended his point lead with fourth. Mike Rowe took the fifth position.

Jason Larrabee not to be outdone by the Pro Series division won the 35 lap Sport Series race but a nose as well. Larrabee took the lead at the drop of the green flag and held on until lap 29 when Reggie Leeman went around him for the lead. A late race lap 30 caution flag set the stage for this tight finish as Leeman and Larrabee took the green flag for the restart. Leeman nosed in front but Larrabee used the outside groove and was able to stay side by side for the lead. Larrabee led lap 33 and lap 34 but Leeman still had the inside as the came to the checkered flag. Larrabee hammered down off the final corner and beat Leeman but about 1 foot for the win. Justin Cusack was a very close third with Don Morse and Nate Leavitt fourth and fifth.


In the lone easy win of the night Brian Caswell destroyed the Wildcat field leading wire to wire for the win. Caswell jumped from the pole position and with the race caution free, took the checkered flag by a quarter of a lap over Laura McKeage who posted her best finish of the season in second. Matt Gain, Alby Ovitt and Cole Watson rounded out the top finishers.


Ryan Phillips, a rookie to the Road Runner division won his second feature race of the season on Saturday night. Natasha Dyer led the opening laps until a mechanical problem put her to the pit area on lap 12. Dave Cameron took the lead position with Phillips and point leader Matt Dow closing in on him. Phillips went to the outside of Cameron on lap 16 to take the lead with Dow following him for second. Phillips held on for the win as Dow finished second with Cameron third. Ed Connolly and Clayton Loubier were fourth and fifth