A packed grandstand greeted the ISMA Supermodifieds at Lee USA Speedway on
Friday night, and the crowd went wild when six-time series champion Chris
Perley scored his third career Ollie Silva Memorial 75-lap feature event

Former Lee Small Block Super competitors Danny Lane and Jeff Locke were
early leaders in the event, but once Perley got the front on lap 32, it was
his race to lose.  After starting the race tenth on the grid, Perley was off
and running once he got out front.

Running just a part-time schedule on the ISMA series this year, Perley
showed he still knows the fast way around, leading the final 43 circuits to
score his 61st career ISMA checkered flag.  Russ Wood had a strong race to
finish runner-up to Perley, with 2008 race winner Dave Shullick, Jr. taking

After leading 20 laps early in the race Locke settled for fourth at the
finish, with Rob Summers, Bob Bond, Lane, Lou Cicconi, current series points
leader Mike Lichty, and former Lee Small Block champ Joey Scanlon rounding
out the top ten finishers.

All of the regular weekly divisions saw action on the undercard, with Miles
Chipman taking home the win in the E Keys 4 Cars sponsored NASCAR Whelen
All-American Series Late Model main.  Chipman put in a dominating
performance on his way to victory, leading every lap along the way.

Pat Floyd did a great job in holding off a determined Wayne Helliwell, Jr.
for the second spot, but the third place run brought Helliwell another step
closer to the 2010 championship.  Fourth spot went to Mike Johnson, with
Steve Knowlton wrapping up the top five.

Former two-time champion Eddie Witkum, Jr. returned to his winning ways in
the 25-lap PB Chopper Shop and Rods Small Block Super main event, picking up
his first feature event win of the season aboard the family machine, owned
and wrenched by his dad Ed, Sr., and uncle Bobby.

It was Butch Valley, Jr. out to the lead at the start of the SBS main, and
George Perreault, Jr. spent some time pacing the field as well, but Witkum
got past both to take command, and with a clear racetrack ahead of him, he
was off to the races from there.

Witkum became the eighth different winner in the highly competitive Small
Block ranks, with “Super Dave” Sanborn taking runner-up honors.  Third spot
went to Valley, with Perreault, Billy Osborne, Mike Netishen, Tommy
Tombarello, Jr., Tony Carroll, Mike Spurling, and Dan Bowes fourth through

A lap two tangle in the Prime Storage Late Model Sportsman main sent the
field scattering and brought out a quick caution, moving fourth place
starter Jimmy Russell into the lead.  Bill Ahern raced past Russell on the
restart to take over the top spot, with Bobby Chartier following him through
to run second.

Nine-time winner Grant Aither was right behind the leaders, but he didn’t
stay there long, quickly getting past Chartier to take second.  Ahern held
him off for a few laps, but Aither eventually made the pass and went on to
the win.  Ahern, Michele Fushpanski, Bobby Melvin, and Ron Bolduc finished
up the top five.

Mike Williams grabbed his feature event first win of the year in the Picnic
Table Factory Hobby Stocks, after picking up the lead with the white flag in
the air, and leading the field under the checkers in the Mike White entry.

Williams was involved in a hard crash just a few weeks ago, but this time
out he had a solid run from green to checker, working his way up through the
field from an eleventh starting position to take down the feature win.

Kenny “Caveman” Scott scored his best finish of the year in the runner-up
slot, with points leader Todd Bregy, Jim Piaseczny, Steve Douphinette, Bobby
Glass, Niko Manyati, Patrick Tanguay, and early-race leader Chris Kingsley
the rest of the top ten.

Troy Washburn collected his second checkered flag of the season in the
David’s Race Cars and Components Roadrunners, outrunning rookie Dylan
Bilodeau to take the win.  Lloyd Chapin, Dana Faulkner, and Torrey Kovalesky
finished up the top five.

Points leader Jack Victoria continued his drive to the American Auto Parts
Ironman championship with another feature win, holding off a determined Kyle
Roy to pick up the checkers.  Sean Martin, Glen Billings, and Jason Hodgdon
were next across the stripe.