Speedway 95 8/21/10 – Allen Fletcher Memorial Duel 23’s

Speedway 95 remembered a fallen friend Saturday night, August 21st with the running of the Allen Fletcher Memorial Duel 23’s.

In the first Dysart’s Late Model 23-lap shoot out there were two cautions. The first came at lap six, when three cars spun out, Dave St. Clair of Liberty, Doug Day, Sr. of Glenburn, and Bobby Seger, Jr. of Frankfort. The second caution flag flew at lap twenty, when Joey Doyon of Winterport lost control in turn-four. When the race resumed, Josh St. Clair of Liberty, and Ryan Deane of Winterport traded the top spot until lap 14 when St. Clair pulled away, and held the lead for the remainder of the race. Deane finished second, with Mike Hopkins of Hermon in Third.

In the second 23-lap shoot out, the caution flag only flew once, when Doug Day lost control in lap 15. Josh St. Clair remained strong throughout the night and pulling the lead away from Hermon’s Dale Swoboda after the caution came out, and earned the win in the second shootout as well, his sixth win in a row. “Dale looked like he was getting tight in the center,” said St. Clair in victory lane, “…and I was getting pretty good off the corner, and that crate motor don’t spin much, so it worked out.” Steuben’s Brenton Parritt took the second spot with Swoboda crossing the line for third.

The overall point’s winner for the Duel 23 purse and trophy will be decided in the tech garage before next weeks race.

The Sport-Four division wrapped up their three-race series with a win by Keith Ogden of Dedham, who also earned the points championship for the series. Ogden drove to the top spot at lap two, and held onto despite a caution at lap nineteen. Rick Grant of Lagrange picked up the second spot with Brad Norris of Ellsworth behind him in third.

The Super Streets went caution free for the entire race, with Steve Moulton of Glenburn taking the lead at lap two, and holding it throughout the remainder of the race to earn his third win in row. Doug Sinclair of Hermon crossed the stripe to take second and Hermon’s Kris Watson sunk the third spot. “I was hoping it would mike it through today,” Moulton reflected at the end of the race, “I didn’t buy any tires at all, it made it!”

Despite of a pair of cautions, one at the green flag, and one at lap four, Duane Seekins of Stockton Springs took him the trophy for the Strictly Street feature. Until lap 16, it was a side-by-side battle for the front between Seekins and Clifton’s Jim Carr, Jr. Seekins pulled away for the top spot, and Carr fell back into another side-by-side battle for second, with Shawn Hamel II of Bangor, who got past Carr to snatch the second spot. Carr ended the race third. Hamel was please with his second place finish; “The car handled pretty good tonight. I just got stuck behind two people… two veteran’s actually!”

There were two cautions in the “Stars of Tomorrow” division for ten to fifteen year old drivers. Inside pole sitter Ryan Modery of Hermon held the top spot at the checkered flag but was sent to the end of the line for post race contact, Matthew Kimball of Cornville inherited the win and Emma Libby of Hudson was awarded second.

There was only a single caution in the Mini-Cup feature event, at lap three. Francis Bernard of Howland earning the win. Ralph Melanson of Charleston crossed the white line in second and the race winner’s daughter; Rachel Bernard of Lincoln took third.


Allen Fletcher Duel 23 race one (Dysart’s Late Models)

1. 33 Josh St. Clair Liberty

2. 54 Ryan Dean Winterport
3. 15 Mike Hopkins Hermon
4. 05 Phil Richardson Hermon
5. 19 Duane Seekins Stockton Springs

Allen Fletcher Duel 23 race one (Dysart’s Late Models)

1. 33 Josh St. Clair Liberty
2. 27 Brenton Parritt Steuben
3. 0 Dale Swoboda Hermon
4. 05 Phil Richardson Hermon
5. 54 Ryan Dean Winterport


1. 09 Keith Ogden Dedham

2. 41 Rick Grant Lagrent

3. 99 Bradley Norris Ellsworth

4. 24 Gary Richards Exeter

5. 07 Derick Terrill Plymouth

Super Street

1. 80 Steve Moulton Gleburn

2. 23 Doug Sinclair Hermon

3. 35 Kris Watson Hermon

4. 99x Jeremy Glasier Appleton

5. 3 Mike Overlock Franklin

Strictly Street

1. 19 Duane Seekins Stockton Springs

2. 55 Shawn Hamel II Bangor

3. 3x Jim Carr, Jr. Clifton

4. 26 Andrew McLaughlin Harrington

5. 85 Joe Allen Levant

Stars of Tomorrow

1. 09 Matthew Kimball Cornville

2. 23 Emma Libby Hudson

3. 11 Ryan Modery Hermon


1. 23 Francis Bernard Howland

2. 20 Ralph Melanson Charleston

3. 48 Rachel Bernard Lincoln
4. J2 Shelly Kimball

The final Varney Buick-GMC-Mazda Wacky Wednesday will be held Wednesday August 25 at 7. There are only three Saturday race dates left in the 2010 season; Saturday August 28th, Saturday September 4th and Saturday September 11th.