Dearborn wraps up PASS season on a White Mountain high note

Johnny Clark claims unprecedented fifth Championship

Naples ME  (9/18) –Hollis Maine’s Richie Dearborn got the best of Travis Benjamin on a late race restart to capture Friday night’s 150 lap Pro All Stars Series (PASS) North super late model feature at White Mountain Motorsports Park in North Woodstock New Hampshire. Benjamin, who had led from the green flag, held off Cassius Clark to finish second,..743 seconds behind the winner.

The victory was Dearborn’s first since PASS visited White Mountain in the fall of 2009 and his fifth in PASS super late model competition. It was the third time Dearborn and his Chadwick-BaRoss/Dayton Sand and Gravel team earned the win in the fall PASS visit to the fast quarter mile nestled at the foot of Franconia Notch.

Without that late race restart the results could easily have been different. Benjamin looked like he might run away from the field, hungry for his first series win since 2008. Benjamin has been strong in one of Richard Moody’s first rate rides, and he seemed able to pull away from the field at will for the night’s first 130 laps. But Dearborn was on a charge too, taking second away from Adam Bates on lap 120 and lookimg for a way to get to Benjamin. But the night’s second caution flew on lap 132 ,giving Dearborn the shot he needed and the PASS veteran got the job done when the green flag flew. At the stripe it was Dearborn, Benjamin, Cassius Clark, Trevor Sanborn and Ben Rowe first through fifth under the checkers.

Johnny Clark was in the mix from the start, charging up to third before rear suspension issues sent him to the pit area for the night with just 33 laps in the books. The rare DNF left Clark 21st at the finish but the Farmingdale Maine super late model super star’s point cushion heading into the season finale held up.Tthe Clark’s Car Crushing/Port City Race Cars team earned a third straight PASS northsuper late model title, their fifth overall. The Championship broke a deadlock with Ben Rowe for most PASS North titles earned. Rowe kept the point race close until a DNF of his own at the PASS 300 took the four time PASS North titlist out of contention.

Thirteen cars completed all 150 green flag laps. Two caution flags slowed the race which took just thirtyeight minutesto complete.. Heat race wins went to Johnny Clark, Travis Benjamin and Dustin Hubbard.

The PASS North super late model season is in the books, but there’s still plenty of PASS racing on tap up and down the eastern seaboard. The PASS South super late models head for the fabled Hickory Motor Speedway on Saturday September 25th and both the PASS South and PASS National titles will be decided on October 16th when the Mason-Dixon Meltdown premieres at Newport (TN) Speedway. The PASS North  Sportsman series champion will be crowned at Groveton New Hampshire’s Riverside Speedway on Saturday October 16.

Unofficial Results: PASS North 150 – White Mt. Motorsports Park – 9/17/10

1 Richie Dearborn 2 Travis Benjamin 3 Cassius Clark 4 Trevor Sanborn 5 Ben Rowe 6 Donnie Whitten 7 Adam Bates 8 Scott Dragon 9 Derek Ramstrom 10 Tom Scully 11 Steve Legendre 12 Nick Ribbe 13 Joey Doiron 14 Mark Patten 15 Gary Smith 16 Sam Gooden Jr. 17 Billy Brady 18 Scott Alexander 19 Kelly Moore 20 Randy Turner 21 Johnny Clark 22 Dustin Hubbard