Scarborough ME (9/12) The PASS Sportsman and Mod series joined the North East Mini Stock tour on Sunday’s PASS 400 Weekend card and all three divisions came through with exciting extra distance feature racing for the fans in the stands.

Grant Aither led thirty two PASS Sportsman racers to the green and kept the lead until both Jay Sands and Craig Smith slipped under the LEE USA track champion on lap five when Smith took the point away from Sands and Clyde Hennessey followed him through. Smith kept the field at bay until lap 35 when mechanical issues ended his afternoon. Sands resumed command and ran away and hid, but another caution erased his straightaway lead. Meanwhile the PASS points leaders had worked their way toward the front Mike Landry, Dan McKeage, and Carey Martin restarted 4th, 6th and 7the respectively. On the restart Landry made his way to second with McKeage hot on his heels. Now it was time to challenge Sands. Sands ran the second groove and Landry the bottom, the pair battling side by side at the half way mark. Hennessey sat third, McKeage fourth and Martin fifth when the field received the crossed flags.

The second half of the 100 lapper featured some longer green flag runs and there was no lack of action. Sands and Landry were still battling for the point and Carey Martin won a battle with McKeage for fourth. The yellow flag flew at lap seventy one and PASS Sportsman point leader Landry was forced to pit returning to the line- up twentieth. Sands now had Martin on his tail with McKeage, Hennessey, and Corey Bubar the top five.

McKeage moved under Martin on the restart and the 2010 Beech Ridge Pro Series champ took the battle to Sands. Meanwhile Landry was watching his thirteen point series slip away, sitting in fourteenth spot with two rows of side by side traffic holding him back. His day went from bad to worse on lap 85 when he got together with Nate Leavitt and crashed off the top of turn three, ending a great race. Race control parked Leavitt for the night.

So Sands had McKeage, Martin and Hennessey to contend with at 15 to go and the front four raced side by side with McKeage by a nose on lap 88,clearing Sands on lap 89. Sands now had his hands full with Carey Martin, giving McKeage a two car length edge, the most any leader had enjoyed all night. At the stripe there was a new PASS Sportsman point leader as Dan McKeage captured his first win of 2010 with Sands, Martin, Hennessey and Bubar second through fifth.

Sumner Sessions jumped out front early in the 50 lap PASS Mod main with Rich Ferriera second and Scott McDaniel up to race third. McDaniel and Jon Brill split the leader with a three wide move to take over the top two spots. Brill took over the point on a lap 13 restart but McDaniel continued to challenge on the bottom, settling into second just in front of Andy Shaw. That trio took off and left the pack and the order remained the same at the half way mark with past series champion Mark Lucas and Allan Wilson completing the top five. Shaw made his move on McDaniel on lap 28 and set sail after Brill. Without a doubt Shaw was looking for a a win to go with his first series championship The caution flew with 15 laps to go, giving Shaw his best shot at Brill. Shaw nosed ahead on the restart and cleared the 77 on lap 39 but the front four raced nose to tail. Another caution gave the front four another shot at the checkers with eight to go. Brill took over the lead after one last caution inducing spin but Shaw came right back on the outside to fulfill every racer’s dream when the third generation racer captured both the PASS Mod fifty lap feature and the 2010 PASS Mod title on the same day. Brill, McDaniel, Lucas and Wilson finished second through fifth.

The North East Mini Stock Tour made their first PASS 300 Sunday appearance and the 50 lap feature win went to Vermonter Chris McKinstry with Tim Boyle second and Calvin Rose third.

The PASS Sportsman Championship will be decided on October 16 when the series wraps up their 2010 campaign at Riverside Speedway in Groveton NH.

There’s plenty of PASS 300 results and action photos on line now at .

Unofficial Results PASS Sportsman 100

1 38 Dan McKeage 2 09 Jay Sands 3 18 Carey Martin 4 8 Clyde Hennessey 5 42 Corey Bubar 6 58NH Sparky MacIver 7 7OZ Grant Aither 8 75 Doug Wolfe Jr. 9 63 Russell Morse 10 54 Steve Fogg 11 16 Dan Colpritt 12 34 Spencer Morse 13 83 Ryan Greene 14 40M Laura McKeage 15 07 Richard Pelton 16 0 Shane Green 17 60D Dave Torfano 18 51A RJ Austin 19 58 Lyman McKeage 20 40 Mike Landry 21 2 Robert Emery 22 35x Kris Watson 23 60ME Scott Dorr 24 77 Sally Ghrardi 25 20 Frank Wear 26 80 Steve Moulton 27 15 Craig Smith 28 36x Peter Cook 29 7 Shane Tatro 30 35 Bobby Nadeau 31 7x Jimmy Burnham 32 36 Nate Leavitt

Unofficial Results – PASS Mod 50

1 66 Andy Shaw 2 77 Jon Brill 3 14 Scott McDaniel 4 9 Marc Lucas 5 53W Alan Wilson 6 2X Wayne Whitten Jr. 7 33 Bill Dixon 8 50 Sumner Sessions 9 53 Leo Oliiveira 10 56X Richard Ferreira 11 28 Mark Lundbland 12 20 Charlie Small