Lee, NH – Mother Nature put a damper on the action during Oktoberfest 2010
at Lee USA Speedway last weekend, with four divisions losing their feature
events to the rain despite a valiant effort by the track crew to keep things
in racing shape.

The dozens of teams who never got a chance to race will be back to finish
out the program this Saturday, but most of the headline divisions got their
races in the record books before the weatherman called it a night.

Twenty-one Pro Stocks took the green flag to open up Oktoberfest with a
50-lap main event, with Rich Eaton jumping out to set the early pace.  2010
Late Model champion Wayne Helliwell, Jr. was among the other drivers to
spend time out front, but in the end, it was Matt Frahm who was awarded the

J.R. Baril was the apparent winner when the checkered flag waved, but a
post-race penalty handed the win over the Frahm.  Eaton was the best of the
rest in the second spot, with Chris Wilk, Helliwell, and Bobby Cabral the
rest of the top five.

The Bob Valenti Auto Mall Modified Racing Series closed out the 2010 season
with a race that was divided into two segments, with the first 68 laps
running prior to the rain delay, and the balance of the event running later
in the day after a lengthy track-drying process.

Steve Masse was the class of the field on this race date, leading the most
laps on his way to victory.  Ken Barry, winner of last year’s Oktoberfest,
came on strong late in the race to checker second, with early leader Max
Zachem taking home third.

Fourth spot went to Louie Mechalides, with Andy Seuss, Chris Pasteryak, Kirk
Alexander, Rob Goodenough, Jon McKennedy, and Dwight Jarvis the rest of the
top ten.  Former Lee competitor McKennedy locked up his second straight
series title.

The Small Block Super main event featured the scariest incident of the
weekend when Dave Sanborn and P.J. Stergios got together and collected the
retaining wall.  Stergios’ recently rebuilt car was totaled in the incident.

2010 Small Block Super champion Tommy Tombarello, Jr. went on to pick up the
win, with Tony Carroll taking down second place honors in the Paul Brown
owned Full Throttle Racing machine over Dan Bowes, early leader Billy
Osborne and Butch Valley, Jr.

B.J. Piekarski grabbed his first career win the Late Model main event,
coming from the 12th spot on the starting grid to claim the victory.  2010
Late Model champ Helliwell, Jr. was scored runner-up, with Donnie Lashua,
Tom Fuller, and former Oktoberfest winner Jerry DeGasparre the rest of the
top five.

Jimmy Ryder, Jr. set the early pace in the slam-bang Late Model Sportsman
feature, but his night eventually ended as just another one of the
slam-bangers who found their way into the concrete before the 2010 ‘fest was

Longtime Late Model Sportsman competitor Bill Ahern eventually captured his
first-ever Lee USA checkered flag in that one, with Robert Bodwell, Larry
Maloney, Todd Bragg, and weekly regular Kayla Cazares closing out the top

Justin Trombley grabbed his first Oktoberfest checker with a strong run in
the 4-cylinder feature event, with Kevin Douglas, Daniel Leach, Robert
Gioia, and Pat Tanguay next in the final rundown.

The Ironman, Outlaw Mini Stock, Hobby Stock and Sport Truck features have
been held over to next weekend, with the final curtain falling on the 2010
racing season a week later than originally scheduled.

Rob Bryant broke George Helliwell’s stanglehold on the Lee winner’s circle
in the Northeat Classic Lites main event, claiming his first career Lee
checker in the process.  James Logan won his second straight Oktoberfest
feature in the Allison Legacy main, with Nick Sweet, Nathan Johnson, Peter
Porante, and Kyle Poodack next across the stripe.